We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #59 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

20 minute walk to the harbour or 10 to the local shopping of Pitt street, location wise Rydges cant be beat. There is a Coles in the basement of the mall it sits above and various eateries below.

There is a nice large gym, cardio and weights.

There is no free WiFi at the hotel ( not sure if this is a standard in Sydney, but one I'm not used to). I think the cost was $20ish for 24 hrs which is an annoying cost

The hotel can be very noisy at weekends due to its location to bars etc, so not recommended if you are here for business or a light sleeper.
The clientele consists more or less solely of flight crew, the benefit of which is they will try and check you in early.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you Seemonkey, for taking the time to review. We are defiantly in a prime location within Sydney’s CBD, making it very accessible for our guest.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms feel as though the hotel could do with a refurbish, but I put up with that because of the great location. I love to just be able to pop downstairs to World Square and so many little restaurants and cafes as well as supermarket & bottle shop right there. It saves me lots of money in expensive hotel food & drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikster_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are currently in the process of undergoing a refresh of our lobby area. Our next project will be refurbishing our guest rooms.

Hope to see you again at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is locates right at the heart of the city. It was a short walk to the Darling Harbour, Chinatown, St. Mary's Cathedral and other tourist spots. If the service was just a bit better, I would have rated this hotel better. We traveled in a group and didn't get much help with our baggage. I guess the travel arrangements made were without baggage assistance. That didn't leave a very good impression on the hotel for some of us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Another wonderful comment on our great location, many thanks Bob B.

Our Concierge department does provide a luggage service, however as you mentioned this may not have been an arrangement for your group.
I hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Located above a plaza, this can have many benefits, however our room was located above and opposite a pre school nursery. The front staff and concierge are most helpful, and gave us a map explaining the rather long walk to Circular Quay, the walk is great though as it takes you through the heart of Sydney's shopping district and passed many wonderful buildings. The rooms are well appointed, the beds lovely and comfortable, and the blinds kept it lovely and dark, helping our 11 hour time change, the general cleanliness of the hotel was to a high standard. I cannot think of a reason, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Many thanks for a wonderful review. It’s always a pleasure reading great comments about the customer service we provide and that we are maintaining our standards of service.

I hope to welcome you back again to Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Rydges is literally located right above a central Sydney plaza offering many food and shopping options, so is very convenient when you can't be bothered moving too far at the end of the day!

Its a short two minute stroll to what is the best (my opinion) Thai restaurant in Sydney - Thanon Khao San; Museum and Town Hall train stations are within 5 mins walk too.

Internally the rooms are ok, nothing special but entirely acceptable.

I'd recommend teh Rydges World Square for a City stay if you want to get out of the hotel and explore, not hibernate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bew996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanon Khao San Thai Restaurant is a highly recommended restaurant within Sydney and one of our favourite dinning suggestions. As mentioned we are in a very convenient location within the CBD, surrounded by many cafes, restaurants, shopping outlets etc.

I hope you have enjoyed your stay with us at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here in a ' family room'. This was a two bedroom adjoining room. Whilst the rooms themselves aren't the newest for the price and location we think this was a good deal. Lovely comfortable beds.
The Buffett breakfast is the best I have had- complements to the chef ! The wait staff and front if house were also very helpful - we got an early check in with little notice which was fantastic, thank you!
This hotel is great proximity to china town and paddys markets if you are looking for that end of town :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveNZHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Many thanks for such a wonderful review. It sounds like the chef and his team have out done themselves, I will definitely pass on the kind feedback to the kitchen team.

I hope to welcome you back again to Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently attended a 3 day conference held at this venue and stayed on-site. I highly recommend this - great rooms, great restaurant, friendly helpful staff, especially the service in the intimate bar area - we had a great time and will be back this weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriCooperREM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

It’s wonderful to read such a positive review of Rydges World Square. I will be sure to pass on the kind comments.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 180 in Sydney
1,095 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#77 of 180 in Sydney
1,717 reviews
Meriton Suites
#8 of 180 in Sydney
5,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $120 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing