We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Science”
Review of Sydney Observatory

Sydney Observatory
Book In Advance
More Info
$7.59*
and up
Sydney Observatory Astronomy Daytime Tour
Ranked #24 of 474 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1858 Sydney Observatory is a fascinating heritage site and public observatory. The quintessential visit is a night tour of 90 minute duration which includes telescope viewing and a Space Theatre experience with a planetarium experience in cloudy weather. Night tours ($18/22 adult) must be booked and prepaid. Day tours are designed for tourists and include a Planetarium 'virtual sky' experience, solar viewing (weather permitting) and a Space Theatre in 30-40 minute tours. Entry to the Observatory is free during the day, tours are a small extra charge ($10 adult or you can use the iventure Sydney card) but well worth it to experience astronomy and solar viewing with an astronomer.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“History and Science”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great historic building of Sydney which is full of interesting astronomy. A great blend of the old and new.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    321
    94
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Sydney in the 90s, but only visited the observatory this year. Wish I'd gone sooner - it's a fascinating little gem!

The historic observatory building is just gorgeous! The exhibition details the history of astronomy and weather observations in Sydney. The facility itself was in use untl the early 1980s.

Visiting the observatory is a great way to spend a lazy afternoon. Admission is free, and donations are voluntary and gratefully accepted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A very nice attraction. The 3D theater is really really well done. We went with our family (teenagers) and they liked it as well. This is the first thing we did when we got into the city. Perfect!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place, great staff - great with kids - want to go back for the night tours- gorgeous old building - great views - very informative

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's interesting enough for the price...free.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's okay for a look around and if this is your interest...good. I found it more set up for students as visitors and not particularly of interest to me. But it's a piece of Sydneys history and a great position on the hill.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing