We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depending on the whether”
Review of Sydney Observatory

Sydney Observatory
Book In Advance
More Info
$7.59*
and up
Sydney Observatory Astronomy Daytime Tour
Ranked #24 of 474 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1858 Sydney Observatory is a fascinating heritage site and public observatory. The quintessential visit is a night tour of 90 minute duration which includes telescope viewing and a Space Theatre experience with a planetarium experience in cloudy weather. Night tours ($18/22 adult) must be booked and prepaid. Day tours are designed for tourists and include a Planetarium 'virtual sky' experience, solar viewing (weather permitting) and a Space Theatre in 30-40 minute tours. Entry to the Observatory is free during the day, tours are a small extra charge ($10 adult or you can use the iventure Sydney card) but well worth it to experience astronomy and solar viewing with an astronomer.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Depending on the whether”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's better to go when the whether is fine but i still had a great time even though it was overcast and couldn't see much through the telescope.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rahmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    321
    94
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's quite some time ago but I found the visit to Sydney Observatory to be most informative.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was a school excursion and, naturally, explaining to a very large group of young children is not an easy assignment but I found the experience to be very positive, as the senior teacher in charge, quite a number of years ago. Having read the reviews, I assume that it is very important to match the interests of the visitors with the experience of visiting this site.
Sadly, I cannot finish this and "lock it in" without selecting the "sort of visit". It was a "school excursion". Not a 'choice' given below. It was a long time ago. (Not a choice given below.)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ozcloggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Could be more interestingly laid out”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am afraid I found the Observatory I little boring. Possibly I needed to see more modern interactive exhibits to sustain my interest. We arrived just before 1pm so we were able to watch the time ball being raised and then dropped.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeet996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“the best birthday party every!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took 14 under 10s here for my son's birthday, we had a guide who was fantastic - able to answer all those odd questions 9 yos ask! We looked at the sun through the telescope, and put the 3D glasses on to go on a trip to Mars. Highly recommend this!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maikaefer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney O, Manager at Sydney Observatory, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your child's birthday party event. We do find youngsters are curious and ask very good questions and It is wonderful to know Sydney Observatory helped make it a special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointing!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

rbtravel's review pretty much nails it. I love science, and I was really looking forward to the experience. It was painfully slow, old-dated technology, and boring and inaccurate guidance. The upside we got to watch Jupiter, and Sydney views from the dome are amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojofrasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney O, Manager at Sydney Observatory, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Than you for taking time to write the review. It's great you saw Jupiter, which is amazing to see through a telescope, and enjoyed the location views. Sydney Observatory is planning some upgrades this year and I do hope you will return to give us another chance at meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Observatory also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing