We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sydney
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Sydney Opera House
from $28.09
More Info
from $46.15
More Info
from $68.89
More Info
from $48.82
More Info
Reviews (23,962)
Filter reviews
23,962 results
Traveler rating
17,846
4,795
1,026
186
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17,846
4,795
1,026
186
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house concert hall iconic building backstage tour joan sutherland behind the scenes amazing architecture hour tour harbour bridge bucket list take photos botanical gardens performance rehearsal acoustics symphony soh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 23,962 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Necessary family treat to visit the Opera House which was functional and cool inside. Frankly more impressive visually from the outside than in. Would love you tell all about the Cirque du Solely show we watched but I fell asleep.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank goldencurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyoperahouse, Team SOH at Sydney Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear goldencurl,

Thank you for sending through some feedback regarding your recent visit to the Sydney Opera House. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the external architecture of this UNESCO World-Heritage site. However, we are disappointed to hear that the expressionist modernist architecture on the inside and your performance of Cirque Stratosphere did not resonate with you.

Kind regards,
Team SOH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

My partner and I recently did the backstage tour with Suanne. She was one of the best tour guides I have ever had; friendly, enthusiastic, knowledgable and genuinely passionate about her job. We saw a show later during the week which made the performance even more special having been back stage only a few days earlier. Would highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank cetlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyoperahouse, Team SOH at Sydney Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear cetlin,

The Backstage Tour is a great way to get an insight into how the Sydney Opera House runs behind the scenes. It's interesting to see how it all comes together when it's showtime. We will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to Suanne and the rest of the tours team. Suanne sure has some fascinating stories to tell about the Sydney Opera House. Thank you for recommending the tour and we can't wait to see you again!

Kind regards,
Team SOH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

By name alone this landmark magnetizes people to its' steps. I was mesmerized by its' stature and architectural beauty on the exterior however,I thought there would be the same sentiment when witnessing the interior - a tad dull in comparison in my opinion. In any event, we attended an opera which was breathtaking and the theatre itself was gorgeous. The opera house buts against The Royal Botanical Gardens and the harbour. A must see!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyoperahouse, Team SOH at Sydney Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear M M,

We are so happy that you enjoyed coming to the Sydney Opera House to explore it inside and out. Having been built almost 50 years ago, it still retains its sparkle of expressionist modernist architecture. We are glad that you also had some time to enjoy and opera during your visit and we hope that you'll be back soon to enjoy another show.

Kind regards,
Team SOH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

Out n about, inside & outside the Sydney Opera House! The g’kids loved it all & so did the adults. ❤️
Recommend the “Junior Adventure” Opera House tour for children 5-12 years old (the guide Declan was excellent & we all learnt a lot!!) and the play “Midnight Gang” in the “Playhouse theatre” (from the David Williams comical book) ...they were all so much fun!!
Both are Highly recommended, great for kids & adults too! :)

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 1AnnetteA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyoperahouse, Team SOH at Sydney Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear 1AnnetteA,

The Junior Adventure Tour is absolutely fabulous because it's highly interactive, great for young ones and young at heart, and is filled with so many interesting stories. We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time exploring the Sydney Opera House, and that you enjoyed your performance of the Midnight Gang too! We hope to see you back next school holidays for some more family fun.

Kind regards,
Team SOH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

If you are visiting Sydney, try to get a ticket for a show at the Sydney Opera House. We were lucky to be invited to a private function at the Opera House prior to the production of La Boheme. We had cocktails overlooking the great view of the Sydney Harbor. It was a wonderful experience. We spoke with the Opera House Manager Lara Mahood who gave us a nice introduction to the 5 theaters within the Opera House and was the gracious hostess of the cocktail hour. Thanks, Lara. So far our experience in Sydney has been all wonderful!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyoperahouse, Team SOH at Sydney Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear Marie O,

We are beyond delighted that you had a great experience with us at the Sydney Opera House. An evening of opera, cocktails, and some history sure sounds delightful! We will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to Lara and the rest of the team. Can't wait to see you back for another show soon!

Kind regards,
Team SOH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews