We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very central, good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #53 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very central, good value for money.”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed there just before Christmas and enjoyed it a lot. The rooms are specious and clean. The location is very central and a bit busy at times. The restaurant menu has not many options but the food is at a good quality.
As priority members we took the breakfast plus snacks and drinks before dinner package. It was great. We always enjoy staying at the ridges and this time it wasn’t different. We look forward to our next stay at the ridges in QLD.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank had-asim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us!

I am happy to inform you that since your last visit the restaurant has changed its look, features a seafood shelf and an open kitchen! Sphere has also been announced winner at the Restaurant and Catering award! So next time you are in Sydney, make sure you check our new menu!

I am glad to see that you have joined our free membership program and are part of the big Rydges family. The many benefits of Rydges Priority Guest are available in all Rydges properties across Australia and New Zealand so don’t forget your card on your next trip to Queensland and save!

We hope to see you soon again at World Square with your family and hope that you will have a lovely time in Queensland!

Kind Regards,
Rhys Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    897
    369
    131
    61
See reviews for
373
623
173
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

First time staying here.
Very happy with the service at reception. The concerge let me use his computer to pick seats and print my boarding pass for the plane flight home, no charge.
Room was very clean, new carpet and the bed is actually a king bed !! Not 2 beds pushed together which we hate. Bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on.
Fully stocked mini bar, very reasonably priced. Shower and bath in ensuite. Mini safe in room, Coffee and tea facility.
Caught the train from airport 10 min trip. 5 minute walk from Museum station to Rydges Capitol Square. Easy walk to Darling Harbour, plenty of restuarants nearbye.
We were seeing a show at the Capitol Theatre which was a 8 minute walk to the theatre.
We had breakfast included in our accommodation hot and cold selection, fresh fruit etc.
The room was quiet, lifts were fast and efficient.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
It was great to read your feedback in regards to your stay with us. I am happy to see that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel and made the most of it. I was also very pleased to hear another great comment on our fabulous Rydges Dream Beds!
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you back soon at Rydges World Square.

Kind Regards
Rhys Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Spent 1 night here for business, fantastic location in the heart of the CBD. Breakfast was brilliant & the staff were fantastic.
My only complaint was that it was quite nosiy on the streets (as you would expect) but the noise wasn't filtered out effectively.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed our great location. Our “rise” breakfast concept which has been developed across all Rydges hotel is a real success and I am happy to see that you liked it. Be assured that we have passed on your good comments to our “fantastic” food and beverage staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
Rhys Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel had a perfect location in the heart of Sydney, close to all the major shops and attractions. It is also situated above a shopping centre where you can buy groceries, food and coffee. The hotel itself is old and could benefit from a refurbishment. Prices for the rooms are comparable to other hotels in the area but you get less for your money as the hotel is on the old and tired side. Beware the super high valet parking charges!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rldot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed for one week in this great hotel in December 2010. Was there for most of christmas including Christmas eve & Christmas day. Amazing location to explore location. Walking distance to Darling Harbour which is great given a lot activity happening down there esp around the festive season. Also walking distance (albeit a little longer) to the Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Opera House & lots of other attractions too. Also near the monorail which is handy for doing a short loop around some of the sights. We had two separate bookings as we arrived earlier - which worked out well as we got a cheaper rate after first booking as you could become a Priority Guest which entitled you to cheaper room and breakfast/dinner rates. Very convenient laundry rooms available - which was brill as we were on a long trip. Staff very nice & concierges very helpful for touristy questions. Also, only a couple of meters from the Spanish qtr - with lovely tapas restaurants which opened quite late. Next to a shopping centre (with a Coles and lots of other shops) also - which was handy for stocking up the fridge in the room. Cinema, KFC, Irish & English bars all very close for the walk home after a few beers. Rooms very good size, with balcony for drying clothes or sitting on. Bathroom very clean and good size with a great shower and topped up everyday with toiletries. Ironing board and safe in room too. Didn't eat in the restaurant, as we went out most nights but was always busy - which is a good sign. Although on a very busy street - never heard a thing once we were in the room which is always good. Broadband internet connection in the room - but need to bring your laptop for the connection. Wireless available in the hotel lobby - but quite expensive to connect. Room rates were actually quite reasonable - given the central location. Register as priority guest to get the best rates.

Def recommend as an excellent base to explore sydney...

Room Tip: Register as a Rydges Priority Guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deisheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Whilst visiting sydney on out honeymoon, we decided to splash out a bit on hotels. After reading reviews I decided on the rydges world square. Initially the location was ideal, (right near China Town, 20 mins walk from circular quay and 10 mins walk from Darling Harbour) however the noise from the street was unbearable! We were on the 18th floor and there was so many loud exhausts, sirens and people shouting in the street that I did not get a good night sleep the whole time we were there.
The staff were not attentive at all, either in the hotel or the restaurant. In fact the restaurant was the most uncomfortable meal I have ever had! All over the hotel there were posters advertising 2 courses for $35 in the restaurant. We decided to go down one night and eat there. We ordered our meal however when it came (and it took ages) it was the smallest meal I have ever seen and it did not come with sides. I complained that we should have been asked if we wanted sides with our meal and promptly ordered the sides. It was then that the meal got uncomfortable, the sides took approx 10 mins to come, in the mean time we were left with our meal on the table in front of us getting cold. The staff did not even offer to keep it warm for us or take it away, I felt as though everyone in the restaurant were looking at us and that all the staff were talking about us. Desert was nothing to write home about either and actually (even with the addition of sides) we were both left very hungry after the meal! When we came to pay, the sides were $11 each so in fact if you wanted to feel like you had been fed you needed to spend at least $46 for 2 courses. I did complain about this and the staff did remove the cost of the sides and our drinks from the bill but even still $75 still felt like a complete rip off and I couldn't get out of there quick enough!
Overall, I wish we had saved a bit of our money on the hotel and gone a bit more down market with the hotel in sydney as the hotel was just a noisy room really. The write up sounds good on this hotel but unless you have got loads of money to spend on extras do not book this hotel! If I did it again I would stay in the outskirts of sydney and pay less as the public transport is fanstastic and you could be in the city centre very easily.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knoble070511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I have stayed at many Sydney CBD hotels and have to rate this the best yet.

When anybody writes a criticism remember this; this place is priced somewhere between $180.00 and $200.00 a night which is excellent value considering it is right in the heart of Sydney, has lovely clean rooms with good bed, fantastic staff that are happy to help and a really good buffet breakfast.

Unless you look for fault in Rydges World Square or believe you are the Sultan of Brunei this place is a perfect place to stay when in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemountainkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#75 of 178 in Sydney
1,654 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing