We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect fully self-contained apartment accommodation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Almost perfect fully self-contained apartment accommodation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Our group of two adult couples stayed for 5 nights in one of the refurbished deluxe 2-bedroom apartments on the 20th floor. Although you don't get much in the way of views from this hotel the rooms are spacious enough and have a modern feel to them and all that you need in a self-contained style of accommodation. The only thing that we found to be a negative was that you only get one toilet in the apartment and it is in the bathroom which can be inconvenient for 4 adults. Every day of our stay the room was well serviced by mid-afternoon and on the couple of occasions that we needed to call for more teabags and the like they were delivered promptly.

This hotel is situated within an easy 10 minute stroll to Circular Quay and there are plenty of convenience stores and places to eat in the general vicinity. The little Japanese restaurant next door had great food at a great price.

We found the in-house gym to be rather small and ended up not using it after our first visit.

It is not a cheap hotel to stay at but we think it is well worth the cost and would not hesitate to stay here again in the future or recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fungooley_ruley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Fungooley_ruley,

Thank you for your feedback on The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. For future reference when booking, we do also offer two bedroom, two bathroom apartments- they are listed as two bedroom ensuite apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    392
    102
    37
    21
See reviews for
247
318
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Spent one night here with friends from UK, didn't spend too much time in room as busy sightseeing, but rooms were very nice, 1006 recently refurbished with nice city view and large balcony, staff were lovely, had to pay extra for parking but quite reasonable for city parking, concierge were very friendly and happy to assist where needed...being locals I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We found level 10 was good, had a one bedroom....friends on same level had studio which was in need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Countymum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Countymum67,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay- 1006 is one of quite a few apartments that has undergone recent work and we are glad to hear you are pleased with what you saw.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

we were upgraded to room 2801, the top floor. we did not opt for a renovated room however we were delighted. fully equipped kitchen, lovely terrace, spacious, impeccably clean, extra room if you have any children. walked to catch the ferry to manly in minutes. I gave 4 stars as I do not recall a bell hop or any assistance with our luggage also, the reception is modest sized though high ceiling. Based on our experience, 4-4.5 star rating seems accurate. Front desk very helpful with taxis.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2801 and are posting some pics. it is not refurbished it's great though
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Stephanie B,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back in Sydney soon at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel for a quick trip away. The pictures and room description looked promising. We booked a room that had been refurbished (1 bdrm apartment with modern fixtures et al). Upon arrival (rather late, 8pm) we checked in and proceeded to our room. Perhaps it was because it was late or we had just been confined to a car for 4 hours, but the moment we entered the room we began to laugh hysterically.
Judging by the decor and furnishings, we could only assume we were transported back to the late 60's. The tiles in the bathroom and kitchen were bright yellow and the little things like, I don't know, fake plastic plants (complete with months of congealed dust - Yes I have photographic evidence) really set the mood.
The room itself was probably one of the most spacious we have stayed in and the bed itself was very comfortable.
The location is fine (15 minute walk to Darling Harbour) and check-in and check-out was handled professionally.
We didn't request another room, basically due to the fact that we didn't have time if we were going to get out and about that night.
I'm of the opinion that if the bed is comfortable and the room quiet and clean enough then I don't make too much of a fuss, you aren't staying there to see the motel after all. After reading a few reviews and seeing that this type of room 'switcheroo' occurs pretty commonly at The York, I thought I would just confirm that yes, make sure you check out your room before you pay and also that you request a room change if this happens to you in the future upon checking in. One would assume they would be fairly accommodating.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are retro styled. Don't be sucked into the time warp!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnitznSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear SnitznSunny,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the service, apartment size and location.

With regards to the apartment style, approximately 85% of our apartments have been refurbished. Apartments listed as superior or standard are our unrefurbished and are sold at a discounted rate.

Our deluxe apartments are our refurbished apartment type and over the course of 2012 we have been doing extensive works to bring all apartments into the Delxue category. This is set to continue in 2013 however the works are being completed during quiet times to avoid disruptions to our guests.

Our unrefurbished apartments should still be cleaned to the highest standards and I will be sharing your feedback with the department heads.

We look forward to welcoming you back the The York by Swiss-Belhotel on your next stay in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

No problems with this hotel, arrived and was shown to our room. It was a single room containing bed, closet to side (open plan in our case) there were chairs, TV, Coffee Table. A kitchen fully stocked with plates and cooking utensils, full oven, fridge and there was breakfast packs in the fridge - (breakfast is at a cost). Seperate room contained shower, toilet and washing machine and dryer. It was really like a self-contained unit. The staff were friendly the location great, about 5 minute slow stroll to Wynard Station, casual walk to the rocks, harbour bridge/Opera house or even Martin Place to catch trains as well. When I stay in Sydney again will I stay there Yes no problems at all. Noise - No problems didnt hear street traffic unless we were out on our little balcony, we stayed on the cheaper side looking over other office towers, but we were not after a view just somewhere clean, safe and tidy and we got that. Plenty of Cafes and Restaurants close by (walking distance) if you can walk even a couple of K's you will have everything at your door, and if you cant dont worry buses and trains are not far away as are taxis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

the apartment we stayed in was very roomy. the bathroom was spacious and the shower was big. the water pressure was perfect. no waiting forever for the bath to run! the bed was very comfortable, although when it dropped cold on a night there were no extra blankets :( the wardrobe was big enough to hang up all our clothes, there were not enough hangers and those that there were had been attached to the rail. very annoying. also, i could not find the hairdryer. luckily i always take my mini one away....two days into our stay i found it. in the bathroom cupboard...not in the dressing table drawer...
the staff were wonderful with any enquiries we had and the hotel was a ten minute walk to the rocks and circular quays. although coming back we had to walk up a massive hill :p
we had a balcony and although the view wasnt spectacular (it is a main city after all) my partner was happy he could smoke out there.
we had a toaster, kettle, teabags etc and a little mini bar. on the last day we booked a transfer to the airport through the hotel which was $12 each. much more reasonable than a taxi and much easier than a train.
all in all, this hotel was clean, the staff were great, the location was pretty good, the rooms were serviced every day and we got our transfer to the airport at a reasonable rate. the only thing i would say, for the amount of money we paid breakfast should have been on offer in the mornings as it wasnt the cheapest hotel we stayed in.
also, if getting a ferry from either harbour, avoid the captain coo ones. they charge a fortune as they are private. to get to taronga zoo, manly etc get a public ferry (green ones)...its much cheaper

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarquin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel prides ourselves on our helpful staff and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely suite, lovely hotel if you go for the newly refurbished rooms. Perfect for the weekend to relax. Walking proximity to the rocks tucked away from the main buzz. Great value, lovely place to stay.
A children free weekend for me and hubby it was great. This was my 2nd stay and the value is outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesAsiaLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing