We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Ranked #73 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Reception was rude on check in. Lady had no idea what she was doing.

Airconditioning did not work and despite 2 complaints to management it was never fixed.
The room had no fans or windows and was stuffy and very hot - 3 nights of no sleep - not happy.
Despite 3rd complaint on check out - nothing was done - will never use travelodge again...

Room Tip: don't risk it...trapped with no air or airconditioning - not worth the risk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Lee M,

I would like to thank you providing feedback about your recent stay and I was disappointed to hear aspects of your stay that were not up to standard. You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with the team in order to improve guest experience with us. If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    733
    276
    83
    40
See reviews for
249
514
175
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great Base to visit, relax and recover from jet lag for a few days whilst in Sydney
In the middle of sydney a few blocks away from coles supermarket and restaurants.
Room and bathroom clean .
Kitchenette area - fridge, kettle and microwave (if not eating out good space to prepare a meal )
Ice and laundry facilities at the end of corridor.
Only downside room looked directly across at a busy office floor.
Other than that brill would stay again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Dolce s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Sydney again.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff was great! Very helpful with info on the sights and quick to address problems.
The bathroom was dirty (black hairs on our towels, floor tiles in the bathroom were sticky and grungy).
The location is ok, not for anyone that has mobility problems. Sydney is a hilly place and its about a 15 minute walk to the Rocks. A number of stairs from the sidewalk to the lobby, a struggle with heavy luggage.
Free wifi in the lobby cafe, mini fridge in the room, kettle, sink and a few dishes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Aussie1fan,

I would like to thank you providing feedback about your recent stay and I was disappointed to hear aspects of your stay that were not up to standard. You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with the housekeeping team in order to improve the guest's experience with us.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia based on value and location. We were very pleased with the proximity to Martin Place and public transit. We first checked in to room 803 after waiting 1.5 hours in the lobby - apparently there was a linen shortage and staff couldn't turn rooms fast enough. Anyway, the room was fine except the a/c was not cooling well. The manager, Frances, was delightful and attempted to have it repaired (kudos to him!) and when this didn't satisfy us, we were transferred to another room which was much better! It was nice to have the kitchenette with sink, refrigerator and microwave. We made good use of it. Ice machine is 6th floor and they don't provide ice buckets. All in all, I would say it was a good value for the cost conscious traveller.

Room Tip: I think the rooms that face the atrium may have better cooling. These rooms (at least ours 711) had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hyattsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear hyattsydney,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Phillip Street. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry the air-conditioning in your first room was faulty and I apologise if the caused you any discomfort. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Room air conditioning was beyond poor, swelting for nights in the heat, along with a clicking noise constantly. Cleanliness of the rooms was great, yet when I rehung my towels to help reduce wash and therefore environmental impact, they were taken and washed every time anyway? when claiming to want to aid with reduction of chemical use. I got stuck in the elevator twice, having no one come to my aid, or even feel something was wrong. The floors would just go up and down consistently without opening on any floors, it was like a horror movie. When I finally got out, after quite sometime, the hotel staff did not apologize nor seem even bothered that their lift was faulting, nor care the distress I was in from being in a hot confined space for quite a period of time

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Emmie D,

I would like to thank you providing feedback about your recent stay and I was disappointed to hear aspects of your stay that were not up to standard. You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with my team in order to improve the guest's experience with us. If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

myself and two friends booked in here. room looked great. the unrelenting banging doors of the other units and loud talking all night long was terrible. All unit doors have strong closing mechanisms , and we had groups of girls banging doors from 6.00pm to 5.00am in the morning. we did complain to front desk and the noise stopped for a while then the door slamming started again. the next day the staff just said-- we should of complained earlier. I wouldn't recommend staying there if you want to sleep. and i wouldn't think you would get any money back if you complain.

Room Tip: none of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear steve t,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback and I am sorry you got a disruptive night of sleep during your stay. I am disappointed that the customer service that you experienced was not up to expectation. I can assure you that this is not a Travelodge standard and I have reviewed this with the front desk team in order to improve service standards.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sydney is a fantastic place to visit but probably the most expensive city I have ever been to. It’s very difficult to find accommodation for acceptable prices it the city center as most budget hotels are located in the outskirts or near the beaches. Given its location in Central Business District, the Travelodge Sydney Phillip Street was great value for money. I paid about 180 Au$ per night what makes this hotel probably the cheapest in the immediate area.
I stayed for 4 nights in autumn 2012 as a solo traveller on a round trip to Australia. As mentioned above, location is the hotel’s biggest advantage: in a central but quiet street near many places of interest. It’s a short and pleasant walk of about 10 min. to the Botanic Garden, St. Mary’s cathedral and Sydney tower. The opera house, Harbour Bridge and Darling Harbour are all about 20 min. away. Furthermore, there is an underground train station near the hotel (Martin Place) with direct access to the airport.
Rooms are rather small but equipped with everything necessary (TV, safe, ironing board, kitchenette, basic toiletries). The room itself including the beathroom were quite clean but unfortunately not the window and window board. This was, however, a minor issue. My bed was big enough and comfortable.
Continental breakfast was available for 16$ in the small restaurant behind the reception. Everything was fresh and tasteful but given that there was nearly no choice, the price seemed too high.
In- room internet costed about 20$ per day but there were public computer terminals available at several floors (also payment needed).
Considering the superb location and price, I would definitely stay again at the Travelodge Phillip Street. In fact, it’s not a hotel to rave about but the advantages really make up for the disadvantages. That's why I even rated it 4- stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAW-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear FrequentTraveller22,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, the team at Travelodge Phillip Street are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#95 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Address: 165 Phillip Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place is in the heart of the city’s CBD, close to Hyde Park and many of Sydney’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing