We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details always matter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #67 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Need to quickly go to Sydney and found a good deal for the Rydges online. Read all reviews and realise that it's going to be a bit of an adventure as critics have very contrasting opinions. Good? Bad? The deal is too good and it's only one night, who cares, I take the plunge. ONLY problem is that I cannot check-in (so the special deal works) before 8.30pm Does not matter, have meetings and long day walking.... It's 6.30, exhausted, I enter the Hotel, after leaving behind a very very busy and noisy Pitt Street in the CBD, with lots of traffic and people getting ready for a Friday night out. At the reception I explain that I perfectly understand the deal (after 8,30pm check-in) and just want to leave my bag there. The super wonderfully efficient girl at the desk tells me not to stress, she will check me in if the room is available. So there I go, first experience great. I take the lift and find my room, open the door and guess what: it's clean, simple and quite big, compared to the so-called boutique hotels you find around Sydney. Bathroom has bath and a separate shower, pretty large. I relax and head out for dinner. The streets are even busier, as I return at 11 to the hotel. I have to say, I did not hear any noise from outside and woke up very relaxed in a very comfortable bed. Took a shower and... now... how many times you find yourself in a 'posh' hotel complaining about the dribbles of water that come out of the shower, with zero pressure that don't even manage to remove the shampoo from your hair.... well, this is NOT the case. Super shower, could have stayed in there for hours, loved it! Like at home! It's 8am, I check-out. I shall return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank satori99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your feedback! It’s wonderful to see you liked our new shower heads.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,450 - 1,456 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great central location, above great amenities including supermarket and clothing stores, the rooms were very large and spacious. Had a few issues with check in and check out as we had booked 2 days and they didnt link the nights, so we had to re check in. The rooms were Nice and clean all facilities in the room available, Easy walking distance to Darling Harbour about two blocks away, Would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolynasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

It is terrific to hear you enjoyed our great location and hotel facilities.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My room was a bit old and tired, could have been better, no wireless either unless paid extra. Won't rush back. Only good point is it is very central and there are plenty of places nearby to grab dinner or breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

It is disappointing to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us!

I have taken your comments on board and thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

In the heart of happening area.
Top shopping areas in walking reach.
Multi cuisine eateries right next door.
Hotel breakfast with good choice.
Mono Rail station at stones throw.
Staff very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKSDLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback!

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2012. The hotel is in a good location for shops and tourist attractions. The music in the bar was far too loud for my liking but the staff were very helpful. Our only complaint was that we booked a shuttle bus to take us to the airport at 12.30pm and were woken at 5.30am to say it had arrived. This was particularly annoying as we had a long haul flight to London ahead and were wanting a long lie in bed. No explanation or apology was offered for the mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

It’s wonderful to see you enjoyed our central location! Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that would have been caused by the mix up with your shuttle bus.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Half empty bottle of water found in room on bed at check-in - probably left by cleaner - it suggests room was not checked after being made ready for new guest.
Television in room did not work properly -pictures invariably pixelated. Despite complaints issue could not be resolved in a timely fashion.
Wifi did not work in the room. Broadband cable was unreliable & expensive.
Gym being refurbished - have to go across street to use a comercial gym - fortunately it was complimentary

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geologist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

I do apologise for the issues you in counted during your stay! Be assured I am following up on the above and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

In terms of location, you really can not get better in Sydney. Sure Darling Harbour and Circular Quay both have the views but it's a bit of a hike to the rest of the city. World Square is the heart of the CBD, and along with that comes the vibrant atmosphere, great shopping and amazing food.

You are only minutes to Chinatown and Pitt Street Mall here, and Town Hall station is footsteps away.

The hotel itself is lovely. It's getting to be about 20 to 30 years old now, but they keep the place feeling modern and clean. The Bed was among the most comfortable I have slept in, and the service was professional and courteous.

I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asia_short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Great to hear you loved the place!

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 186 in Sydney
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#79 of 186 in Sydney
1,779 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $163 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing