We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for work stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #52 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed in Sydney for a month for work and booked a deluxe one bedroom apartment.
I found the apartment to be really clean and I really enjoyed being lazy for a month and not having to do things like make my bed and empty the dishwasher becuase everyone was done for me (bit of a culture shock when I got home though!)

The gym and pool are small but they never really seem to get busy so I made good use of them.

The location of The York is amazing. 5 mins walk to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay and on the same road as Wynyard station (where there is a Coles Supermarket - useful if you are having an extended stay). It is a bit quiet in the CBD at the weekends but lots of buses and ferries depart from Circular Quay so it's not difficult to get out and explore Sydney.

The only downside, which wasn't the fault of the hotel at all, was that there were roadworks going on overnight so there were a few sleepless night's. My only tip here would be to request a high rooom to avoid it.

Room Tip: Request a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOnlyHQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear TheOnlyHQP,

Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the service, facilites and location of The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

The council are in the final stages of road works in our area in preparation for Wynyard Walk which will lead to Barangaroo. I will pass this comment onto the council.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 959 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The lobby of the hotel upon arrival gave me false hope that this in fact was going to be a nice and modern apartment, but instead when arriving to our room we found that everything from the bathroom to the decor was stuck in the 80's. The terrible wall paper in the bathroom and the blue tiles that contrasted to the wall paper made it look terrible. The bed was not comfortable to sleep in but the facilities were at a acceptable standard. During our time there, road works on a nearby road were very loud which gave us no peace and quiet. For the price we paid we would of hoped for more modern furniture. One of the lamps was so old, the copper coil was exposed. Upon advising reception of this it was immediately fixed. The kitchen facilities,the washing machine and dryer make this apartment convenient but I would urgently replace all furniture and take that horrid wallpaper down in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Didi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Didi43,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel Sydney.
We are pleased to hear you had a positive feedback about our service and the in-room facilities, however we are sorry that you were not happy with decor in the apartment. Based on your comments I assume you stayed in one of our unrefurbished standard apartments.
85% of our apartments are refurbished (listed as deluxe apartments) and we hope to finish the remaining apartments in stages over the next 12 months to ensure there is no disruption to our guests.
The council have been widening the footpath on York and Margaret Street in preparation for the Wynyard walk which will be the main thoroughfare to Barangaroo. The works in our area are due for completion in coming weeks and I will pass your feedback onto the council to reduce further disruption to guests.
We hope to see you again at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A reasonable apartment-style hotel, with very retro decor. The kitchen and bathrooms look like they haven't been updated since 1980. The staff were friendly and efficient, however the location is perhaps not the best since it faces some busy roads. One thing I really object to are the old toilets, which are single-flush only and go through a ridiculous amount of water per flush. Really, in this day and age, these toilets should at the very least be updated to save on water!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sits_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Sits_Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. Approximately 85% of the apartments have been refurbished and toilets updated to a dual flushing system; we are hoping to finish the last few apartments in the next 12 months.

It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spent only 1 night at the York and found the rooms comfortable, clean and spacious. However, the road noise is almost at the point of being unbearable.

This might just be a downside to being in an inner city location (which is really very handy) but some double glazing on the windows might be in order. Additionally, I could also hear people in the corridor so felt the walls were quite thin.

So, would I stay here again? If it was a long stay, maybe. However, I feel that there are quieter options in Sydney that have the same facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah_Jane075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Sarah_Jane,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel and apologise for the issues you experienced with noise. It is great to read that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We do hope you will choose to stay with The York by Swiss-Belhotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at the The York for work a couple of times now. Rooms are large and clean. I find the inclusion of an ancient stereo in the room to be a bit odd. Showers are good. On my last stay I found the room to be very noisy. Nearest useful shop for getting provisions seems to be Coles in Wynyard Park so not too far. Walking distance to everything you want in Sydney CBD, and ferries/trains very close as well for those longer trips.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandnontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Mandnontour,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel and apologise for the issues you experienced with noise. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and suited your needs and found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We do hope you will choose to stay with The York by Swiss-Belhotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Have just got home from a stay at the York. A spacious apartment with excellent facilities and helpful staff. Balcony view was stunning by day and spectacular by night. A good location, about $14.00 by taxi to Darling Harbour, Convention Centre, Paddy's Market and China Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces entrance to Harbour Bridge, 18th floor had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 789maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear 789maria,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and suited your needs and found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in July with the family (2 adults, 2 kids) in a two-bedroom apartment. We were OK overall with our stay, but there's lots of room for improvement.

On the plus side, the location is fantastic. Seven or eight minutes walk from Circular Quay, the Bridge and the Opera House. Very close to the CBD and shopping areas, and only a minute's walk from Wynyard Station (with trains direct to the airport). You can't ask for more. The rooms were very spacious and the only equipment we missed was a kettle. We were also impressed that the room was fully serviced every day (beds made, towels replaced etc) - in our experience, this is not normal in an apartment-hotel like this one.

Our experience of the staff was mixed. Checkin and checkout staff were excellent - friendly, efficient and professional - and the concierge was very helpful. For most of the rest of the time, the staff behind reception didn't even ackowledge us as we walked past. Similarly the standard of cleaning was mixed - for some reason the apartment was spotless on weekdays but not so at weekends.

On the negative side, the biggest gripe (and it was a big one!) was the complete lack of soundproofing. The roar of traffic from the roads below was quite unbelievable, even though we were on the twenty-somethingth floor, and it continued throughout the night. Other reviewers have mentioned this and said it's not the hotel's fault. Sure, but our room was single-glazed, something I thought had died out in the '80s. If this hotel has any pretensions of grandeur, it needs to address this issue a.s.a.p. Other niggles - the washing machine and dryer turned the bathroom into a steam room, there was no central heating or air conditioning (the main rooms had big old-fashioned rattly machines hanging from the ceiling to do this), and there was a notice in the kitchen asking you to open the balcony door when cooking to avoid activating the fire alarm (Really? Come on...).

Other than the road noise, which was unacceptable, the other niggles are minor and would not be a big deal in an average-quality, average-price hotel. But this place is not cheap. For my money, I expected more. Given the enviable location, if this hotel invested in a refurbishment (that included central heating / cooling and double-glazing all round), it could be an absolute winner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisOnATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear ChristOnATrip,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

It is disappointing to read of the issues you had with the reception and housekeeping and these comments have been passed on to the relevant department heads and staff members. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,424 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#39 of 179 in Sydney
789 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
6,129 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $149 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing