We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #52 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Centrally located to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, The Rocks and the City. It had all amenities, great views of the city from our balcony and very friendly service. We will stay again but will request a room higher up facing the Bridge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petama20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your review lily_2604.

We have an extremely convenient location, for all sorts of activities this big city has to offer.
We appreciate your time for rating our serviced apartments.

Looking forward to your future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 945 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

The service at reception was ok, the room was large and had a nice terrace. It was clean and had all the facilities you can expect except for WiFi.
It worked to a certain extent at first floor above the reception, but even though they charge AUD 12/day and 49/week to have it inroom, it does not work.
We can feel sorry that we depend so much to be online all the time, but we do. And hotels should observe that and install up to date routers in every room and public area.
If you do not use WiFi, stay here. If you use WiFi: Don't !!
Great location :-)

Room Tip: Away from elevator doors. As high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livsnyterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lost for words I wanted to extend my absolute gratitude toward the York by Swiss-Bell Hotel for helping make such a special occasion EXTRAORDINARY!

I had celebrated a very close friend's birthday in the city on a Saturday night and as hectic as it is to arrange any occasion in the city the team at the York made it problem free and even better than I could of thought.

A simple frantic call for last minute accommodation and everything was taken care of!!

For an additional cost the front desk and concierge organized a spectacular arrangement of flowers a bottle of French champagne and even the most adorable Swiss-bell International PUPPY mascot!

Once my guest had arrived not only was she treated with outstanding customer service and professionalism was also advised that she had been upgraded to the PENTHOUSE suite!!

Could we have really asked for anything else!?

The room was sensational and the views breathe taking!

Even the general cleanliness of the spacious apartment was impressive absolute no fault could be placed.

The front desk staff had no hesitation to fulfill any reasonable request myself or my guests had throughout unfortunately a very short stay.

Management have no doubt completed and carried out impeccable training to the wonderful team and many other hotels should definitely take note on this.

Staying at this establishment was by far the greatest choice I could have ever made

The level of customer service at the York is absolutely remarkable.

I honestly cannot express my gratitude towards all the staff members for defiantly going above and beyond their job description to ensure that my stay was definitely one that I would not forget!

Once again I would like to say thank you to every single staff member from the point of making the reservation, organizing the extra touches, a very warm and friendly arrival on check in and to the housekeeping for maintaining a spectacular cleanliness of the room

The service from the York by Swiss-Belhotel was maintained right until the genuine farewell at check out

Without a single doubt I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having travelled around new zealand, and calling in sydney on the way home we decided to go a bit more up market. We booked The York, and boy didn't we make the right choice. Friendly staff, smashing rooms and facilities. 5 minutes from Circular Quay. The room had a full kitchen and dining area, a washing machine and a tumble drier. Would we go back YES WE WOULD.

One word of warning, the free wifi that is offered on the adverts etc is only available in Reception and parts of the first floor, and is very slow. There is faster available in your rooms, but at a cost of $12 per day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a one night stopover here before heading back home. Spacious apartment with all the facilities one could need and a balcony (overlooking the road). Nicely clean and well furnished, room better than the state of the corridors indicated. Friendly and helpful staff on reception.

Room Tip: The lifts can get a bit busy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The apartments here are huge! They are definitely places that you can really live in when you're away so perfect if you want to save some money and cook during your stay. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was also good and very large. It was a shame that in the lounge of our two-bedrom apartment that we only had a two-seater sofa and an armchair when the apartment was meant to sleep four people and there was definitely room for another chair or sofa, it actually felt a bit sparse without it. The pool was nice but quite chilly, you're best going in the afternoon when the sun's on it. The apartment has a washing machine and dryer which is great but both were a bit old and falling apart. All in all we would definitely return, it would just be nice if the updated apartments were updated again in some areas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
774 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
6,005 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $152 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing