We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location, very highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Sydney Serviced Apartments
Ranked #132 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Waldorf for a week in early July 2013. I have stayed at many, many hotels and apartments in Sydney over the years and the Waldorf would have to be near the top of the list considering location, space and value.

The apartments are in a very convenient location and are reasonably spacious, even with one bedroom. As many other reviewers have noted, the circa 1982 decor is dated but cleanliness is top notch. Everything worked well, the kitchen was well equipped, the heating/AC was fine and the beds were comfortable (amazingly, even the sofa bed!). Great owners who were very helpful and friendly, great value rates, lovely balcony views to the West and free car parking in the CBD topped off the deal. Lots of places nearby for a cheap and pleasant meal, including Mamma's Italian below and the Sanctuary hotel directly across the road.

In an ideal world the windows/balcony doors would be better soundproofed (traffic noise and boisterous English rugby fans singing out of nearby pubs could be heard on level 19 late at night!) and bathroom tiling redone (clean but cracked floor tiles) but they are not deal breakers, Overall I'd very happily stay here again in a heartbeat, and thoroughly recommend the Waldorf to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if possible for reduced street noise and views to Darling Harbour and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found the 2 bedroom apartment to be great. Cooking facilities, comfortable beds, dishwasher, washing machine, everything you could want for a family for a week. It's not the flashest place I've been to, but it's better than a lot of places that cost a lot more. It's a great spot, we walked everywhere we needed to go, or could catch taxi's/buses just around the corner. There are heaps of places to eat right nearby, and a Coles on the corner for cereal etc to feed teenage boys at breakfast.
The traffic noise was quiet bad, but closing the balcony doors and bedroom windows made it very comfortable.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I guess the higher the better, but our room was on floor 8 and it was pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This very well equipped apartment was in a great location. It was dated and would benefit from updating. Arrived at 7am from UK and checked into apartment at 7.30. Really appreciated this level of service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 256Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Waldorf in the two bedroom suite for two nights. Although on a busy road, we were not bothered by noise in the bedrooms, and only really noticed the city sounds when we opened the balcony doors. The beds were comfortable and there were extra pillows and blankets provided. The main bedroom had an ensuite and then there was a main bathroom which also held the washing machine and dryer. All the rooms were clean. Yes, the decor is old fashioned and worn, but for the price we paid and the location, it was good value for money. We could walk to most attractions such as Paddy's Markets, Darling Harbour and further up George Street for shopping at QVB. World Square and the Coles supermarket was also close by.

The manager was welcoming and helpful, pointing out places to stay and holding our bags on the day we flew out. Be warned that the reception 'shuts' after 5pm so if arriving after that then you need to call the hotel to let them know you are on your way.

All in all a good place to stay in Sydney for a few nights, especially with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sachanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This apartment was central to most attractions . it is looking tired but was clean and was a good size for 3 females with a separate lounge ,full size kitchen and table and chairs on balcony. There was a supermarket across the road and a really good Italian restaurant next door and two good Spanish restaurants next to it..The free green loop bus was useful . The living area was a bit noisy but the bedrooms were at the back so was quiter. I thought it was good value

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On entering the building from Liverpool Street tells you what to expect. The entrance is full of cigarette butts and the foyer is not welcoming at all.

Our apartment on the 18th floor was spacious but is in need of a major refit.
We found cigarette butts in the ashtray on the balcony obviously not cleaned from the previous occupants.

I wouldn't cook anything in the kitchen as all the appliances were greasy and the cook top filthy. I didn't dare look in the oven. In fact the whole kitchen needs to be gutted and rebuilt.

I pulled all the bed linen back before I slept in the bed to ascertain that it was clean, if not I would have been straight downstairs to complain.
The lounge furniture was stained, the carpets putrid, the walls marked, and the lighting faulty.
As for the bathroom...moderately clean but like the rest of the apartment is in desperate need of a major renovation. At least there was copious amounts of hot water in the shower.

Very noisy at night time with construction work going on at 3 am so don't expect to sleep.

It's not a nice area of Sydney and the streets are filthy and crowded.
I would have rather stayed elsewhere but Sydney was booked out.

Room Tip: don't bother try other hotels/apartments first before booking this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil_evans55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It's a nice place to stay if you go to Sydney. It's in the heart of CBD.
Close to Darling Harbour, China town, Oxford St, 30min from Bond Beach (by bus), 3monkeys....
There is a nice swimming pool and sauna! I really loved to stay there!!!
I highly recommnend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank fyumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner West
Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#56 of 182 in Sydney
1,078 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#30 of 182 in Sydney
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Sydney Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Sydney Serviced Apartments

Address: The Waldorf 57 Liverpool St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $113 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Sydney Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Sydney Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Apartment Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing