We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #53 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2009

After a long overseas trip we stopped over a few days in Sydney in our way back to Perth. We needed a place to relax and allow us to recover. The York Apartment met our expectations.

We arrived around 8 AM and our room was ready. The reception personnel was extremely kind upon our arrival and our departure. They gave us a room on the 21st floor. The view was great and was not noisy (but also not quiet).

The flat was big enough and comfortable, although a bit 'out of date'. Even though I liked a lot the bathrooms, which seemed recently renovated. The beds were very nice as well, however the living room need some renovation. Nothing wrong with it anyway. It's just it could be a bit better. Honestly, if you are not planning to stay for long or to spend a lot of time within the flat, it won't be an issue.

The little fitness centre is a negative spot. They really need an update on this. Generally speaking, they're very old. Also most of the machines didn't work properly (eg the runner could be used up to 6 km/h... then it stopped). As counter part of this, the swimming pool was very nice!

As summary, I was quite happy with our stay here. I just got the feeling it could be better (.... or more expensive though!)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres_O_L_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 961 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

A few minor points has lost The York a 5 rating. First being that check-in were checking us out a day early (this was human error on their part) as my confirmation and their computer both had the correct check-out date and the second being that wine, chocolates and flowers had been ordered for our room despite neither of us ordering them. We were quite happy to pay for the wine and chocolates (as these were gratefully received) but the flowers never arrived and we were billed for these twice. Both issues were efficiently dealt with and relatively minor but could really have done without them.

Great accommodation and excellent location as all previously stated so no need to repeat. Enjoy.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank theverdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Great location, not far from The Harbour Bridge, The Rocks and George Street shopping. Wonderful place to stay for the week with a washer & dryer in the bathroom and well equipped kitchen with full size fridge. You don't have to go out to eat as the kitchen has all the utensils and crockery you need, but there are endless choices of restaurants, bars and cafes within a short distance. Good size living room and dining area - great for a family with the two bedroom unit. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brits at Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

This apartment hotel is conveniently located close to tourist and business areas. Our apartment was spacious, very clean and well equipped complete laundry washer and drier. Although we were on the 10th floor we overlooked busy streets which were noisy. If you plan to stay there ask for an apartment as high as possible to reduce noise.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchtravelled62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Great location which was the main reason why we chose the York Apartments. Price wise, you can't get much better for being so close to Darling harbor. Comfortable and large space for just 2 of us. Clean and reasonably modern. Not the best of views from our apartment, but you can't have everything. Many thanks to the staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluesplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Arrived early morning, well before check in time.The staff were really friendly, and told us they would have our one bedroom suite ready in about an hour, this was much appreciated after an ovenight flight from Tokyo. To pass the time went for a walk to Circular Quay to get our first view of the Opera house and bridge and pinch ourselves that we were really in Australia! We found location of the apartments to be brilliant and could walk to all the main attractions with ease.
Found apartment to be modern, clean and spacious bed very comfortable, full kitchen with washer and dryer in bathroom which did have a bath and a separate shower.(When we arrived the balcony was flooded but the maintainence guy cleared the blockage within an hour of us being in the room. I think if we had not arrived early then we would not even known about the problem) The only down side to our apartment was we had no view from the balcony as we were surrounded and overlooked by offices. This did not detract to much from our 3 night stay as we intended on seeing as much of Sydney as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We have stayed in the York Apartments previously and had no hesitation in returning for our second and third visits. The apartments are spacious, spotlessly clean, offer a properly equipped practical kitchen area and balcony (although be prepared for some traffic noise when you are out there). Apartments also come with their own washer/dryer (ours was a little dated but who cares – it worked!). There is also a small but very welcoming pool, large hot tub and small gym area on the 6th floor.

Staff were friendly and helpful and apartment serviced daily to a high standard. They were also happy to store one suitcase for us, free of charge, when we went to Queensland for a week.

After a welcoming reception area, the hallways leading to the apartments are a tad dreary and could really do with some brightening up, but don’t let this put you off, as the apartments themselves are bright and airy.

The location of the York is excellent, a few minutes walk from Wynyard station (direct link to airport) and a 10 -15 minute walk from the Rocks and Circular Quay (or one stop on the train).

Our Tip: If you are going to visit several places in Sydney, buy a 7 day Travel Pass which also included the ferries to get around easily and at best value. I think that to purchase a Travel Pass which includes the ferries as well as bus and train you can only purchase this from Circular Quay but do double check.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingtotheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#41 of 181 in Sydney
813 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,227 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#76 of 181 in Sydney
2,490 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing