We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #39 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The York is well located in Sydney's CBD. The serviced apartments are an excellent alternative to a hotel, particularily for a longer stay. Service was excellent and a Nespresso machine in the lobby was a plus.

The apartments themselves are a bit tired and could use an update.

Excellent location and value for a Sydney CBD hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    406
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
328
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in a one bed apartment for 3 on the 11th floor. The location is great, walking distance to the opera house, Botanic Gardens, harbour, city etc.
On first impression the apartment looked smart however on closer inspection it was tired with walls needing painting, cracks in walls etc. The furniture was good condition and clean.
The apartment had everything we needed including for cooking, however I was apprehensive about doing this as the smoke alarm sensor was over the kitchen area and there was a $850 charge should the smoke alarm be set off. Thus I proceeded to cook with the fan on high and the balcony doors open. I noted that the oven hadn't been cleaned out from previous users. The dinner plates where too large to fit into the racks in the dishwasher and had to be lain down on top of each other.
The apartment was incredibly noisy, not so bad during the day but dreadful at night and I struggled to stay asleep more than 2 hours at a time. Same happened for my partner. This place would benefit from double glazing.
Also work was happening with refurbishment of apartments overhead so we could hear hammering in the morning.
The balcony are was a good size and a lovely place to sit and start the day.
The pool and spa area was lovely and the pool was warm enough to swim in despite external temperatures being low.
The room attendant who cleaned our room was really lovely and did an excellent job.
I was very disappointed on departure to be given a bill for the pull out bed which we had paid for in total when booking the trip. I noted this has happened before to other visitors and obviously management aren't keen to address the issue.
We had booked through a travel agent as don't know Sydney. We found the place very expensive compared to what we pay in WA for comparable places, in future I'll book direct after perusing Trip Advisor and Wot If.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room and ask staff which rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswinendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just stayed here for 4 nights in a Deluxe Executive Two Bedroom + Study / 2 Bathroom. Room 2203. The apartment was huge and very clean which is a major thing for me! The beds and pillows were so comfortable. I have back problems and I woke up without an ache in my body, which was fantastic. We were on the 22nd floor overlooking the left side of the Harbour. We could see cruise boats coming in and out + ferries etc, which was lovely. Something that amazed us was that the rooms were so warm, while it was freezing outside, we had to take off all jumpers etc when inside the apartment, which was lovely. Housekeeping was excellent and replaced out tea/coffee and towels daily as well as taking out the rubbish. We had a paper at our door each morning which was unexpected but lovely. We have kids aged 8 + 10yrs and these apartments were such an easy walk to Darling Harbour, The Rocks and Circular Quay. If you don't want to walk the train and buses are literally a 1 minute walk. Coles is also at Bus/Trains - so super easy to stock up on food +drinks. We also walked to the Planetarium for a night visit which took about 7 to 8 minutes.
The lounge was a little old + torn and the balcony furniture could be a little updated + the 60's style mirrors in the lounge room need to go - as the rest of the apartment has been updated and this actually spoils the look. The kitchen has been revamped (meaning new benches, fridge, oven but they left the older style cork floor). Bathrooms were renovated and carpets looked quite new and fresh. The doors to our study were completely broken, which didn't really bother us as no one was sleeping in there and we had no reason to close them. We did tell reception who were going to log it for maintenance. Overall though this apartment was comfortable, clean and inviting. The building is getting re-painted this week - on the outside.
I would recommend that you pay the extra and stay in a renovated room to save any disappointment.

Room Tip: Ring and ask for a floor high up and a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlinename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment. Only disappointment was that we stayed 2 days and were not able to take full advantage of its facilities. Would strongly recommend as a place to stay in Downtown Sydney. Close to Rail and Ferry, supermarket just a short walk (though ask the staff for specific directions - it is actually in Wynyard Station)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

6 of us went for a long w/e away , we had a 2 bedroom apartment and a studio apartment. 2 bedroom apartment very spacious and had everything you needed. Free WI FI was a big bonus in our room for using the internet . Very close to train station and a easy walk to the Rocks and Circular Quay. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms cleaned to a good standard. Studio apartment roomy and had everything you needed. Spa and pool a bonus to the trip.
Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at The York for four nights and were extremely pleased with our Deluxe Studio apartment on the 13th floor. It was clean and roomy with an excellent kitchen and good bathroom which contained a washing machine and clothes dryer. The traffic in surrounding streets was noisy but when the door to the verandah was closed no noise at all could be heard inside. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location was very convenient, only a few minutes walk to Wynyard Station, close to Sydney Harbour and to shopping. We thought it was good value and hope to stay at The York again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further from traffic noise and have better views if facing towards the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose to stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel for a single night because it was in the general proximity of Circular Quay (where we were meeting a friend for dinner) and because we could get the room plus parking for under $250.

Our first impression was that it was about what we expected. It was quite a spacious apartment with kitchen facilities and a lounge area in an open plan arrangement.

The room was located on the 6th floor and we soon discovered behind the wall of our "courtyard" was the pool. So we were able to appreciate first hand how much fun the other residents were having in the pool.

We then found that the hot water tap in the shower was a bit problematic and was hard to turn on/off and it took several attempts to turn it off to stop it from dripping. Which we found needed a bit more work later in the night to finally stop the dripping.

Then at about 3:30am we were awoken by some residents who had returned from an obviously good night out and decided they wanted to continue. Initially we thought they were in the pool area but it turned out they were in a room on a higher floor above us and were partying on their balcony.

To the hotel's credit the night manager immediately attended to our call and put a halt to the early morning revelry. When we checked out we mentioned the incident to the staff at reception and were advised that this was a common occurrence and often the police had to be called to deal with residents who refused to comply with requests from staff.

Taken in isolation the negatives we have mentioned would be inconvenient but for us it was enough to suggest we will probably find alternative accommodation next time. Having said that prospective bookers should get the full picture by reading other reviews.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the 6th floor as you may be right by the pool which can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiesLuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing