We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Kapoor, forget the rest”

Museum of Contemporary Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.67*
and up
Sydney Sunset DSLR2 Photography Tour
Ranked #57 of 475 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Australia's Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA), dedicated to exhibiting, collecting and interpreting the work of today's artists.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“See Kapoor, forget the rest”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited on the hottest day in Syudney's history: 45.8 degrees (18 January 2013). If nothing else, the airconditioning was a lifesaver.
It's a beautiful building but the content was in the main, a disappointment compared to other galleries we know here in Aust: MoNA (Tas) NGA, NGV or the AGNSW. While all art is a matter of taste and it was clear that some visitors were engaging with some of the content, we found this was a bit of a let down. MoNA leaves this in the shade.
Two things made the day.
The brilliant Kapoor exhibition ( pay a fee to enter) evokes a level of engagement you don't see in many places. It is thought provoking, entertaining, and even makes you laugh in places.
The cafe on Level Four : It's a pity they do not sell large coffees, and that the small coffees presented to us were not hot enough. But that disappointment could not spoil a truly sparking view of the best of the Emerald City.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    329
    156
    46
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,194 reviews
1,914 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
“An incredible disappointment”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had just returned from a trip around Tasmania and was absolutely ecstatic after a visit to MONA - mind-blowing - thought therefore I should start enjoying my own city.
The Anish Kapoor event at the MCA seemed the perfect chance to start this - had seen Kapoor at the Guggenheim in Balbao and loved his work.
Don't think it worked here though - I'm not sure whether it was the buidling and trying to fit more pieces in a limited space but I didn't enjoy the actual building - almost thought I was in a warehouse that lacked the visual excitement.
None of the Kapoor appealed to me in the way that I have seen them before.
The Guggenheim in Balbao is clearly an amazing building and you fall in love from the first second.
Similalry at MONA, from the first second you are in awe of the architecture and then the art jumps out andd confronts you.
I didn't feel any of that with the MCA - I probably enjoyed some of the art with political commentary more than the "contemporary" art - I'll return to these and try and reassess my own responses but left last night feeling disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small Collection. Nothing of Note.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you want to kill an hour or so (or get out of the summer heat), it's okay to wander in and take a look. But don't expect to be dazzled by great contemporary art. The "art" on the Circular Quay may be more interestingly contemporary.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AntiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What an insightful visit!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I pop into the museum today as I was walking around The Rocks and I was pleasantly surprised. The current exhibit - Taboo is really fascinating. With the mixture of painting, sculpture, mixed media, videos and more, I was blown away by the artists' creation.

It is an extra bonus that it's FOC admission and I thoroughly enjoyed myself without the free guide tour. There are museum staffs that are readily available to explain or to answer questions if you have. However, I think the tour will be really beneficial to deeper understand some of the exhibits.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank liyun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
752 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“good food , great views”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

my wife and i enjoyed our lunch at the cafe, the food was good and the views excellent, we thought teh building was more intesting than the exhibits

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing