We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service. Great Location. But needs a Refurb.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #53 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Surprised by size of room! Stayed in a 2 bedroom UNIT. Couldn't call it a hotel room. Great location. One block to Wynyard train station, 2 supermarkets (Coles and Woolworths), short walk to rocks and Circular Quay. One problem, the room really needed updating: frayed carpet in lounge, faulty airconditioner... Failings are easily out-weighed by properties many positives. Intend to use for family holiday. Great find.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Bris-Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 961 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

stayed with friends for 5 nights and it was awesome.
Right in the CBD, close to everything.
The only thing it lacked was the cleaning. They can be very thourough and other times we'll come back to the room and still messy and rushed.
Overall, staff were very helpful and everything went great.
Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Steph P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed for two nights with 3 friends in a large two bedroom apartment. The location was excellent, one block away from the Wynyard train station and a 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour. I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 25th floor and had no noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Flip81,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great hotel. I would definitely stay here again. It was close to the Opera house, The Rocks, the central business district and the Sydney Harbor Bridge so, a great location. Also great for an extended stay as it had a kitchenette and nice sitting area. In addition, the staff were very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: We had to email them in advance to make sure we had a two separate beds as it wasn't clear when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnitaJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear AnitaJ2011,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We returned to the York after several years absence and were delighted that we did so. This time we booked a studio apartment but were upgraded without our request to a single bedroom apartment such as we had enjoyed before. Our request for a quiet apartment was met. We had not asked for a room with a view so our 12th floor apt did not have much of an outlook but that didn't worry us. The accommodation is fresh and clean and spacious, all facilities well placed and more than adequate. I do find being charged $24 @ day for the internet annoying but that is my only small gripe. The service is very pleasant, the parking excellent. Altogether very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Anne H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedroomed superior unit on the 25th Floor. A great unit with two balconies and partial views of the water. The pool and gym area are a great bonus and the staff were all efficient and helpful. Coles Supermarket at Wynyards Station provides all the essentials you will need and is open until midnight. Everything in the unit was spotless and the servicing was excellent.

The only two negatives were the lack of any mini-bar price list (illegal?:), which was somewhat self defeating for the management as rather than having a nasty shock, we simply bought everything we needed from Coles AND the ridiculous prices for internet access - this led us to simply using the free access at Starbucks and on the ferries. Again, a huge black mark to management for their scroogeness.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again if internet access was free!!.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 21, 2011

Dear RomanRemains,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope to see you back at The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had booked two by two bedroom apartments for four males in each, @ $600 per night each apartment including parking for one car. Disappointed to find we had been allocated two double bed apartments the manager was unable to switch our apartments due to a full house. They were prepared to deliver a trundle bed at $50 per apartment plus charge us another $50 to use the bed settee, we did negotiate a bit of a deal. We have been staying at the York for many years usually for three or four days when in Sdney for the football finals. Overall this visit soured our relationship somewhat, but we will return, I booked direct, next year will probably use wotif, less chance of mistake. Other than that great location and roomy apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms high on the Harbour Bridge side have great views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TullamoreMickmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 15, 2011

Dear TullamoreMickmak,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 181 in Sydney
813 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,223 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#76 of 181 in Sydney
2,487 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing