We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #40 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
915 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for days. Nice hotel, helpful staff, clean and the apartment was spacious. WIFI was reasonably priced compared to Melbourne hotel. But WIFI was very slow and we could not have more than one device on it at a time. Which was very inconvenient. Close to the Rocks and easy to locate from other parts of Sydney. For breakfast you had to go to the Travel lodge next door. Their full breakfast at $25 pp. Was terrible. Under cooked sausages and running scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Don't eat breakfast at the Travel Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyJackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear JimmyJackk,

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    403
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
325
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Convenient CBD location. Very large rooms with useful kitchen and laundry facilities. Be aware that the hotel is apparently built directly on top of the underground railway line so there is some train noise from early in the morning (about 4.45am).

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Philip B,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your time at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I was pleased to read you made use of the facilities in the apartment and found our location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I can accept that a hotel might feel tired and worn but I can't accept a dirty apartment. There was rubbish behind one of the units in the bedroom, a cigarette stub on the balcony and I had the joy of finding someone else's tissue in the complimentary bath robes. Not nice and not acceptable. Stayed for 4 nights so plenty of opportunity to put right but nothing was done. I'm sure you can get cheaper and cleaner in Sydney.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Heather D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

We were disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations, and value your constructive feedback.

I would like to express my sincere apologies that we failed to provide you with the high levels of service that you have come to expect. Please rest assured your comments have been shared with all the team to remind them of the importance of providing and maintaining our standards at all times.

To discuss these matters further please contact Christie Love on 02 9210 5000 or email on restysb@swiss-belhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Reviews indicated we would enjoy this hotel, but except for it's excellent location, we found it old and tired, with no services (even the coffee in the foyer cost $2.00). Our room was not very clean with a lot of dust and worn, stained furniture. We would not stay here again. However, the desk staff was always friendly and helpful and we did appreciate their consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayDar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear RayDar2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

I am sorry to learn that there were so many factors that resulted in a less than satisfactory stay for you.

Your feedback is vital in order for us to improve. I very much appreciate you sharing your concerns. I do hope that you will one day return to The York by Swiss-Belhotel and give us the opportunity to show you that we really can be exceptional in every sense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The York has excellent staff and the location is terrific.
The whole city was booked out for the Fleet Review, the Grand Final and a concert for a boy band. Saturday was $450 & Sunday $300. The York was not the only accommodation to hoist up its rates for this special weekend. Supply and demand.
The room was well appointed and you could cook and do laundry in it. There was noise from adjoining apartments but not enough to keep you awake. Just a few thumps and bumps.
Very handy to the Circular Quay sights, Harbour Bridge and Opera House as well as Wynyard Train station.

Room Tip: Book early, months ahead, and you might get better value for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longbich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear longbich,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on your stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

It is only through comments and recognition such as yours that motivate our team to continually exceed our guest’s expectations in customer service.

We look forwawrd to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spacious, well located, noisy, a bit dirty, pricy
For this price $230 I wouldn’t go back at all

Big apartment, in a very convenient location (Wynyard train station) to visit Sydney CBD

Not very well clean, and the balcony was cover in dirt
There no sound isolation and in a very busy street so it’s very noisy even in the high levels

One tip, ignore the breakfast they provide (for $12) it’s joke and the price is ridiculous for what they give you, either go to the hotel next to it, Starbucks or to the supermarket in Wynyard

Room Tip: very noisy even on high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent value for money and very nice apartment. Perfect for work or leisure. The staff were most accommodating. Great location only short walk to Circular Quay or The King St Wharf/Darling Harbour. Suitable for families. Very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#65 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing