We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury - 5 star”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed here after a weekend of partying for 2 days. Close to the nightlife and shopping. Really luxury for service, facilities, location evrything!! Go for it if you can afford it

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessandNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,815 - 2,821 of 3,290 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

Once again we had a relaxing stay at the Westin. Very tasty dinner in Mosaic and a first class breakfast next morning. Our room on the 18th floor was bright and airy. Everything was great BUT........this time we took our car. I understand this hotel is at the expensive end of the scale BUT $49 for overnight parking is an out and out ripoff!! Valet or not!! I thought $35 overnight at some other hotels was a bit steep but $49 is below the belt.
Shame really cause we like this hotel for all the good points, but at checkout it sours the experience! (for our US friends this is about $40 USD)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyGAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were greeted by the smart doorman to the beautiful concierge - and what would you expect when you enter an old post office? Not bars and restaurants - but the Westin is a metropolis of shops, bars and lounges. The bellboy took our luggage to our room which was incredible. One night of our stay we went to see Wicked, so it shows the hotel is in a great place. Would love to stay again, didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

We had a deluxe tower king room and it was absolutely stunning. As other people have said, there is a glass window between the bathroom and the bedroom which is very cool. The shower also has a rainwater head which is great and the heavenly beds are soooo comfortable.

The location is unreal. The mall is the next block up and Circulay Quay, Chinatown and Darling Harbour are all within about a 10-15 minute walk (depeding on if you have high heels on :)

My only complaint, and it is relatively small, is that we had gone to have breakfast so turned the do not disturb on, when we returned housekeeping were in our room. Another time we came back at 5.30pm and housekeeping were only just cleaning our room... Still a very small glitch on an otherwise perfect stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank min16h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a few days in Sydney at the Westin. It was a beautiful experience with luxury in every corner. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were made to feel special. Nothing was too much trouble for them. It is central to everything in the city which made it easy for us to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56janelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We have stayed 3 nights at Westin Sydney, the location is good, room is clean and comfort. We booked through Expedia.ca, the rate in June (their winter time) is not bad, however, everything else is expensive, a buffet breakfast costs $40/pp, a local call from our room cost $4.35/min !
The biggest disappointment came after I got my credit card statement.
The hotel billed me in Australian dollar as check out, but without asking, it converted and charged me (in Canadian dollar) with a much higher exchange rate( how high? my credit card charges 2% fee on the top of currency conversion, even that, the hotel's conversion made me paid 5% more than just converted it by credit card).
It just ruined my experience staying with the hotel and for sure it was not a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y10998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed for five nights in a tower deluxe room and found it to be a relaxing experience. The rooms are modern, stylish; the large glass panel between the bedroom and bathroom gives the illusion of more space and provides natural light to the entire area. It was disappointing to be deprived of digital TV stations,: only the main free-to-air stations, a BBC news channel, American cable dross and endless sport was available. Any guest with an interest in Australian politics who wants the informative breakfast programme on ABC2, would be disappointed. The Westin TVs are flatscreen so there's no excuse for the lack of digital channels. This is the same at a few other upmarket Sydney hotels - why?

The reception staff were particularly helpful and patient in finding a room in a quiet location and the 'heavenly' bed lived up to its reputation.

Breakfast in the open Mosaic Restaurant beneath the high glass atrium was above average: a good buffet selection attended by efficient staff and regular topping-up of coffee. I was surprised to see thongs on several occasions - this is inappropriate footwear for a predominantly business hotel where the clientele tend to be more formally dressed. It's about time guests at 5 star hotels in a CBD location realise they are not staying at an island beach resort . The Westin is not alone in this, thongs regularly appear in the best Australian hotel dining rooms. Maitre d's should enforce a better dress code if they wish to be seriously regarded as 5 star.

Overall a very good experience in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMuckQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4,598 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
2,042 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $158 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing