We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the city at a very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #105 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is very easy to get to and on Wentworth Avenue which is off the main drags so quiet at night. 5 minute walk to the subway, a bit less to the bus stop. Subway is the way to go - great service and for a combo (train, bus, ferry) ticket at $21 / day - cheap as chips. Back to the hotel - only let downs were no wi-fi and worn out card readers in the lift which were particularly annoying. Breakfast deal at $14 was pretty good - fill your boots and last all day till dinner time.
Staff were fine and friendly

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacPackNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found the buffet breakfast to be good value to fill you up to enjoy the day. I am sorry that you had problems with the card reader; I will have maintenance follow this up.
I was also delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,210 - 4,216 of 5,268 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Easy check in completed with no fuss by cheerful front desk staff. We had a small, clean and bright twin room on the 14th floor. The beds were two tiny, single beds, hardly big enough for adults. Put in king singles please! Forget the $19 breakfast . Overpriced, overcooked, bacon and scrambled eggs. Go to the café up the hill on the same street. They advertise $10 for a full breakfast and have way better coffee! As most TA reviewers say, the hotel is an easy walk to all of Sydney’s main attractions. Would probably stay again if they had rooms with bigger beds.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dax11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the room to clean and bright. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast we offer, your comments have been passed onto the team.
I was also delighted to read that you found the team on arrival to be cheerful and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Travelodge Sydney in Oct12 for 6 nights. Location is quite good. Took around 5 mins to walk from Museum train station to hotel. If you want to go Chinatown, it is also within walking distance of about 10mins. Bed was comfortable...not too hard. There is even a pantry in the room which comes with a microwave oven, kettle, cups, plates, forks and spoons. That said, there was ironing board with iron in the room though we did not use that. Room was made up everyday and towels are replaced. Room is relatively big and has a table with 2 chairs for us to put our things.
Check-in and check-out was smooth. Will stay at Travelodge Sydney again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhJie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the facilities that the room has to offer.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoyed staying at Travelodge at Wentworth. They offer affordable comfortable room. The hotel is near the Museum station which can be reached from the airport in around 20 minutes. You can walk to the central station (e.g. for a train trip to the blue mountains) that's a 20 minute walk. A lot of restaurants and convenience stores are within walking distance.

The hotels offers wifi but the ask an enormous amount of money for it, same goes for the breakfast and the internet on the computers in the lobby. For the amount you pay for your room, free wifi should be included.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicadago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel and room to be affordable and comfortable, in a good location to explore Sydney.
Thank you again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a nice hotel that is very well located in the centre of the city only about 30 minutes walk from most of the major attractions and good value for money which allowed me to see one of the most beautiful cities in the world on a budget which i would otherwise not have been able to afford to do. The room was comfortable and kept clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.There are internet kiosks in the lobby that you can pay to use (AUS$1 for 10 mins or AUS$2 for 20 mins) which i made good use of during my stay. I unfortunately have a few minor complaints about this hotel. The check in time was 2pm and not flexible so having arrived at 6am after a 21 hour flight all i wanted to do was go to the nearest bed and sleep it off for a while but instead i had to wander around the city until my room was ready. Again on the first day a maintenance man let himself into my room unannounced while i was having a shower he backed out when he realised i was not decent but then instantly knocked on the door before trying to let himself in again, i was fairly shocked at this. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant at AUS$19 was a little overpriced in my opinion as there was not a lot on offer (this may have been due to the fact that i was late coming down to breakfast that morning). During the time i was there the restaurant was not open for evening service. despite these faults i enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would consider staying there again if i were to ever visit Sydney in the future. As the title of this review says it is comfortable but basic If you don't expect the ritz you won't be disappointed. a good place to stay if you want to see sydney on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinchesterWanderer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be great value for money, in a good location to explore Sydney, with comfortable clean rooms with a friendly and helpful team.
Thank you also for your feedback in regards to the maintenance, please be assured that I will investigate this further.
In regards to our check in time, our guaranteed check in time is 2pm, and the only way we can guarantee an earlier check in time is if you pre-pay for the night before so your room is ready for you when you arrive, however we are more than happy to store bags until the room does become available which can be before 2pm.
In regards to our restaurant, you are correct, we are only open for breakfast; however we do have chargeback facilities with two local restaurants as an option.
Thank you again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Staff were great. Had great information on hand. Helpful. Left luggage at ease. Room was a bit small for there but great value for money. no fan in bathroom was annoying.

Man hole in bathroom was open.

Good stay though. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be great value for money. Thank you also for your feedback in regards to the maintenance items, I have passed your comments onto the maintenance team to investigate.
I was also delighted to read that your found the team to be helpful for directions etc.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The rooms here are clean but fairly small and basic (I had a twin room). They really need to soundproof the rooms better as I could here every conversation as people waited for & got out of the lift as well as every sound for the room next door! Location wise it's not bad - close to Hyde Park and a couple of stations. Within walking distance of the city sights.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Pisces_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel room to be clean and the hotel to be in walking distance to explore the city sights.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,953 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,389 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $106 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing