We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #51 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location, easy access to public transport, short walk to Darling Harbour. Comfortable clean and surprisingly quiet hotel.

On arriving, our room was not ready, we were a bit early so we went for lunch. (Lots of choice for food in this area, especially Asian, with Spanish just down the road.) When we got back to the hotel, and after a few calls to the housekeeping we were told we could go up to the room only to find the housekeeping staff still in the room. After trooping back down to the lobby and raising the issue again we were given a free breakfast for the following morning, not expected but appreciated. Nice to see a hotel acknowledge that something went wrong and work to make the customer happy.

We stayed in a double double room, two double beds. We shared the room with my children, and they were probably the noisiest thing about the room. About 6 floors above the city streets but we barely heard the traffic. The room was small, but that is what we expected with the four of us in there.

Bathroom was a good size with plenty of room for a busy family to all get ready at the same time.

One complaint I had was with the lighting in the room. The only lighting was a lamp over the writing desk and bed side tables. This made it quite dark in the evenings. Some might call it mood lighting but this is a family room, hardly the place for mood lighting.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Good, clean, comfortable and good location, Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
It’s extremely pleasing to read that our staff have once again delivered exceptional service. Please accept my apologies for the issue when you first checked in, but I’m glad remedial action was taken immediately.

We hope to welcome your family back again at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    865
    359
    130
    59
See reviews for
356
607
166
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is my regular hotel I stay in Sydney. Stayed 3 days atfer Xmas. I was upgraded to executive room which was nice. Room was well appointed and the bed was great. Bathroom good size with shower recess plus a bath. Disappointed bar closed on Boxing day..not good enough for 4star hotel also restaurant closed for dinner. Apart from this can recommend the restaurant for meals and service. If you are a Priority Guest member be careful to check you have received correct discount off drinks and meals and internet,as I was overcharged . Overall great hotel to stay and can fully recommend. City location excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
It’s wonderful to hear that Rydges World Square is your choice of hotel when you stay in Sydney. Our Square Bar was open on Boxing day but due to liquor license restrictions we were not trading on Christmas day.

We do hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Decided at the very last minute to spend a much needed night away in Sydney with my partner.
The Rydges website was so easy to use especially on my mobile phone, we were booked in within a couple of minutes.

Upon arrival we were greeted at check in by a very helpful staff member, who had us checked in within a couple of mins and upgraded us to an executive room (level 21).
Bed is extremely comfortable, the big breakfast we ordered for room service was fabulous and arrived when we wanted it! Along with the morning paper.
Mini bar prices seemed quite reasonable compared to some other hotels.

Rydges World Square Sydney is in a perfect location, within walking distance to Central train station, great shopping!
Thank you Rydges for making our stay so comfortable and relaxing!

* just thought its a good idea to mention, if you become a priority guest member online, which takes a couple of minutes, it gets you a much later checkout which was perfect for us, a smoother check in, savings in the bar and restaurant and a complimentary alcoholic beverage on arrival!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaeM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
It’s such a pleasure to read that we have delivered exceptional service and that you have utilised our hotel’s facilities. Thank you for your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back again at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Disappointing. Very average for the price. We have stayed in numerous hotels over the years and this one was a disappointment. Coffee cups were dirty. Towels were not soft. Beds were ok. Choice of pillows. Had to use the cushion as well to get comfortable. Did not use the other facilities of the hotel. Entrance was hard to locate by car. Had to ring for instructions. Overall not worth the money except that it was located well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmr064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Please accept my apologies for the displeasure, as this is not our usual standard. I have passed your comments on to the relevant department to ensure remedial action is taken.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Rydges World Square in the near future.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

It's been a while since I stayed at a rydges and it wasn't as good as I remembered them. The bed is very comfortable and the room small but as a base for exploring the city or a night over from the airport, it's a good hotel for the right price. I got a good special at the low end of the price range, so I was very happy with what I received at this hotel.
As for the small room, the serviced apartments provide a huge room with kitchen for around the same price such as quest world square, which is a nice property. Another bummer is the Internet, I'd recommend anyone staying in Australia for any amount of time to go and get a 3G card from optus, testra, or something. All in all I would stay here again for the right price, the location is great and the service was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cursive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
I’m pleased to read that we have delivered exceptional service on your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on our great central location of Sydney’s precinct. Many thanks to one of our Senior Contributors.

We do hope in the near future you choose to stay with us again at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
239 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

great location in the cbd. it has a monorail station which makes it easy to get to darling harbour and around the city.
rooms are very clean and refurbished. beds are the usual dream beds in rydges.
large gym which was great.
packages with breakfast are good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our recently refurbished rooms and gym. Thank you aus_isis, for your great comments.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges World Square, on your next trip up to Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is no doubt the best located, comfortable and affordable hotel in the Sydney CBD. Even though there are some renovations happening at present, as a guest i hardly noticed it.
The only ongoing problem here is that no one ever recognises priority club guests and 'welcome back' drinks seem to be a thing of the past.
However, that minor issue aside, this is our preferred hotel whenever in Sydney. Still here for 2 more nights, and enjoying every minute

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It’s a pleasure to read that you are enjoying your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Rydges World Square as your hotel of choice when you visit Sydney.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#71 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing