We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Explore The Rocks Sydney In A Series Of Fun Cryptic Clues
11

Book in advance
from
$11.66
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Sydney Observatory
from $11.66
More Info
from $12.31
More Info
from $302.27
More Info
Reviews (1,783)
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveler rating
1,136
468
133
34
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,136
468
133
34
12
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,783 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Beautiful area - a self guided tour does not give this justice. I would get a guided night tour to get the full effect of the area.

Date of experience: July 2019
4  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

We had an awesome night tour with Tiffany, our guide, who was extremely knowledgeable (she was doing her PHD in astronomy) and engaging. Though it was a cloudy start to the 830pm tour, we were fortunate we started with the planetarium first, before the heritage telescope (oldest telescope still in use) and finishing up with the modern 16in telescope as the clouds cleared.

Our daughter (as were we) was excited to see Jupiter (and 4 of its moons), Saturn and its rings, the binary system of alpha centuri, as well as deep space objects such as the 'jewel box' and omega centuri. Watching how the domes open and move was worth the entry alone. Highly recommended activity if you are exploring Sydney cbd. Discounts are potentially given if you have membership from major aus museums (e.g. Melbourne).

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Aurorin-Avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

Went to observatory when in Sydney, was really good and a quiet retreat from Sydney centre. Best thing was it was free but you could pay for a tour.
Worst thing my wife had her hand bag stolen the staff were very helpful and look at cctv but nothing came up. This is unusual for this to happen at a place like this and just goes to show you must never let your guard down.
However don't let it put you off going.

Date of experience: May 2019
3  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

The tours of the observatory at night are fantastic! Big highlight is that the tours are run by people in the industry/studying and not just customer service people. This means most questions the attendees had were confidently answered, and each tour has a unique touch as the tour guide shares their own knowledge.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank CheeseyBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Observatory closes for day visitors at 5:00, like most tourist attractions, but to find that the final day tour occurred before 4:00 that day was very disappointing to my friend and me. And then we were told that there was only one place left on the 6:30 evening tour, so, "Obviously, the two of you can't participate." Why obviously? When we asked if there were any way one more person could be added to the tour, we were told the reason it was not possible was that the theater space for a small part of the tour only had seats for 18 people. Um, OK. All kinds of holes to poke in that, including our being happy to just skip the short film. However, we gave up at that point, because it was very clear at that point that the two staff were completely unsympathetic and disinterested in helping out a couple of tourists. Their whole attitude screamed, "Just move along. You're nothing special, and we're going to let you know that."

At least the observatory was still open, and the museum/building itself is beautiful and fascinating. Lots of history to take in.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank CynthiaLNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews