We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #53 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hotel was only a short drive away from the Airport and very easy to find. Staff were very friendly and answered all of our queries. We were a family of 5 travelling (3 adults and 2 children) so a trundle bed was put in the lounge room. Trudle bed was surprisingly comfortable. Room was clean and we had glimpses of the Harbour. Large sliding doors opened onto two small balconies which was much nicer than being stuck in air-conditioning. All major attractions are within walking distance - The Rocks; Circular Quay; CBD; Queen Victoria Building; Harbour A bus stop for the double-decker sight seeing bus is just down the road. Only criticism would be the quality of the pillows in the master bedroom but all other family members happy with their bedding.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cadence05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 29, 2011

Dear Cadence05, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment. We look forward to welcoming you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 961 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2011

We recently stayed at The York for 5 nights in a 1 bedroom Executive Suite.

From a location point of view, this place is perfect. It's literally a 5min walk to The Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay and the Pitt St Mall and perhaps a 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour and Chinatown. We were travelling with a small child and pushing a pram too so it's definitely easy to get around.

The room itself was clean and tidy with modern furnishings and was very spacious. Some of the areas looked a little tired, but only if you are really wanting to be a critic would you notice this. The well functioning kitchen was appreciated! The lounge room had a large plasma and although a new lounge is definitely needed as it is rock hard (room 1104 if anyone is interested!) it is a very comfy space.

The laundry is one of the small, tucked in behind a cupboard jobs, but with a washing machine, dryer and sink it was perfect for what we needed. A small clothesline would have been nice though. The laundry is located within the bathroom which is also a nice size and had plenty of steaming hot water! The toilet is separate with it's own sink which i give bonus points for!!!

The balcony offered impressive views of the city even though we couldn't quite see the harbour (it didn't worry us). The little one loved running around out here and watching all the traffic and it was nice to have somewhere to sit outside with a glass of wine and people watch!

The bedroom was a tight squeeze with a porta-cot included but without that it would have been spacious. There is another TV in here which is great. There were plenty of pillows to choose from and even though it was freezing, the blankets were toasty warm and smelt clean (not dusty like lots of other places!)

I assumed the rooms wouldn't be serviced daily, but we received a top-up of tea, coffee, sugar etc each day as well as clean towels.

The only negative of the place, which has been blogged about many times before, is the traffic noise. The door from the balcony into our bedroom, although locked, didn't quite close properly and you could definitely hear the noise. Even if this did close properly i doubt it would have made that much difference. Whilst it wasn't overwhelmingly loud, it's not the place to stay if you want a nice sleep in. If they double glazed the glass this place would be perfect.

Overall, i would definitely recommend this place to anyone holidaying in Sydney!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localtraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Good location with nice facilities. We stayed on level 19 in a refurbished apartment; it was nice but not well enough refurbished to hide the 80iesnes of the building.

Service was fine, but not exceptional.

Bed was a bit soft for my liking.

Not a bad priced option for Sydney CBD apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 12, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

If you are looking for a large apartment hotel then this is the place. All the facilities you need in a central location!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimberleyS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 10, 2011

Dear KimberleyS4,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife and I recently spent 2 weeks in a deluxe 13th floor studio apartment at the York. In our view the York is conveniently located for many things eg Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Wynyard Station, buses from Wnyard to the north shore, Woolworths and Coles Supermarkets etc etc. We also loved the apartment. It was spacious. It was well equipped. We had a good sized balcony with nice city views - we even had a sliver of harbour view from the balcony! Yes it was noisy, even with the doors/windows closed. If that is a concern for you then I'm sure there are many apartments in Sydney that have better sound insulation. Internally it was very quiet. What let it down for us was the room servicing. At best it was inconsistent: some days they replaced tea/coffee supplies other days they did not; some days they replaced flannels/towels and other days they left us short while on others days they left more than we needed. At worst the place was dirty. On the day we moved in we found pieces of food and an elastic band beneath the desk. In the whole of the 2 weeks we were there the tiled floors in the kitchen area and bathroom were not mopped once. I don't think the carpet was vaccumed once either. There were two noticeable stains on the pale beige carpet that I'm sure could have been removed if someone had tried - I was almost tempetd to have a go myself. If you removed the seats on the soaf there was food and other detrius underneath. And surfaces were left to gather dust. See our pictures. Basically the room servicing people did the absolute minimum, which is a shame as in all other respects the place was good. A minor thing - we found the reception staff a bit aloof. They were polite and helpful when asked but very few acknowledged you or smiled at you as you walked past. A smile, or a bit of recognition, does not cost much but it does give the impression that they care about you and appreciate you staying there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hallyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 10, 2011

Dear Hallyboy,

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.

Cleary we were not performing to our usual standards and for that I sincerely apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our housekeeping manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Best apartments we have stayed at, and would not bother staying any where else now!! Perfect location 3 mins from Wynyard train station, The Rocks 5 min walk, DJ's Myers 5 mins walk clean tidy and serviced!!! Little on the noisy side and older building on the outside but modern interior!! HUGE!!!! Highly recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 10, 2011

Dear Sheenat,

Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The York is situated in an ideal location, the station, shopping centre and city attractions are all within a few kilometers radius. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony. The lay out of the apartment was great, though the second bedroom is a bit small. The down side to this hotel is the disgusting mould in the shower, the state of the kitchen benches upon arrival (food spills from previous tenants), the wet washing still in the machine and dirty towel in cupboard from previous tenants and in particular the hotel spa. The spa had a thick layer of scum floating on the top and obviously not been cleaned in a long while. There is no view to speak of from the balcony and the traffic noise can be load if the doors are left open. Hotel staff were pleasant but in no way enthusiastic and lacked local knowledge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baliohyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 10, 2011

Dear Baliohyeh,

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Cleary we were not performing to our usual standards and for that I sincerely apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our housekeeping manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 180 in Sydney
810 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 180 in Sydney
6,211 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#79 of 180 in Sydney
2,482 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $139 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing