We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

the front desk staff were most helpful and had wonderful restaurant suggestions that was much appreciated! we stayed in room 604 and it was quite noisy from the elevator, but for the most part it was a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our staff's recommendations.

I'm sorry to hear that the elevator disturbed you during your stay, I've noted in your history for future reservations that you prefer to be further away from it.

Hope to have you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    391
    101
    37
    21
See reviews for
246
318
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed there two nights. The room was a full apartment with all facilities you would like to have at home. The location is perfect, in the middle of the business center. Friendly staff, easy to find, good parking. Very safe.

Room Tip: The best location on the business area with the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurinlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and lovely feedback.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked this venue for two reasons - its location - within walking distance of Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and the main shopping area, secondly for an apartment style accommodation. It was good on all of the pre-requisates meeting our requirements.

The apartment was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable, the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We paid for breakfast when we checked in and then found out it was actually served in an adjacent hotel, which we did find to our liking. I also paid for internet access which was slow and dropped out a few times. Overall we were pleased with our choice of apartment although the pricing is at the top end of the range, noting also that the hotel is a little bit dated in some areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review,

I am happy to hear that we met your requirements and you found our staff friendly and helpful.

I'm sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the internet connection. We are currently in the process of updating and ironing out the WIFI issues you encountered.

We hope to welcome you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This apartment had everything we needed to relax as well as sightsee. All kitchen facilities, washing machine and tumble drier - so convenient when travelling - a very comfortable bed, tea and coffee, and lovely staff. There is an underground supermarket opposite the hotel so getting food in is not a big trek anywhere.The Metro station is also very near. Walking down to Circular Quay takes about 15 minutes, from where all services are available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKIWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the York for 2 nights before our cruise from Sydney. This is actually considered an apartment hotel, and we had what is known in the US as a "studio apartment". A huge room with an eating area, kitchen (yes, a full kitchen), a big comfy bed, squeaky clean bathroom, and a little sitting area.

We were at the end of the hallway on an upper floor, and it was very quiet.

If you friend the hotel on facebook they will give you free wifi for the first 24 hours you are there. That is how helpful the staff are!!

We had a package that had to be picked up, and they took care of that for us, too.

Good location, too. An entrance to the Wynyard metro station is about 1/2 block down the street. And, the Barramundi restaurant is right across the street. We had a nice breakfast there one morning.

Room Tip: Free wifi for 24 hours if you friend them on Facebook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed here for a short holiday for the Vivid Festival. This had been recommended to me and I am so glad I did, we had a two bedroom apartment, with a large lounge/dining/kitchen area with an outside balcony with dining table and chairs. The view wasn't much, surrounded by tall buildings as most big cities are these days, but the apartment was very roomy, the bedrooms were a double, with a balcony, with chairs etc , and the second was two singles, large bathroom, with bath, and seperate shower, and hidden away were a washer and dryer. The kitchen was well equipped with electric stove and dishwasher. A short walk away was Wynard Station which took us to Circular Quay, only one stop away, there were buses available opposite the station. Supermarkets were in the area, but took a bit of finding, they were underground in the station complex, Coles and down near George Street, was a Woolworths. Free Wifi was available, code from reception. . There is a pool, gym, sauna and a spa. on the 6th floor. A couple of restaurants nearby, A very good location. Not cheap, but not too expensive, and good value.

Room Tip: I was on the seventeenth floor, the higher the better as it is near a major freeway, but with the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owlMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

In the.middle of Sydney near Wynyard station lives The York by Swisshotel apartments. Well appointed and well maintained we have been staying here since the late nineties. A trip with my elderly mother daughter and grandchild.was as always very good at The York. A baby cot was already in the room made up. Kitchens here are very good and it's almost like a home away from home. Rack rate is expensive but they usually have specials on such as early bookings or last minute. Definitely worth a look if wanting a CBD experience. Bonus are the 2 Japanese restaurants below which offer affordable Japanese food with pleasant staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies. Ask for a high floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0leR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing