We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel is just steps from Wynyard Station and we got a discounted room which made it very affordable. Because it was so cheap, I didn't mind the outdated fixtures so much and the room had a great view over the pool. It has everything you need for a longer stay such as washing machine and dryer as well as a pretty big kitchen that you could actually cook in. It also has some nice touches such as robes and newspapers. The bed and pillows were super comfortable.

We stayed before the ANZAC Dawn Service and the desk staff at 4am who helped us with the free tea and Anzac biscuits was lovely!

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you don't want an older style (but very cheap and with good facilities) ask if they have reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpd5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    403
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
325
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
421 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Really good sized apartment, with balcony, and fully fitted out kitchen / laundry etc. Really friendly service (although pretty slow when I was racing past to pick up my left luggage the following day). Breakfast not bad value for $20 (compared to many hotels). Lighting a bit dull in the living area (like most hotels!), and you would want a room as far from the lifts as possible - as the noise of people coming and going was pretty loud at night. Great location for central city / business meetings.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lifts - sound proofing is not great so could make for a noisy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in one of the apartments that hadn't been refurbished which we knew when we booked it. The staff were very welcoming and the apartment very large, a little old fashioned maybe but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The washing machine/dryer was a bonus. These apartments are minutes from Circular Quay, The Opera House, The Rocks etc. would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, road is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph0549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom flat for 2 nights over Easter holidays. It was very quiet, only 4 flats on the floor. The whole place was spotless which is really nice and a big push to use jacuzzi and sauna. The heated pool was really warm, 22 deg I reckon but I just stayed in the jacuzzi!!
Very noisy outside, forget using the balcony, but good soundproof windows.
Staff was not really warm, they looked and felt busy.
Biggest disappointment was the cot we pre booked in our room; it was a disgrace!
the mattress was broken and we used 4 blankets to try and make it comfortable. Really don't understand why anyone would have even dared to set it up. I mentioned it and was told to put more blankets?!
It is clean, big, great location but customer service lacks.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank melb3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were welcomed by your cheerful reception staff on Friday 11th April and were given a totally unexpected upgrade. Thank you!
The two bedroom apartment on the 20th floor with a view out to the harbour was very much appreciated as we rarely splurge on a night in the city. I cannot fault your apartment nor your service, it was wonderful and I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend you to my friends

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayleEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family for two days before heading off on a cruise, was pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a two bedroom apartment instead off a one bedroom when we checked in, lovely apartment on the 16th floor overlooking the pool, which along with the spa was enjoyed by us and also friends who were staying next door ( we asked the staff and they were happy for us to have them visit), centrally located and easy walk to the overseas passenger terminal for those cruising. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very good apartment.

Although the location is in the centre of the CBD, it is ideal for good access to the harbour ports, the Bridge, Opera House etc.

Friendly staff. Wifi available and a good little business centre where you can print boarding passes etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purbeckwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#66 of 174 in Sydney
1,948 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing