We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Apartment in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Spacious Apartment in the City”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a one night stopover here before heading back home. Spacious apartment with all the facilities one could need and a balcony (overlooking the road). Nicely clean and well furnished, room better than the state of the corridors indicated. Friendly and helpful staff on reception.

Room Tip: The lifts can get a bit busy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    414
    107
    40
    22
See reviews for
262
336
41
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The apartments here are huge! They are definitely places that you can really live in when you're away so perfect if you want to save some money and cook during your stay. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was also good and very large. It was a shame that in the lounge of our two-bedrom apartment that we only had a two-seater sofa and an armchair when the apartment was meant to sleep four people and there was definitely room for another chair or sofa, it actually felt a bit sparse without it. The pool was nice but quite chilly, you're best going in the afternoon when the sun's on it. The apartment has a washing machine and dryer which is great but both were a bit old and falling apart. All in all we would definitely return, it would just be nice if the updated apartments were updated again in some areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were impressed with our spacious apartment on the 22nd floor for the five of us - 3 bedrooms, large living, dining, two bathrooms, laundry, full kitchen and two balconies with good sun and views. There is a pool, spa and gym on the 5th floor. Personel were friendly and efficient and the apartment was well situated for both Circular Quay - 15 mins walk, or Darling harbour -20 mins walk. The hotel was quiet, the beds comfortable, staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, and it was clean and well stocked. There is a supermarket 5 mins away as well as bus and train and plenty of cafes handy for eating out.
We stayed two nights prior to a cruise and enjoyed it so much we decided to stay again for four nights on our return. This time we were in two separate smaller apartments but both were excellent and well worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingsideways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the awesome ratings of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney and your and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived from our 21 hour flight in a woozy state to be greeted by friendly staff in a clean and inviting atrium. Check-in was efficient and helpful. I was amazed at the lovely, large, spotless, deluxe-studio (newly renovated) apartment type accommodations with a fantastic view of the city from our private balcony overlooking Wynyard park from near Jamison street. The studios are sort of on the ends. We enjoyed eating our breakfast with a view on the balcony each morning, and the lovely fresh breezes into our room. I think we were on the 11th or 13th floor - yes they have a 13th floor in Australia! I usually ask for higher up.

The apartment was large with a bedroom area including a large comfy bed, closet space, desk, bedside table with clock, etc., separated from a sitting/diningroom area by a short wall. This was great since one could watch TV at night without bothering someone sleeping too much. There was a flat screen TV with a DVD player, a phone, Ipod dock I believe though didn't use it. The wifi strength and consistency was excellent with a router in the room.

The full kitchen which we did use for breakfast making, included a dishwasher: a special treat that seems to be common in many Australian accommodations. The floor staff was very helpful in finding me a few extra utensils I needed for cooking.

The bathroom was modern and spacious with a large shower. My favourite feature was the washer/dryer: so nice to have clean clothes!
A daily newspaper and maid service were included. A closet held a small safe large enough for my netbook and any other valuables.

Being new to the city and a bit tired on our first day, it was great to be able to eat at the handy Japanese Noodle Bar restaurant in the adjacent part of the building on the ground floor. The servings are very large by our standards, so two could easily split a large bowl of noodles and veggies.

The location of The York is ideal to accessing Wynyard station for trains and buses, or Coles grocery store in the lower subway level via the park entrance, or for walking distance to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, the Rocks or the Botanical Gardens. There was also a friendly church to attend right across the street: St. Philips. We found purchasing the MyMultipass 3 for the week and excellent deal for using all modes of transportation at a very reasonable price. Taking the train to and from the airport was the quickest and most economical option.

Room prices at The York seem to vary, but I happened to get some pretty good rates by booking well in advance through Expedia.ca. We felt it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe studios that are newly renovated, higher up is nicer for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoa3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at The York. Great two bedroom apartment that allowed plenty of room for the kids to relax.

Prime location to the Wynyard train station so anywhere is near by.

Great service from staff.

Thanks for the great 5 nights.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Recently stayed in a 1 bedroom executive on the 13th floor and were most impressed with the size and level of comfort. Daily housekeeping was fantastic at keeping the apartment spotless and restocking the kitchen and bathroom and reception staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The location is perfect for shopping, business or sightseeing as the CBD is an easy stroll in one direction and the Rocks historic area, Opera House, Bridge and Circular Quay a 10 minute stroll in the other direction. The train station is literally a 1 minute walk to connect you to the rest of Sydney and its suburbs. There are many great restaurants and cafes in the vicinity to suit all budgets. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the York many times over the years we were not disappointed at all. I must admit having read some of the reviews I was wondering if we were actually in the same apartments as those being reviewed.
On our arrival the reception staff were quick and efficient and allocated us a deluxe one bedroom apartment on the seventh floor. The apartment faced out towards the old church and harbour and was one of the larger ones. Kitchen had everything required, plenty of utensils, plates etc. there was a large four seater dining table adjacent the kitchen units and in the corner a good sized writing desk, very handy for working on the computer. The living area was a good size with Settee and two arm chairs and a decent TV with satellite programs.
There was a separate room for the toilet and another for the shower, bath and laundry.
The bedroom was large with plenty of storage space and a safe.
Pool area was good and included a large spa and sauna.
The apartments were clean and serviced daily.
Finally location - next to Wynyard station for transport plus supermarkets in the station. Easy access to the Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House and Darling Harbour.
Will I return - yes and have done many times.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxim3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Greetings Maxim3m,

We appreciate your continuous support, being a regular guest of ours we definitely look forward to each of your stays.
As you may know, we have multiple room types available hence the experience of the stay is always enhanced with our Deluxe refurbished apartments.
The process of refurbishing our Standard type apartments is gradually bringing the quantity of Deluxe apartments up.

Location is extremely convenient, regardless of the destination. With public transport just minutes walk away, and a couple minutes walk to George street, it does make the day more productive.

We look forward to your future stays in our serviced apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 179 in Sydney
2,229 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 179 in Sydney
730 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing