We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TV Reception was poor and non-existent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #57 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sorry but my plans were to watch the Moto GP and F1 on One HD followed by Homeland on Channel 10. You didn't have One HD on your selection and the 10 reception was poor. I had a four day weekend and would have planned to stay at a different property had I known this. Having been out and about for the three days prior, all I wanted was a room and what I had planned to watch. Apart from that the property was very neat and tidy and the room well appointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Phil61z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

I do apologise for the problem you had with your television reception. We recently upgraded our televisions to the digital network to improve the reception, so this should not be happening. I have passed your comments onto our engineering department to further investigate this issue.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,094)
There are newer reviews for Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Came to sydney to escape and leave everyday life behind for 2 nights and certainly succeded, found the walk to the sydney entertainment centre quick and easy, close to darling harbour and tourist attractions. Was difficult to get to the front of the hotel without following reservation directions because of all the one way streets, breakfast was excellent well worth the money, scrambled eggs were very sloppy though. Valet staff were excellent but one staff member failed to tell us we couldn't drive our car out of the basement car park as we were given a card to get down to the car to put our lugguge in but didn't realise you needed a special ticket to exit car park so if we new we would of just let the valet do it and just wait at entrance, but it was very busy at check out that sunday morning, give yourselves plenty of time to check out, half an hour to be sure. The deluxe king room was a little small and clean enough, window was a little dirty and there was tooth paste on the black area of vanity. Might visit again if accomodation is still value for money. Didn't like the fridge under the TV, dumb idea

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Liz,

It is wonderful to hear you had a great night’s sleep on one of our very comfortable Rydges Dream beds!

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that would have been caused by the miscommunication regarding exiting the car park.

I hope we can welcome you back to Rydges World Square again.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I Was working in World Square so location was perfect for me and only a short stroll to China Town for a meal one night and Room Service was excellent the other night and for both Breakfast.

The Room itself was very Dark. For some reason no light in the main Room area other than the bedside table lamps and the lamp on the desk. So was not great to work and catch up on reading in bed.

Room 1524

The TV reception was mostly good .
Bathroom Was Very Clean
Safe worked
Bed extremely comfortable
Room Service Excellent.
air conditioning excellent
Square Bar Excellent

The decor was outdated with Glass Ring marks on Furniture and the fridge under the TV at some time had obviously leaked and the the MDF board had absorbed and swollen.

The only real disappointment was when i opened the window and stuffed in the gap of the window was a heap of cigarette buts and matches and the smell was horrible Closed the Window which got rid of the smell and advised reception on my check check out of this

Would i stay again Yes for Business No for a Holiday

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Please accept my apologies for the issue regarding your window. I have passed your comments on to our housekeeping department, to prevent this from happening again!

I am glad you enjoyed the hotels services and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Oh dear, where do I start...

My stay here got off to a bad start when it took 2 goes for checkin to give me a working access card - the lift just wouldn't accept it first time around.

Got into my room to find a dated room with worn fabrics, with a door joining it to another room and cables running through the large gap under the door.

The room had only a single power-point available, hidden away in an extremely hard to reach place (I had to crawl under the desk to get to it). This made even charging my phone an enormous pain.

Finally, disappointed and frustrated I climbed into bed, only to find that it wasn't the king size bed I had paid for, but rather two single beds pushed together, with a 2cm ridge where they met.

Next morning, my shower was barely warm, even with no cold water added.

I definitely won't be staying here again - you'd be better off staying at the nearby ibis, which is budget accommodation and far from perfect, but better value than this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Overall it certainly doesn’t sound like you had a very enjoyable stay at all!

I am very sorry for the inconvenience this would have caused you during your stay with us. If you would like to discuss any of the above further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hotel and great location, very clean and staff always helpful, only downside is the view from my room was of another building, blocking natural light, but no huge issue for all the time you spend in your room, and just luck of the draw.

Will stay here again

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Scottydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Well, when we booked this time we mentioned our last visit and the problems we encountered. We told them that we had put our views into Trip Advisor.
When we arrived the person that checked us in told us our comments were on our reservation and we had one of the best rooms in the house and we should have no problems.
We went into our room and found it was a Suite with 2 bathrooms and a separate living area - it was newly renovated - and most importantly it was QUIET ....
Within a few minutes of arriving in the room we had a call from reception checking that we were happy with it.
We were give two free drinks in the bar and when in there found the barman there to be delightful to deal with. He was happy to chat with us and give us advice on different places we could visit nearby.
In short, a wonderful visit and would happily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fremantlewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I am so pleased to hear your recent stay with us was wonderful!

I look forward to welcoming you back again next time you’re in Sydney.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyable stay at this hotel which is close to Hyde Park, Queen Victoria Building and Chinatown. There was a rather nice lively ambience in the bar area where we had tapas including pizzas in the evening ... and an outdoor terrace area accessed World Square shops and restaurants. The rooms were comfortable, flat screen telly but no wifi access except in the foyer and bar (an extra charge). We had breakfast each morning in the dining room and there was a really great range of cereals, fresh fruit, hot buffet and breads/pastries including a barista making great coffees.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaggio46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

It is great to see you enjoyed the Square Bar! We have just opened the new top deck, next time your here you have to check it out. It’s the perfect place to have an afternoon cocktail in the sun.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 178 in Sydney
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#77 of 178 in Sydney
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $157 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing