We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #52 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The room was generally ok: big enough and clean. Now every single machine in that apartment was a noise maker, I had to switch off the fridge every night in order to get some sleep and not to mention the air conditioning. It happened to be loud and also make the annoying beep beep whenever turned on and off, well, it went all crazy on us. We did not touch the remote and it keep switching on and off and on and off randomly, not so fun in the middle of the night. I complained, the said they had sent someone when around midnight the thing goes crazy again, I call reception they told me it was middle of the night and there was nothing they could do. I ended switching the major switch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Idelgado,

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.

I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our housekeeping and maintenance manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 961 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

We went to Sydney for the week between Christmas and New Year and we chose the York apartments due to its location and excellent Tripadvisor reviews.

For us it entirely lived up to its reputation, our apartment was on the 18th floor with views of Lavender Bay. It was well appointed, NOT in need of refurbishment, and really spacious. The kitchen area was large and had a big fridge as well as a minibar and the living room was a good size though the sofa wasn't very comfortable. The balcony was a good size with ample room for all three of us and the master bedroom was quite spacious, though the second room was smaller. A real bonus for us was that there were two en-suite bathrooms both with excellent showers.

As far as the location is concerned it was ideal for us. Less than 10 minutes walk to Darling harbour on the left, the rocks straight ahead and Circular Quay on the right. Two Japanese reastaurant on the same block for takeaways, and a couple of food shops nearby so we had all we needed!

It beats buying two hotel rooms by a mile,so thoroughly recommended for families.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howardwarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

York Apartments are in a great location easy walking distance to the Rocks, Circular Quay, The Opera House and you are right in the city. We had a 2 bedroom deluxe apartment which was very spacious and had a good size balcony with table and chairs on it. Rooms were all a good size, and furnished well. The apartments has a small outdoor pool which we used also which was great after hot days sightseeing. Eating wise they don''t have their own restaurant but the Travelodge Wynyard is next door if you want a buffet breakfasst, there is a couple of Japanese noodle bars next to the lobby. Starbucks is walking distance, we ate at the Barvarian Bier Cafe on York St, 5 min walk away, and Circular Quay which is 5 min away. The building has 28 floors so if you don't like heights or lifts suggest you ask for a lower floor, the lift is slow. Noise wise you are in the heart of the city, there will be noise where ever you stay, it didn't bother us much at all. If you have a small family or a few people this is a great option instead of two hotel rooms, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Family of 4 adults stayed in a two bedroom apartment , the only downside was that the second bedroom was quite small , although the rest of the apartment was extremely spacious . We were easily able to get around the city from this great location , with early morning walks including around Darling Harbour / Walsh Bay and across the Harbour Bridge ( great views from the tower ) . We found the staff very helpful when needed and would happily stay at The York again

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwisarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The location is excellent if you want to be within walking distance of the Rocks, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and the City.

The apartments have been refurbed quite tastefully and have a fully equipped kitchen, modern bathrooms, laundry, comfortable beds and good size balconies. I didn’t have a view, only a glimpse of the bay, however the hotel isn’t surrounded by other hotels so you can sit on the balcony and it feels quite private. This hotel is comfortable and a perfect home away from home.

There is a room service menu, which is quite good and only took approx 25mins to deliver.

The only recommendation I would make for this hotel is request a room above the 10th floor to minimise the noise from the street.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again next time I am in Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaziS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Surprised by size of room! Stayed in a 2 bedroom UNIT. Couldn't call it a hotel room. Great location. One block to Wynyard train station, 2 supermarkets (Coles and Woolworths), short walk to rocks and Circular Quay. One problem, the room really needed updating: frayed carpet in lounge, faulty airconditioner... Failings are easily out-weighed by properties many positives. Intend to use for family holiday. Great find.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Bris-Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

stayed with friends for 5 nights and it was awesome.
Right in the CBD, close to everything.
The only thing it lacked was the cleaning. They can be very thourough and other times we'll come back to the room and still messy and rushed.
Overall, staff were very helpful and everything went great.
Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Steph P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 181 in Sydney
811 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,221 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#77 of 181 in Sydney
2,486 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing