We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic Opera House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House
Book In Advance
$46*
and up
Opera Performance at the Sydney Opera House
Ranked #3 of 421 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Follow our friendly guide on an incredible tour of Sydney Opera House -exploring the World Heritage-listed masterpiece home to 1000 rooms, 300 corridors and hundreds of tales and secrets. Step inside the inspired venues where more than 1600 performances come to life each year and walk in the footsteps of stars like John Cleese, Pavarotti and The Cure. With audio visual aids you will be taken back in time to when the first concrete ribs were laid down at Bennelong Point and learn how Danish architect Jorn Utzon's ambitious vision for a world class performing arts came into existence. You can't experience Sydney Opera House without taking this tour! Tours run daily from 9am - 5pm. Available in English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, Spanish and German.
Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Iconic Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Sydney and the Opera House go together. Our schedule did not allow us to take a tour, but we thoroughly enjoyed walking around the outside, taking pictures and briefly walking through the lobby. A must-see for anyone visiting Sydney.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank YonderMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,693
    2,592
    564
    100
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What I Learned From the Sydney Opera House Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Performances here wait for no man....or President. If you're late, you don't get in until intermission.

Luciano Pavarotti refused to perform in the main hall because the dark purple carpeting reminded him of the inner lining of Italian caskets which was a bad omen to him.

Little tid-bits like this made the tour for me. It's a bit pricey (welcome to Australia) but a must do. The views of the harbor are fantastic. It's sweet to see the performance halls (for those of us who won't make a performance). And the videos on the process of selecting and making this architecturally unusual place are interesting.

The biggest drawback here was the tours lack of organization. Perhaps it's because it was Jan 1st, the day after the huge New Year's event. We arrived for an 11:30am tour (early, as we were told to) and by 11:30am there still were folks for the 11:15 waiting with no one truly directing us. Our tour started about 15 minutes late (after the requisite photos taken by the staff, photos which cost $40AUD). Not a huge deal, of course, but a bit off-putting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worthwhile doing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I haven't set foot inside the Opera House since I was a child! Am so glad we decided to do the 1 hour tour .. it was so interesting and beautiful to see .. we were also lucky enough to be in the main concert hall when the pianist was tuning the piano so could hear the acoustics .. Our guide was lovely and entertaining ... highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“World Icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're in Sydney, you must take a tour of the Sydney Opera House and see the incredible views from inside not just the beautiful outside. Better yet, see a show!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AngelVBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We did take the one hour tour, but were disappointed with the content and cost. It would have been better to see more of the individual theaters.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChgoSlsGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Opera House also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing