We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #104 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location near to Museum Station and also to the free bus service that runs down to the main ferry quay. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We had a minor problem which was sorted in the best manner they could.

I would have rated this excellent except that the WIFI was very expensive and to my mind the breakfast (which we did not eat) was too expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am pleased that you found the location to be in a good position and close to public transport.
I was also delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,063)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,034 - 4,040 of 5,063 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Travel lodge went worth was our first stop in Sydney however the last stop was Novotel Hotel darling harbor on our way back from Melbourne.

During the check in time, we were asked to wait till 1:00 p.m. We humbly requested the front desk officer to accommodate us by 12:00 p.m as after long Haul flight (15 hours), we were pretty dead tired. Nevertheless, we were accommodated at 12:00 p.m. But seems that Hotel check in policy (2:00 pm) is quite stringent even if the rooms are available than.

The best part of our stay was the hotel location as we walked all the way to Darling harbor as well as Circular quay with our 5 years old daughter and indeed found it easy to manage:). Also its very close to Museum Station, in case if you plan to take train from Airport to CBD.

We got 3 single beds room which was pretty much sufficient for 3 of us therefore in case if you are family of 3, pls ask the front desk staff to allocate you one of those rooms (without any additional charge). The room which was allocated to us was clean with microwave, cutlery, teapot and fridge in it which was very handy for us to make our own breakfast. We didn`t try hotels breakfast hence can`t comment on it.

In a nutshell, if you want to stay close to all happening places in Sydney at a reasonable rate with a nice room, than Travelodge Sydney should be in your consideration set!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BilalRashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
Our check in time is guaranteed at 2pm, if the room is ready prior to this we are more than happy to check our guests in prior to 2pm, however if the room is not ready, we can store your bags for you until the room is ready. I would always encourage those who are arriving early to book the night prior so your room is guaranteed to be ready as soon as you arrive.
I am pleased that you found the hotel and its location perfect for your family to explore Sydney and close to public transport.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was a great place to stay. We were close to everything in the CBD of Sydney. Our car was safe so we left it and went mostly on foot around the city. The room was clean with a beautiful veiw of the city. The bed was big and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay was a lot of fun and we loved the motel. Oh and the price was fantastic...all in all we will be telling friends about our stay. Thanks for everyhing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank ERIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am pleased that you have found Travelodge Sydney to be in a great location to explore Sydney by foot. I was also delighted to read that your found the team to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Adequate Hotel - generally good value if you can snare a good deal on their website. Tuesday's they have specials regularly. Have stayed here frequently over the past year. Reception staff, hit and miss. There always appears to be someone in "Training" on the front desk when I check in. Rooms are a little on the small size, basic fit out though very well insulated - never heard a neighbour and minimal noise from corridor. Bathroom basic though adequate. Fine for a short stay and somewhere to sleep. Rooms always appear to be clean. Small table in each room with plenty of power outlets which is handy if you have to work.
Hotel always appears full of sporting groups - tracksuits and ugg boots - so beware of the bogans, The breakfast is very ordinary - mass produced buffet with questionable eggs - not sure if they're real. Coffee is disgusting. Walk around the corner to College St or wander down to East Sydney, Darlinghurst cafes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornTraveller_0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your continued support and for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am pleased that you have found Travelodge Sydney to be a clean, good value and the rooms well insulated during your numerous stays with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent two nights here. The room was small but clean and, despite its size, very functional. The breakfast that was included in the rate we signed up for was adequate and, given the high price of everything in Sydney, a good value.

Although we had requersted double beds, all that was avaialble was a room with twins. Fortunately the beds were comfortable so it wasn't any big deal to ot get our original request, We weren't bothered by street noise. It's easy to get to from the airport (two blocks from the Museum station on CityRail). We were abvle to walk to everything we had time to see.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and functional and that your thought breakfast was good value. I was also pleased to read that you thought Travelodge Sydney to be in a good location to explore Sydney.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The first impression - at the check-in counter was the deciding factor - I will not return. We booked a Queen room and were told we had been allocated a room with two single beds - then the counter staff and duty manager proceeded to try to make it our fault. Only persistence led to them finding a double room.

Bad attitude and no concept of service or pleasant manners

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
In regards to your comment about booking a queen but being allocated a twin room, I can only imagine that you have booked on a website where we clearly state that the bedding will be either a queen or a twin and cannot be guaranteed. We do ask you to advise your preferred bedding, and while we try to accommodate all requests, there are some times when it’s just not possible, however I am pleased on this occasion we were able to meet your request.
If you would like to discuss any part of your stay in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rooms need freshening up, mould in the bathroom and no spare pillows. Room was also small and we were put in single beds when we wanted double.
We were not left clean tea towels on the second day. Hotel was close to Museum station and was convenient for tourist attractions

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found Travelodge Sydney to be in a good location to explore Sydney. Please be assured that I have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team in regards to your feedback.
In regards to your comment about being put into a room with single beds and you wanted a double, I can only imagine that you have booked on a website where we clearly state that the bedding will be either a queen or a twin and cannot be guaranteed. However we do ask you to advise your preferred bedding, and while we try to accommodate all requests, there are some times when it’s just not possible.
I am sorry that your stay with us was not the positive experience that we hope all of our guests have, if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,877 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#75 of 178 in Sydney
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,274 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 178 in Sydney
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $114 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing