We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location. Good apartments. But not exceptional.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location. Good apartments. But not exceptional.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Good location with nice facilities. We stayed on level 19 in a refurbished apartment; it was nice but not well enough refurbished to hide the 80iesnes of the building.

Service was fine, but not exceptional.

Bed was a bit soft for my liking.

Not a bad priced option for Sydney CBD apartments.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    391
    101
    37
    21
See reviews for
246
318
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

If you are looking for a large apartment hotel then this is the place. All the facilities you need in a central location!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberleyS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear KimberleyS4,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

My wife and I recently spent 2 weeks in a deluxe 13th floor studio apartment at the York. In our view the York is conveniently located for many things eg Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Wynyard Station, buses from Wnyard to the north shore, Woolworths and Coles Supermarkets etc etc. We also loved the apartment. It was spacious. It was well equipped. We had a good sized balcony with nice city views - we even had a sliver of harbour view from the balcony! Yes it was noisy, even with the doors/windows closed. If that is a concern for you then I'm sure there are many apartments in Sydney that have better sound insulation. Internally it was very quiet. What let it down for us was the room servicing. At best it was inconsistent: some days they replaced tea/coffee supplies other days they did not; some days they replaced flannels/towels and other days they left us short while on others days they left more than we needed. At worst the place was dirty. On the day we moved in we found pieces of food and an elastic band beneath the desk. In the whole of the 2 weeks we were there the tiled floors in the kitchen area and bathroom were not mopped once. I don't think the carpet was vaccumed once either. There were two noticeable stains on the pale beige carpet that I'm sure could have been removed if someone had tried - I was almost tempetd to have a go myself. If you removed the seats on the soaf there was food and other detrius underneath. And surfaces were left to gather dust. See our pictures. Basically the room servicing people did the absolute minimum, which is a shame as in all other respects the place was good. A minor thing - we found the reception staff a bit aloof. They were polite and helpful when asked but very few acknowledged you or smiled at you as you walked past. A smile, or a bit of recognition, does not cost much but it does give the impression that they care about you and appreciate you staying there!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Hallyboy,

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.

Cleary we were not performing to our usual standards and for that I sincerely apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our housekeeping manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Best apartments we have stayed at, and would not bother staying any where else now!! Perfect location 3 mins from Wynyard train station, The Rocks 5 min walk, DJ's Myers 5 mins walk clean tidy and serviced!!! Little on the noisy side and older building on the outside but modern interior!! HUGE!!!! Highly recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Sheenat,

Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

The York is situated in an ideal location, the station, shopping centre and city attractions are all within a few kilometers radius. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony. The lay out of the apartment was great, though the second bedroom is a bit small. The down side to this hotel is the disgusting mould in the shower, the state of the kitchen benches upon arrival (food spills from previous tenants), the wet washing still in the machine and dirty towel in cupboard from previous tenants and in particular the hotel spa. The spa had a thick layer of scum floating on the top and obviously not been cleaned in a long while. There is no view to speak of from the balcony and the traffic noise can be load if the doors are left open. Hotel staff were pleasant but in no way enthusiastic and lacked local knowledge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baliohyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Baliohyeh,

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Cleary we were not performing to our usual standards and for that I sincerely apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our housekeeping manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Clean, comfortable Hotel within easy rwalking distance of Circular Quay and Opera House. The walk is a bit hilly for the elderly or infirm but otherwise a great place to stay. There is quite a lot of road noise so would recommend earplugs for light sleepers. Beds are very comfortable and self-contained facilities are second to none. We had 2 brm apartment with balcony and plenty of room.

Room Tip: Take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiewendylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

It was good to return to one of my favourite hotels in a price range where I did not have to see the bank manager first.
A solid construction, it is quiet, there is no noise heard from other rooms next door or above which is a plus these days. Some of the most expensive hotel do not have adequate sound proofing and guests who allow their children to jump on beds or shower half the night can be most disturbing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucklandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing