We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Placed and Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #105 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over the Filex weekend. Room was small but well laid out. Bed was comfy and bathroom was small but did its job. Only a 10minute walk to darling harbour and 5mins to World Square. Plenty of good restaurants near by and easy to get a taxi. Would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities that room has to offer along with the location of the hotel for exploring Sydney.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Kirsty McGuire
Assistant Manager
Travelodge Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,206 - 4,212 of 5,462 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

At first this hotel was frustrating, we arrived with a big group and all they have is an elevator. That was crazy and took way to long to get up to our room. The rooms are small, but very functional. Strangely, I was really happy with the sound quality in this hotel. I thought it would be loud, but one if the quietest on our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethebeach048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

Travelodge Sydney welcomes a lot of international guests from all over the world, some of which travel in groups who have their own tour leaders and some travel without one, which in any country can be difficult, at times our lobby can get quite busy so thank you for your patience when the group arrived.

I was pleased to read that you found the rooms to be functional and quiet during your stay.

I wanted to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Kirsty McGuire
Assistant Hotel Manager
Travelodge Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent an overnighter in Sydney at the Travelodge on Wentworth Avenue. It is perfectly placed for those arriving by bus or train near Central Railway Station. The facilities in the room are excellent and verge on being a mini-kitchen. The bed was comfortable as was the foldout couch. The price was likewise the main attraction. The downside of this though is that it is often full of tour groups (in particular young adults) and subsequently it can get noisy in the early hours of the morning. We will however continue to stay there when we visit Sydney!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mala1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities that room has to offer along with the location of the hotel for exploring Sydney.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Kirsty McGuire
Assistant Hotel Manager
Travelodge Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stay here regularly when in Sydney on business and the hotel generally meets my needs. However, if you are wanting to spend some time in your room, it is unlikely to be particularly relaxing as few rooms have a comfortable chair and if you are on one of the lower floors, there is traffic noise. On the plus side I rarely hear noise from adjoining rooms. Rooms are equipped with a microwave, good curtains, pillows and linen and lights can be controlled from the bed. The bathroom is tiny but always clean. A facecloth is provided but no handtowel. You will need to make a special request for a double or queen bed (no guarantees) otherwise a single traveller is likely to be given a single bed. In any case the larger beds are two singles pushed together - so they are lumpy. No top sheet is provided - only a very warm doona, which means you will need to use the airconditioning or specially request a sheet which is usually but not always provided.

Rooms have a small café style table and simple café chairs so if you need to do any paperwork it's awkward. Like any hotel, it's pot luck each time and there will always be one thing or another to annoy you - light bulb not working, fridge racks broken, ice machine empty, alarm clock not "unset" or not provided at all, button lights indicating floor levels in lift not working, slow checkin or checkout, hot water system with a mind of it's own. Staff attitude is variable.

The hotel is a short walk from Central Station or Museum Station and close to bus services, Hyde Park and the restaurant and nightclub precinct along colourful Oxford St. Taxis tend to hover right outside the hotel, which is handy. The check in process is slightly officious and you will need to provide photo id and a $50 room deposit. Public spaces and corridors are very nicely decorated and presented.Skip the underwhelming and very ordinary breakfast at the hotel and enjoy better value at one of the many cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter, especially if they do not face the street. The top floor is particularly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zappagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope our guests have and that the facilities in the room were not to the standard we strive to achieve, please be assured that your feedback will be passed onto the housekeeping and maintenance team as this is unacceptable.

As you mentioned you are a return guest and have stayed in a number of our rooms, if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I can make a note of the particular type of room you require on your stay and we can do our best to ensure we allocate you in something similar for your future bookings.

I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Kirsty McGuire
Assistant Hotel Manager
Travelodge Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a great bed, comfortable ++. We only stayed 2 nights so it suited our needs but the bathroom was a real disappointment. The water pressure and shower rose were great but there were hairs on the floor and blood on the back of the door - yuck. After I complained. the blood was cleaned off but the hairs were still there when we left! Location was good - the free bus leaves from just a couple of streets away. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope our guests have and that the cleanliness was not to the standard we strive to achieve, please be assured that your feedback will be passed onto the housekeeping team as this is unacceptable.

I am pleased that you did enjoy the location of the hotel and found the hotel to be good value for money.

I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Kirsty McGuire
Assistant Hotel Manager
Travelodge Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Although not very centrally located to the tourist areas, it was clean and it was a good place to crash. "Free" internet in lobby is only for 15 minutes per day. And its fairly easy to set off the fire alarms and have the fire department show up (which happened during my stay). The hotel is bilingual with signage in Chinese (unsure which dialect) and English.

1  Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

I was pleased to read that you found the rooms to be clean and a good place to stay.

Please accept my apologies that the fire alarm disturbed you when it was activated during your stay, unfortunately this is unavoidable in such a large hotel however we do have procedures in place to investigate quickly and efficiently to ensure the safety of our guests and to ensure that our guests remain as comfortable as possible throughout the investigation.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Kirsty McGuire
Assistant Hotel Manager
Travelodge Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We had the friendliest and knowledgeable service! The location is perfect. The rooms were also nice and clean. We were very happy with our stay and would stay here again.
The only downside is the lack of free internet.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

I was pleased to read that you found the rooms to be nice and clean and enjoyed the location of the hotel for exploring Sydney.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Kirsty McGuire
Assistant Hotel Manager
Travelodge Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#110 of 182 in Sydney
2,017 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#117 of 182 in Sydney
38 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 182 in Sydney
4,524 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 182 in Sydney
5,040 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#80 of 182 in Sydney
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $94 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing