We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great rooms, great service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We were staying here on a Friday through to Tuesday and it helped play a part in having one of the best experiences of a city you can have.
The hotel is extremely well placed, a bus stop 2 minutes walk away from the entrance is on bus routes that take you to various parts of the city and beyond, including the service to Bondi beach.
15 minutes walk from Darling harbour where some amazing restaurants can be found. A 5-7 minutes taxi journey to New Town, and more importantly, King Street, which is a place you'll definitely want to visit with its various bars and live music venues.
Probably most important too tourists, is the fact the famous harbour with the bridge and the Opera house is a mere 20 minutes walk, take a left from the main entrance and just walk straight till you see it!
The hotel staff were excellent upon check in and were happy to help provide a small map and circle some other less well known places to visit, such as the Westfield shopping centre, I'd highly recommend a visit. As well as locations such as convenience stores and 24 hour pharmacies.
The room itself was very spacious, providing a fridge, microwave, cutlery, and a basin as well as a large wardrobe, comfortable couch, desk and one of the most comfortable beds my girlfriend and I had ever slept in.
This hotel is excellent value for money, my only negative point would be it is yet another hotel that provides free Wi-Fi but not free internet access. I personally believe every hotel such as the Travelodge should be providing free internet (with a data limit in place per day, per user, for fair use of course) granted, you unlikely spend much time in your room given you want to be out in the city but if you do want to get online at any point, I feel it"s poor service from the hotel to make you pay for it at all.
All in all, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, in fact the next trip is already on the cards!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ_Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found Travelodge Sydney to be in a good location for exploring Sydney and that you believed the hotel to be value for money and that you enjoyed the facilities the hotel has to offer.
I was delighted that the team were happy to help during your stay
Thank you again for your positive feedback and for recommending the hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    1,969
    1,157
    366
    234
See reviews for
924
1,438
567
713
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and bought the cheapest option on Hooroo.com. The room I got was small, but perfectly adequate. Extremely comfortable bed, TV, table and chairs, safe, air con, everything you would expect. No bathtub in the bathroom and the wall-mounted hair dryer not very powerful, but the kitchenette had a microwave, good size bar fridge (no minibar items, so more room for your own things), and plenty of dishes and cutlery, all equipped for budget travellers who might want to prepare some food in their room.
Washers and dryers, ice machines, and vending machines on every floor.
I tried the buffet breakfast one morning, it cost around $20, and it featured your very basic continental breakfast items. Nothing to write home about, but again perfectly adequate for a budget hotel.
The location is this hotel's strong point; two minute walk to Hyde Park, Oxford Street, five minutes to Central Station, George Street. Taxis always at the front door, and right across the street there are several eateries, cafes and pubs. Excellent for tourists and locals alike, you're right in the middle of it.
I would definitely stay here again, actually I'm really looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gloria_jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found Travelodge Sydney to be in a good location for exploring Sydney and that you enjoyed the facilities the hotel has to offer.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on Wentworth Avenue during our family visit in August. I wanted to go back to Travelodge Wynyard but the room cost has gone up so much that I had to look at other Travelodges. Well I think Travelodge Sydney is a good choice. It is close to China Town area and George street the main street in Sydney. We booked a day tour of the city and Travelodge Sydney as one of the pick-up point was great for us. I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, central location and close proximity to the trains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found Travelodge Sydney to be a good choice for your family visit and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel for exploring Sydney.
Thank you again for your feedback and for recommending Travelodge Sydney. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights in early October. The service was good and unobtrusive and the hotel was quiet apart from some late night revellers but that was only brief.
It is handy for Central Station and not too far to walk to George and Pitt st's though a bit of a hike to Darling Hbr. If that's where you are going. Couple of pubs locally serve a decent meal and good beer, one across the road from the hotel brews it's own beer.

Room Tip: There is not a lot of traffic noise but if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be quiet and the hotel to be in a good location for exploring Sydney.
Thank you again for your feedback and for recommending Travelodge Sydney. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Large clean rooms. The kitchenette will help you alot. Recommend this to anyone visiting sydney. Airport transfer from reception was seamless. The staff are very helpful and give you maps that help you make your way around

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artcaffe_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay found the rooms to be spacious and you enjoyed the facilities the rooms have to offer.
I am delighted that you found the team to be helpful during your stay
Thank you again for your feedback and for recommending Travelodge Sydney. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I went to Sydney for four nights and 5 days and were fortunate enough to secure accommodation at the Travelodge in the inner city. The staff were very good and knowledgeable about everything we needed. They knew the best travel options, what sights to see and were generally friendly and helpful. The room was spacious - we were on the 18th floor - and had good views. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel as it is withun walking distance of all the main attractions, but quiet enough not to get all the noise. a thoroughly enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: If you can get to the higher floors that would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay found the rooms to be spacious and the hotel to be in a good location for exploring Sydney.
I am delighted that you found the team to be friendly and helpful during your stay
Thank you again for your feedback and for recommending Travelodge Sydney. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed 1 night and enjoyed our stay. Location to the CBD is great and car parking 1 block away was handy. We had a room on the Top Floor and noticed little noise from the busy city below. Room was clean and spacious and the added bonus of a small Kitchenette with sink and Microwave was very handy. Check In was speedy and efficient but lacked "warmth" and seemed slightly robotic considering it was not busy and we were the only ones checking in. Only suggestion I would make is that the bathroom (particularly the shower) needs to be updated to fit the image of the rest of the room which seems modern and fresh. The older fixtures/faucets look like they are from the 1980's, Shower curtains are also something I haven't seen in a long time particularly from a progressive Big City Hotel..? Having this allowed water to splash out onto the floor near the toilet which was a little annoying. The guests in the room next door also decided they would like to have a verbal "domestic" and starting airing their relationship problems by screaming at each other around midnight leaving getting to sleep a nightmare for an hour or so (not that this is the hotels fault in any way.!). All things said, we enjoyed our stay and would stay at this Travelodge again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the facilities that the rooms have to offer and the location of the hotel. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to the bathroom.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing