We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit - 3/2/2014”

Sydney Jewish Museum
Ranked #42 of 478 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit - 3/2/2014”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our first attraction as we arrived in Sydney. It is so well reviewed in Tripadvisor, there really is not much to add. Excellent display of Sydney Jewish historical information. A wonderful and sobering Holocaust exhibit. Excellent knowledgeable staff and a very reasonable gift shop. A worthwhile and must see museum for people of all faiths.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AandDfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    89
    19
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a beautiful museum”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

i had never been here until recently when i attended a talk with a holocaust survivor. It's in a fantastic older building. great exhibition and space. al the staff were helpful and very friendly and made us feel very welcome, even the security staff were friendly!
there was lovely smells coming from the cafe within

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank haamsuplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Richly educational, humbling and thought provoking”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Visiting the museum was the absolute highlight of our time in Sydney, more enriching than our rather more expensive tour of the opera house. The museum is expertly curated and very well presented. The layout and exhibits truly draw in the visitor.

The museum tells the story of the Jewish community in Australia. How some arrived with the first fleet and went on to make significant contributions to the development of Australia. It also tells the heart wrenching story of the Holocaust and celebrates the indomitable will of the Jewish people to survive and thrive. The account of the concentration camps and atrocities was, in my opinion, toned down compared to other accounts. That said, it sensitively balances the facts of what occurred during that time with deep respect for the people who experienced it so as not to sensationalize or overly dramatize for shock value.

The tribute to the 1.5 million children who perished during the Holocaust was particularly moving. The choice of a water display with droplets falling and reflecting light was poignant, quietly sorrowful and yet comforting. It is the place to spend some extra moments in contemplation, in respect, to feel grateful to be alive, to be thankful for everyday blessings.

My husband and I shared two Israeli dishes at the cosy cafe. The hummus and falafel plate and the vegetable soup. The simplicity of the food, coupled with all we had just seen and read, made this meal especially meaningful. I felt like my spirit was being nourished as well as my body. On the wall facing us was a tribute to the volunteers who had given many years of service to the museum. I was very moved when I saw that many volunteers were Holocaust survivors.

This museum is not just a place of history. It is a place of community. By providing education, it creates an appreciation for history along with empowerment for the next generation to shape the future. It is well worth a visit but only go if you have time to spare, to feel, to think, to experience.

The museum does not receive any funding from the government so donations, memberships and patronage at its store and cafe are ways you can show you value its contribution to society and help it continue doing the good work it does.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank DezLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited to see the Anne Frank Exhibition. A very impressive museum, thoroughly recommend a visit. We ran out if time to see everything

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAM166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A moving tribute”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A well presented and moving tribute to mans inhumanity to man and in particular the Jewish race. I have been twice now and have been shocked and deeply moved by the scenes, stories and graphic displays on show.
A very well presented documentary that should never be forgotten.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Jewish Museum also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing