We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant business/leasure trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Arundel
1 review
“A pleasant business/leasure trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Closer to most of the business centers and tourist spots. Staff is friendly and professional.
The rooms were cleaned properly. However, the bathing soap was not refilled and towels were not changes by the cleaning services.
On the TV, the pop ups of adult movies becomes annoying when you have kids in the room!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Devinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    744
    285
    87
    41
See reviews for
255
526
177
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights, room itself was ok but I didn't really like the multipurpose building (there's all sorts of private clubs and bars etc in there as well), and I was rather underwhelmed by the entrance, lift areas and corridors - I was also confused as to why the place couldn't be entered from Elizabeth street even though there's a sign there?

The room itself was ok, it was fairly clean but there was a mark on the sheet that didn't get changed the whole time I was there - I also hate those orange cushions they put on the bed which I am quite sure do not get washed in between guests. There was TV with limited channels but no free internet which really annoys me. There was however an unsecured network in the area which was very temperamental but stable enough to quickly check emails.

The little kitchenette was handy but I had to wash all the utensils before I could use them as they looked a bit grubby.

Location wise it was great for both St James (airport line) and Martin Square stations and you could walk to most CBD locations, also Westfield was just around the corner and Coles was about 10 minutes.

Overall it was an ok experience but I think I'd want to pay a bit more and stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel was ideally located for my colleagues and I to attend our meetings. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The staff were pleasant and helpful. However, being greeted by the air-con set on cool and 17 was not ideal in winter. Would happily stay there again, but probably wouldn't eat there again, as the food was only so-so.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
476 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I looked for a hotel that was in a walking distance to Opera House. There is a microwave oven in each guest room but no bath tub. My room was facing the busy street and was very noisy all night. It was OK only for one night, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, you had better ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

central to everything Martin Place station 1 minute away 2 minutes from top floors. I bought the multi 3 pass exceptional value This is the best location that I have stayed at in Sydney. Coffee shops close by but their cakes, (WELL that's another story) best coffee shops are on the Pyrmont side of Darling Harbour.
the Sydney ferries offer some good value looks at the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed three nights for a weekend in Sydney. The staff were helpful, the room comfortable - kitchenette was good. Easy to walk to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay as well as being on the direct train line from airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 613alexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very friendly staff who were helpful with everything we needed. Room had a very comfortable bed and a decent sized bathroom. Hotel is situated above the nsw leagues club so a trip down the elevator will get you to a drink and a decent feed. Nice and close to the inner city I would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Address: 165 Phillip Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place is in the heart of the city’s CBD, close to Hyde Park and many of Sydney’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing