We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Photos speak for themselves re the Opera House.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.41*
and up
Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #3 of 470 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Follow our friendly guide on an incredible tour of Sydney Opera House -exploring the World Heritage-listed masterpiece home to 1000 rooms, 300 corridors and hundreds of tales and secrets. Step inside the inspired venues where more than 1600 performances come to life each year and walk in the footsteps of stars like John Cleese, Pavarotti and The Cure. With audio visual aids you will be taken back in time to when the first concrete ribs were laid down at Bennelong Point and learn how Danish architect Jorn Utzon's ambitious vision for a world class performing arts came into existence. You can't experience Sydney Opera House without taking this tour! Tours run daily from 9am - 5pm. Available in English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, Spanish and German.
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Photos speak for themselves re the Opera House.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Tours are available. I took one and learned about the history of the construction of the Opera House, more complex than I had imagined. I also attended a symphony performance in the larger of the two theaters, a bucket-list event for me. Now I can die happy. It was outstanding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,357
    3,276
    718
    119
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another landmark of Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

While at Circular Quay, we walked to the Opera House and it was very crowded, with people taking photos of the building as well as the surrounding harbor. Even though there were a couple of shows at the place, most people were at the various al fresco eateries just below the Opera House itself.

Unfortunately, while the building was indeed impressive, a more detailed view of the section under the roof shows a different story. This is because the concrete structure has started to age badly and in fact, even mould has appeared on some of the beams. Turns out that a similar refurbishment to the MLC Center (i.e. upkeep of the concrete facade) is needed on the Opera House as well!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Just Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sydney Opera House was the highlight of our trip to Australia. It truly is an incredible, well-constructed piece of art. To appreciate it even more you have to do the Tour and visit one of their restaurants. It is just by The Rocks & Circular Quay. It is a very nice walk along the waterfront from Circular Quay to the Opera House. It is truly one of the wonders of the world.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SimbaMasaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirboo North
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Opera House Tour well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This tour was brilliant. We got to see behind the scenes of all the theatres and were given a very comprehensive perspective into the architecture, history and workings of the Opera House.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 46judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby B.C.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superlatives Don't Do It Justice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I attended a performance of Tosca here at the end of July. The building was even more magnificent than we expected. It was a gorgeous evening (cool by Australian standards, but just right for us). And everything about this night was memorable. The walk along the waterfront to the iconic opera house; the chance to see it up close and inside; the chemistry between the soprano and tenor; their soaring voices. Sydney has a true treasure here, and they know it! We'll definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocHoliday62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Opera House also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing