We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“See a play or concert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House
Book In Advance
$46.48*
and up
Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House
Ranked #3 of 446 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Follow our friendly guide on an incredible tour of Sydney Opera House -exploring the World Heritage-listed masterpiece home to 1000 rooms, 300 corridors and hundreds of tales and secrets. Step inside the inspired venues where more than 1600 performances come to life each year and walk in the footsteps of stars like John Cleese, Pavarotti and The Cure. With audio visual aids you will be taken back in time to when the first concrete ribs were laid down at Bennelong Point and learn how Danish architect Jorn Utzon's ambitious vision for a world class performing arts came into existence. You can't experience Sydney Opera House without taking this tour! Tours run daily from 9am - 5pm. Available in English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, Spanish and German.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
679 reviews
427 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“See a play or concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The outside is of course magical. But don't just stop there with a quick photo, if you have the time. We bought tickets for a play online at their website and had such a great experience! I'm so glad we got to explore the many staircases and enjoyed a drink before the show. It will be a great memory for us!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,232
    2,750
    593
    104
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Whidbey Island, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You Can't Go to Sydney Without a Trip to The Opera House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Opera House is even more stunning as you approach than it is in photos. The architecture is amazing. We went early in the morning and aside from having beautiful light for taking pictures, we were alone for much of our walk. We saw only a couple of other people until later in the morning when the tours and others arrived...get up early, it's worth it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice acoustics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

5 stars for the main concert hall. I rushed to buy tickets before I flew in and was only able to get a seat near the very back but the acoustics was great! It was a sold-out classical performance and they were recording a CD. Sitting in the very back, the attire was very casual as it was almost all tourists (for those who do not like talking though, note that some ppl talked almost throughout); some even had small packs.

2 stars for the tour. I paid for a tour for the next morning (you do not have to pre-book even though I did) and many of the videos shown skipped / didn't work and the tour was heavy relied on the videos. That said, we saw many different halls which you otherwise would not have a chance to see unless you bought tickets for performances in each one.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank miamia246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Review on Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

was someone unimpressed by the tour
very basic, felt like information i got could have been read by me in a brochure
neat to see the interior space- have to do a tour to see it
but feel as though a tv special would have showcased more

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Carol & Malcolm's retirement trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

An organised walk through the opera house during the daytime was very interesting and the guide gave us the colourful history of the build that took place with all it's ups and downs.It's one of the must do events during your stay,with plenty of photo opportunities outside. We also made the time to walk around the opera house and harbour in the evening with all the lights it was fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Opera House also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing