We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good room, average staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #51 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good room, average staff and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed overnight with a mate so that we could go out in the city. We got to the hotel around 6pm and checked it, we were happy when told by the clerk that we would be given a free breakfast with a room.

The room itself was quite nice, fairly spacious and had new fittings. The bed was soft but I do prefer a harder bed. The room had a fully stocked mini bar however the prices were pretty insane, if you need a beer go to the bottle shop at the liquorland in world square and save yourself some money.

We had dinner and had our night out and went to breakfast in the morning, this is where it got a bit disappointing, the female member of staff looked at the list and then told us to fill out a form, when asked why we had to fill out a form she simply said "its our procedure".

We had breakfast which I would describe as average in quality at best and checked out shortly after and were asked to pay $56 for a breakfast for two. It took approximately 15 minutes of argument with the shift manager to have them waive the breakfast charge. This alone left me disappointed with the stay.

I would probably stay again if I had to, however there are nicer places. If you need breakfast go to a cafe down the street, the quality will be at least as good and most likely cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83poolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    876
    362
    131
    61
See reviews for
366
612
170
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked this hotel for our last few days of our holiday in Australia a few years ago. We arrived after dinner only to find that our room had been re-allocated which I can understand as it was quite late in the evening when we arrived and we had not let the hotel know that we were running late. The manager was very quick to rectify this by providing us with an upgrade to one of the suites and all the extras that came with it. It was lovely. The location of the hotel is ideal for wandering around the city and with the monorail station close by we had easy access to Darling Harour, Paddy's market, china town etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_and_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had the most disappointing stay at Rydges. I travelled from QLD for my birthday to spend with family and friends. The location is great however the customer service was just terrible. They told me I didn't have a booking, which I did. The front desk girls were rude then even though I pre paid over the internet on the rydges website I was still charged an extra $36 at checkout for a room that was NEVER advertised as more. No where in the fine print did it state the room was more. Hotel DIDN'T have a pool. As well our room had a half drunk bottle of water that wasn't even noticed by the cleaners from the previous guest. The only good part about my stay was the helpful and curtious staff at the concierge desk THANK YOU for being so helpful unlike your other staff counterparts. Overall from someone that WOULD ALWAYS stay at a Rydges(usually love it) I would never stay at the World Square Venue again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmAnDaBoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Please accept my apologies for the displeasure as this is not our usual standard of service. I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back at Rydges World Square and have the opportunity to provide you with a great customer service experience. Your good comments have been passed on to our Concierge team.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon at Rydges World Square.
Regards,
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked room for 5 days stay for business trip. This is a good hotel but not one you would tell your friends about. Had valet parking for each day I stayed but as the hotel only has some roadside bays that seemed to be shared I found myself going around the block a few times until a bay was free, it would have been easier to self park. Most of the time it was full of taxis or buses, not what I expected.
The room was OK but nothing special, just a room.
The only thing that made the stay pleasant was the staff, they were great. The gym was also good.
The rate for the week was better than most but I would still think twice about staying again.

Room Tip: My room was facing the North East side towards the V night club and was still fairly quiet but had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettGreenslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Rydges World Square is a city hotel located in a very busy part of town. We do offer with valet parking a cost effective parking compare to self parking in the area.
It is wonderful to see you liked our newly refurbished Gym.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Rydges World Square.
Regards,
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for several days while working in Sydney and have no complaints. Staff was exceptionally friendly and room was adequate. Breakfast was on par with some of the best I've had. The bed was quite comfortable and slept well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to see that you had a great night sleep on our comfortable Rydges Dreambed.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Rydges World Square.

Regards,
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here a number of times and always find the staff to be very helpful. The rooms are very very small and one of my visits had a friend who had to have a rollaway. This fit between the queen bed and the TV with absolutely no room imbetween! That's how small it is. I've never had a bigger room during my 4 stays - so not sure there are any! Valet parking is $50/day so be careful if you are on a budget and have a car. The restaurant is not as good as the Melbourne or Perth restaurants, but still good.

Room Tip: If you are not on a budget, opt for a larger room. Standard Queen rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyHGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked 2 rooms, interconnecting for only one night - my daughter and her friend staying next to me. The rooms were spacious and pretty standard decor for a hotel. The beds were very comfortable, and got a great night sleep. No noise problem (we were on floor 20). To be honest, we only booked in, spent 15 mins in the room before leaving for the afternoon, and came back to go straight to bed. Then woke up and checked out an hour later! The check in and check out were painless. The hotel location was pretty good for what we wanted to do. The staff that we encountered were great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sma19710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Looks like you had a fantastic stay in Sydney and found our location perfect for the purpose of your visit.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at Rydges World Square.

Regards,
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#71 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing