We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #53 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Our family stayed here for a week over xmas 2007. This hotel is in an excellent location with great amenities. It is a 2 minute walk to train station and supermarket. A 10 minute walk into town or darling harbour or to the wharf (to catch ferry to manly) .
We were on level 20 and our room was very clean , tidy and modern and was serviced every day. Our balcony (with outdoor table and chairs) had partial view of harbour bridge and other way was into city and centrepoint tower. There was no road noise. The pool facility was great with a shallow ledge perfect for our children (aged 2 & 5), many hotels we have stayed at recently with pools have not been suitable for kids so this was great. There was also a spa pool of good size and most times we were the only people in the pool. The staff were very helpful, we arrived late evening on an international flight and then had early morning check out on day we left. Housekeeper was very accomodating if we weren't going out till later in day. Definately will stay here again on our next visit to Sydney. We visited the aquirium, maritime museum, powerhouse musuem, opera house, went on monorail at Darling Harbour and mini train around botanic gardens. All great activities for all ages. Being busy time of year morning visits were best to avoid crowds then back to hotel for use of pool in afternoon. I recommend taking the train to Chatswood for those who like shopping. A simple xmas touch of santa hat filled with lollies made our children feel like home away from home during the festive season

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwitravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 961 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2007

We spent five nights at the York at the end of July, and overall had a positive experience. The location was ideal -- within walking distance to the Rocks and Circular Quay. Our deluxe two bedroom 2 bath on the 21st floor had a decent partial view of the Harbor Bridge -- an advance request that the hotel staff kindly accommodated. Having a kitchen with all the amenities helped cut down some of our family's food budget, at least for breakfast. The rooms were nicely renovated, though we weren't thrilled with the choice of art and the extensive use of red in all furnishings. My only real beef was with the staff, who were not rude per se, but also not terribly pleasant or helpful either. You should especially be very very careful before signing your credit card slip at the check-out. They showed me my bill, which I examined and said it was fine. Subsequently they took my credit card to run it through, handed me the slip and in one breath, asked me to sign. Thankfully, by some divine intervention, I looked at the amount just before signing it, only to discover to my horror that it was $600 OVER the amount that was on my final bill! The young lady at the desk did not even apologize when I pointed it out to her. She simply said, "Oh, let me change that for you". Meanwhile I could partly see her co-worker/supervisor in the background watching and listening to what was going on. I will give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that it was not intentional or an organized plot. All I'm saying is, be careful, and review all charges and totals before you sign. Otherwise, enjoy the great location and request a higher floor to avoid the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank from-AZ-to-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We really enjoyed the York. We stayed 4 nights. We had booked the one bed flat, and the accommodation was very spacious and comfortable. There are some lovely touches, like reasonably stocked booked shelves. We were on the 9th floor; if I get to return, I'll ask for a much higher floor to get an even better view.

Location is excellent if, like us, you're focused on the harbour/opera area, which is not far to walk to. It's a bit further to the wonderful botanical gardens, and the art gallery, but still doable by foot. There is a very good supermarket just down the road. You go into the station, and it's down one level or so.

Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Henrythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We were looking for a convienient place to stay in Sydney with free parking. The York filled the bill. It is right off the Harbour Bridge, just a block from the Wynyard metro stop.

Make sure you get your bearings heading to the hotel for check in, or else you will wind your way around the CBD. There is not a really convienient/marked spot to pull in/park for check in. We just pulled over on the road and put on the hazards. Check in was a breeze, and we were routed to the parking garage behind the apartments. Our room was on the 8th floor, 801. We were unable to get a room with views of the water, but we did have a nice big tree that was growing below our window that offered somewhat of a view from the balcony.

The room was a studio and very light and lively. There was a great kitchen with a stove, dishwasher, microwave, fridge, and utensils. There was a small dining table and chairs, as well as a couch, coffee table, small chair, and entertainment center with VCR and CD player. The bed was as hard as a rock.

As always, the bathroom was the best feature. It had a great big sink that was shallow with a giant mirror and glass shelf. A nice hairdryer was tucked underneath.There was a separate glassd in shower and bathtub. There was also a small washing machine and dryer. The bathroom was very spacious!

We do not recommend going to the restaurant for breakfast. It is not worth the $25 per person "buffet". They did serve a cooked breakfafst with eggs and bacon. Then there is a "buffet" with 2 kinds of bread, some fruit, yogurt, boxes of cereal, and 2 fruit juices. None of it was very good.

The York is located within an convienient walk downhill to Circular Quay and the Rocks. It was a great location to get to where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank isslandbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed one night in July on business.

The Good :

As per previous post, good location - very close to Rocks area and leisurely stroll away from Darling Harbour/CBD. Cafes/restaurants and seven elevens all within short walking distance.

Free on site car parking from check in till 12 pm on day of check out. After 12 pm on day of check out, you pay $15.50. Very reasonable when compared with other hotel parking options.

Apartment spacious (booked into the 1 bedroom), very clean, tastefully furnished and with everything you need. Kitchen not as well equipped as it could be, but still handy for making simple meals.

Pool/spa area small, but clean and outfitted well. Pool small but heated. Heated spa very nice. Gym small with a few pieces of equipment - looked a little cramped to me.

Service very pleasant and accommodating. Staff always asking if everything is OK and if you need help.

The Not So Good :

Difficult to locate especially when driving. Hotel located at the intersection of York and Margaret and if you miss it, you need to go one big round in the midst of busy Sydney traffic with its many narrow one way streets and weird traffic flows. Car park entrance on Margaret street, but you wouldn't know unless you asked.

A bit noisy inside apartment and out. Constant traffic noise - not so bad if all windows and sliding doors closed, and if located on a high floor. As per previous post, balcony area not relaxing at all given the busy street frontage and associated noise.

Within apartment itself, older model fridge gave off a constant low hum. Could hear plumbing and water heater noises from next apartment.

All in all, a pleasant stay and would go back again if we got a good rate.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank BayTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ComfortOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 180 in Sydney
808 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 180 in Sydney
6,211 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#80 of 180 in Sydney
2,474 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing