We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Ranked #73 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Travelodge is in a wonderful location. A hop skip and a jump away from the harbor. We walked to the Sydney opera house. Nice and safe. There is a fridge in the room and lots of restaurants near by. It is close to the train station so really everything you need. It did however smell quite strongly of air freshner which I think was covering the small of dampness. The staff were minimally friendly and helpful. I would stay here again because the location is just so wonderfully central and it is reasonably priced for its location. The lift was not working the morning we left.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Sushila N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Sydney again.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    733
    276
    83
    40
See reviews for
249
514
175
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kowloon
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

unfriendly staff. I made full payment on booking but the hotel staff kept saying they have not charged me. At the end I have to get internet access to my bank account to show them. THEY SHOULD BE THE ONE WHO CHECKED THAT DETAIL.
small , cold room, not enough blanket. not enough hot water

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Patricia Y,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay that you did not enjoy. I have shared your feedback with the Team Member who provided you with sub-standard service and I am confident they have improved their performance after this review. We are always striving to improve our hotel product and our service and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toongabbie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We chose this location because of its proximity for medical appointment.
My wife was immobile due to foot operation, wheelchair access was necessary.
Staff were excellent in helping us.The car parking is offsite, but issues were overcome.Because of the off site parking I could not rate as high.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Micheal C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your feedback. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel provides value for money, clean and comfortable accommodation within a short walk of the CBD. Friendly, helpful staff and a quality buffet breakfast for a good price. Good location, great room and excellent amenities.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Steve H,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Phillip Street for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Room relatively small and price too high compare to other group hotel such as Accor with more facilities. When we arrive we expect welcome greeting and explanation unfortunately none of them we only have unfriendly greeting

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank henryhanafiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear henryhanafiah,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We are always striving to improve our hotel product and our service and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Travelodge on Phillip st is located in a perfect location near martin place and hyde park. The rooms are adequate and very good value however an issue is the inadequate in room heating that is actually an air conditioner mainly used for cooling. Being the middle of winter the room was cold. Reception were able to provide me with a small electric heater to use which did solve the problem.
The number of TV channels provided wasn't excessive and the reception quality was not great. Overall though I had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JJB316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear JJB316

I would like to thank you providing feedback about your recent stay and I was disappointed to hear aspects of your stay that were not up to standard. You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with the team in order to improve guest experience with us. We are always striving to improve our hotel product and our service and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Parramatta
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

It is a good little hotel. Is reasonably quiet, clean and reasonably priced for the heart of the Sydney CBD. Only reason I didn't rate it higher is due to the what I considered lower than expected quality and serving size of my hot breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the breakfast I have addressed your concerns with the NSW Leagues Club who operate the Bistro in order to improve the guest's experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Sydney again.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#95 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Address: 165 Phillip Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place is in the heart of the city’s CBD, close to Hyde Park and many of Sydney’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing