We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location at reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great location at reasonable rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for one night Friday 19/4/13. The location is great within easy walking distance to The Rocks, Circular Quay and the CBD. The unit was roomier than we expected with a large bathroom which had a washing machine and dryer, full kitchen with full size fridge also. Compared to the ridiculous prices that are being charged in Sydney these days this property was good value and we would stay here again or recommend it to friends. The room did smell a bit musty and the lounges were dated and old but we didn't go there to sit inside the whole time. All staff we dealt with were helpful, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear SalandBrad,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your apartment and found it spacious and good value.

As you mentioned The York by Swiss-Belhotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and The Rocks area.

Our staff will be pleased to receive your feedback commenting on their friendly customer service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    403
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
325
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband, two children & I stayed here for 5 nights March 2013. I was wary after reading some reports here, but after a call to the hotel, we were assured the negative comments here were incorrect. On checking in with a very sleepy toddler, we were able to check in 1.5hrs early so our daughter could sleep, so we were off to a good start. however, no portacot in the room as requested, nor was the sofa bed requested made up. A call to reception & we were assured it would be sent up; an hour and a half and two phone calls later we actually had a portacot brought up, but when staff went to make up the sofa bed, it was broken. We asked for another room with a working sofa bed as thats what we'd booked & paid for, and relocated (with NO offer of assistance with luggage etc, or an apology for the inconvenience). then requested an additional doona for the portacot to serve as a mattress as the portacot was really bad, again two phone calls and i had to go and get it myself in the end. I was pretty annoyed at the level of service by this stage. I also got squashed between the doors of the elevator; the sensors stopped working, jamming me and my stroller in the doors, and terrifying my eldest daughter. We let the front desk know immediately & were advised they were waiting on a part and this was also why the 2 elevators that were actually working were so slow as well. A sign was put up after this episode (earlier might have been better!) other smaller annoyances throughout the stay, such as only providing 4 teabags for the entire 5 nights we were there, again we had to ask for simple items. To top it off, we requested a later check out and were advised they couldnt possibly extend it as they were full and theyd already let us check in early (which was a disaster in any case!!) you would think after all the trouble, and complete lack of apology or customer service, this would be the least they could do. They ended up begrudgingly giving us one extra hour to check out, THEN the grande finale, we were presented with an additional $260 bill for the extra bedding, despite having booked & paid for the room & sofa bedding in advance. Needless to say we didnt pay it and we again expressed our displeasure, but instead of any kind of apology, we got ' sorry you feel that way sir' Despite its convenient location, (which it was, basically a 10minute walk to any of Sydneys major attractions) i would never stay here again, and would discourage anyone else from doing the same. We gave the York by Swiss plenty of opportunities to apolgise for all the issues but not one was forthcoming. I still cant believe they didnt even follow up to make sure we were ok after being eaten by their elevator, thats just common sense and courtesy. A simple apology or even a rooom upgrade, or breakfast offer etc when the items were broken/portacot not provided when we first checked in would have gone a long way towards good customer satisfaction, and would lead to happier paying guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear M J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you had during your stay.

I am sorry to learn that there were so many factors that resulted in a less than satisfactory stay for you.

Due to the hotel being at full occupancy we were unable to provide you with a later checkout.

Our housekeeping staff runs on a time schedule for all arriving guest to insure all requests are met before arrival time. Unfortunately due to your early check-in these additional items had not been placed in your apartment.

To discuss these matters further please contact Christie Love on 02 9210 5000 or email on restysb@swiss-belhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The York has a lot going for it. It is in a terrific location close to transport, shops (including supermarkets) and restaurants. The downside of the location is traffic noise, particular on weekday mornings as commuter traffic streams off the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Our two bed, two bath apartment was clean, spacious and well appointed, and more than met our needs for a 6 night stay. Facilities were also generally good, but with one of the three elevators out of action for the duration of our stay, getting to and from our 18th floor apartment was sometimes slow. The "heated" outdoor pool also failed to meet expectations in that it was too cold to swim in even on a sunny 25 degree afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The two bedroom apartment was perfect for our family of five. It was an easy walk to the bridge and opera house. The staff was excellent and was extremely helpful. Rooms could use some updating. Very close to the train station too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Daviifam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am very glad to read your apartment was ‘perfect’ and ‘great value’ for your family.

As you mentioned The York by Swiss-Belhotel is ideally situated nearby Wynyard station, The Rocks and Circular Quay.

Our staff will be pleased to receive your feedback commenting on their excellent service. It is only through comments and recognition such as yours that motivate our team to continually exceed our guest’s expectations in customer service.

We wish you all the best with your onward travels and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice hotel at a great location close to Pitt Street mall, Darling Harbour, Barangaroo cruise terminal & Circular Quay. Roomy apartments and well appointed. Staff were pleasant. Not sure which hotel other reviewers who criticised the rooms as old were staying at, as our apartment was exactly like the photos on their website - Modern clean and everything worked fine and a well appointed kitchen. Nice big blacony also to enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocksolidreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Adzpower,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience.

I agree with you that The York by Swiss-Belhotel is in the heart of Sydney, we are situated moments from Darling Harbour, Pitt Street Mall, Circular Quay and Barangaroo terminals.

You have mentioned great features of our apartments and facilities. Our apartments are design to feel like a home away from home.

Staff and management certainly strive on providing the best in accommodation and customer service.

Thank you again for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights prior to an 11 day cruise. I wanted a hotel both close to a train station, and Circular Quay, and this hotel delivered both. In fact we were able to walk to Circular Quay in about 10 minutes easily pulling our luggage, and found that to be quicker and more convenient than getting the train from Wynyard station which was only about 200 metres from the hotel.
We stayed in a refurbished studio apartment which had full kitchen,lounge,dining room,large partitioned bedroom and laundry in the bathroom. The studio was very comfortable and much larger than we anticipated, with the added bonus of a balcony. The facilities were clean and modern. I had booked this accommodation through a website, and on checking with "Tripadvisor" about a week later I discovered that there were unfavourable reports on some apartments that were "un" refurbished, so I sent an email enquiring what type of apartment they had put us in. It turned out it was one of the older ones and after a few more emails the hotel wanted a further $40.00 for a newer studio. This had not been mentioned in the web booking so I sent them a copy. After checking the web details they relented and gave us a complimentary "refurbished" apartment, and no doubt made the web company amend their site. Further to this the hotel wanted the extra payment on checkout, but fortunately I had a copy of the email from the accommodation manager and was able to produce same to prevent any embarrassment.
All in all a lovely comfortable convenient stay, but be aware of what you are booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mary-Lou H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your apartment and found it comfortable and spacious.

We certainly are conveniently located close to Wynyard station and 10 minutes’ walk to Circular Quay, The Rocks and Darling Harbour.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent one evening here when visiting Sydney last month. Most hotel prices were up as it was the Valentines weekend, but this seemed very modestly priced by comparison, particularly considering they were full apartments, not just rooms. Loved the apartment, how it came with a kitchen and a balcony, both very useful. And when I went out to party in downtown Sydney, my wife asked them to make up a bed on the couch for me, so that I didn't disturb her when I came back. They did so really nicely, and the couch bed was very comfortable and served its purpose admirably. The following day, when I was recovering from my night out, my wife went shopping and I chilled by the pool, which they let me do even though we had officially checked out that morning. Pleasant staff, superb location, and a central swimming pool. The rooms were a bit tired and could do with a refurb at some point, but definitely worth the price currently.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackSombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear BlackSombrero,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am pleased to read your comments about our apartments and guest facilities. Staff and management make every effort to provide comfort, convenience and great service all in one, so it is fantastic to read your experience with us was a positive one.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of The York by Swiss-Belhotel on Trip Advisor. We wish you all the best with your onward travels and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#66 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing