We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St marys”

St. Mary's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$295.84*
and up
Private: Historical Sightseeing Walking Tour of Sydney
Ranked #25 of 469 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“St marys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Aazing piece of achicture and spiritual feeling. My father first took me there 60 years ago when I was a child and he knotted his handkerchief in each corner so my head would be covered and I would be respectul to the Lord. I still love to visit St Marys when I go to Sydney

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    409
    87
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The cathedral is built on a grand gothic scale...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The cathedral is built on a grand gothic scale that would make it quite at home in Europe. It even has the small heads adorning the curlicues high on the columns in very medieval style.

Despite the people inside it was completely silent. The artificial lighting kept everything to a candle lit glow. In other churches I would have felt it reverent but in this one it felt oppressive. Mausoleum was the word that sprang to mind. I think it was becuase the statue outside of Sister Mary and the two children rather put me off. Not a single one of them is smiling.

The architecture was impressive though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

what a spectacular event & all free, really worth the trip to Sydney to see, as well the cathedaral is breathtaking & I am not of that faith but it still is absolutely beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Mass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent mass held at St. Mary's Cathedral in Sydney. The building housed 5000 people for mass Christmas Eve. A light show displayed on the front facing cathedral was outstanding. The architecture, stained glass and breathtaking altar was well worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent light show during Christmas season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Went for the lights show on the 24th Dec and "wow"- what an experience. The sounds together with the sights is unforgettable. Definitely a must see if your in Sydney around this time.

Helpful?
Thank Darobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mary's Cathedral also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to St. Mary's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing