We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving and enlightening”

Sydney Jewish Museum
Ranked #39 of 474 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moving and enlightening”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The museum is extremely well laid out, with Jewish culture on the ground floor an important introduction to the holocaust story told throughout the upper floors. It addresses Judaism in Australia, and includes a memorial, poignant art works and excellent storyboards.
Packed with artefacts, photographs and video footage, the museum is fascinating and moving in equal measure. We must not ever forget this shameful era in the history of humankind, and the museum presents the Jewish story with pride and sensitivity.
Thank you to the wonderful staff, whose knowledge, stories and personal experience coloured the visit. They were willing to talk - at length if necessary - to answer questions and explain any aspect of the stories exhibited.
We spent five hours there - with a couple of breaks at the excellent cafe - to view the exhibition, but we will definitely go back when we are next in Sydney and take a guided tour next time.
The Jewish Museum was definitely a highlight of our Sydney visit and I recommend it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beezerbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    89
    18
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very interesting museum to visit, found in a very central location just 30 minutes walk from the Sydney CBD. One Sunday of the month you can visit the museum for free.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Extremely moving experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Each year we visit the Jewish Musuem and we never tire of it. The Musuem is split over numerous floors with displays about Judaism, the Holocaust and a memorial to the victims. The Musuem is also staff by volunteers with some association to the Holocaust. Our group was fortunate to meet a holocaust survivor - the elegant Olga. Her amazing survival story is inspirational. This is a must visit for everyone to develop a further appreciation about the impact of hatred can have.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank threezacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
437 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An excellent combination”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This small museum does a fantastic job in it's two very separate aims. One is to tell the story of Jewish History in Australia. Jews came here as convicts with the First Fleet !The second part is the story of the Holocaust. Sensitively told with guides (getting pretty old now) who are survivors. Very educational and also inspiring

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigvicSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Right on the corner of Burton St and Darlinghurst Road, the Museum has been revitalised by extensive renovation. There is a sweeping staircase from ground to the upper floors. The first floor has a really good kosher cafe. My lunch plate of hummus, falafel & salad with bread was excellent as lovely soup aromas wafted around. There is a Gallery alongside the cafe with changing exhibitions. The rest of the museum is about the history of Judaism and the Australian Jewish community. I was impressed by it's presentation.
This would make a nice addition to exploring the Galleries around Darlinghurst and the National Art School grounds, which is an amazing old jail with exhibition spaces.
There is an entry fee, though it's free the the first sunday of each month. Closed Saturday and Jewish holidays so it pays to check their site http://www.sydneyjewishmuseum.com.au/Visitor-Info/default.aspx. The staff are charming and friendly, there is a gift shop and a library.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Jewish Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing