We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high quality hotel, ruined by terrible customer service.”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A high quality hotel, ruined by terrible customer service.”
Reviewed October 9, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days to kick off a long holiday in Australia.

Despite the hotel being informed directly with our arrival date and time, it would have been nice of them to inform us that the Sydney marathon was running when we expected to arrive and effectively cut-off the hotel from the rest of the city. We were forced, after being abandoned by the taxi driver, to run through/across the runners in the marathon dragging our luggage behind us then walk 8 or so blocks to the hotel. Not fun after a 24hr flight. The bell boy at the hotel seemed to find this very funny. A top class hotel would have informed us of the problem beforehand and arranged some help - at least a bell-hop or taxi/shuttle on the 'inside' of the marathon to help with luggage.

This terrible start was a real shame as the physical building itself is fantastic, the lobby great, the room was excellent and the bathroom very well appointed. If it wasn't for the marathon debacle and the laughing bell-boy this hotel would have got 4 stars.

A short walk from the hotel to circular key (rocks, bridge, opera house) or Darling Harbour (loads of resturants and bars). Of course you are in the CBD which is quiet on weekends but buzzy during the week with lots of shops etc.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The bell-boy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    945
    270
    115
    90
See reviews for
504
1,110
235
911
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

I have spent more than 100 room nights in various Sydney hotels over the past 3 years, with the bulk of them at the Westin. I have also stayed at the Four Seasons, Shangri-La and Hilton.

WESTIN:

Pros - large rooms, bathrooms with character and space, comfortable beds, central location for business and shopping, rarely crowded lobby, SPG points (my main motivation!)

Cons - lax service (1 out of 2 room service orders are bungled up despite specific reminders), no recognition even if you stay 30 nights a year, room service menu limited and unchanged in 3 years, food in room and in the Mosaic restaurant is very poor quality for what you pay, in-room toiletry is standard issue Westin (poor), management is not very interested in feedback

FOUR SEASONS:

Pros - excellent service, food is generally high standard and very accomodating, great location, great toiletry, fantastic views (if you get the right room), overall friction-free experience, and a hint of romance

Cons - rooms are small and standard-issue except for the views(definitely not FS standards)

HILTON:

Pros - HHonors points, location is good for shopping

Cons - incredibly small bathrooms (even after a room upgrade as a Diamond member), views into other office buildings from room window, crowded lobby

SHANG:

Pros - views (opera house facing rooms only - "harbour view" rooms face the bridge expressway!), rooms are decent size, good bar (Altitude)

Cons - location is a bit out of the way, food is not very good (room service advised me that some of their room service food was made in bulk elsewhere and trucked in, so cannot be altered!), service generally laid back and lax, a very ordinary hotel and a world away from the usual Shangri-La standards

In sum, I think the Westin is acceptable for a short business visit, but you pay too much for merely a competent room and good location. For frequent stayers, service levels at the Westin become an annoyance. The Four Seasons has the edge over all others due to location and service. It is now my pick. If only they had better furnished rooms and a frequent stayer program!

Overall, the quality of Sydney hotels is a couple of notches below major Asian or US city hotels. It is really a sea of mediocrity at European big city prices.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Critical_eye1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

The Westin Sydney provided a brilliant end to a beautiful day and a fantastic start to our honeymoon. On 19 August we arrived straight from our wedding reception into the opulence of Westin Sydney. We were checked in immediately and within minutes in our room overlooking Martin Place. The room was immaculate and had every convenience we were hoping for. From the massive bath tub, Heavenly Bed and Heavenly shower to the minimalism of the room we loved it. Being our wedding night the room had a bottle of Sparkling Wine and a sweet honeymoon dessert waiting for us. The staff were always available to our every whim. Anybody wanting a beautiful 5 star hotel in the centre of Sydney should stay at the Westin Sydney. The view is only of the centre of Sydney’s cityscape but that didn’t bother us as the windows were the cleanest I have seen in a hotel, both inside and out and made us feel entirely at home in our own city.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkybedStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Stayed for 4 nights in January 2006. Expensive but wonderful facilities, service and location. With so many modern hotels in Sydney CBD it was also wonderful to stay in an old building with real character.

Helpful?
Thank BeachBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Just stayed for one night, so didn't get to experience a whole lot of the Westin and can't say a whole lot about it.
We actually chose to stay in the heritage (rather than tower) section of the hotel, which is older, and the hallways almost had a dormitory feel to them, so would probably go for a tower room if we happened to stay again (unlikely though! mainly due to lack of an intimate feel to the hotel, which we prefer, so would probably choose a hyatt or sheraton next time).
The heritage superior king room was quite spacious, HUGE ceilings which were a lovely unique feature, a lot of closet space, modern bathrooms and all the comforts you need.
On the down side, our room was on a low level so being a Saturday night it was extremely noisy on the street until all hours.
Breakfast was amazing, it was part of our package (where we also got champage and chocolates - a great deal off wotif!).
Overall, very efficient, very clean and modern, but in our opinion probably more suited to business travellers or couples who don't mind large scale hotels.

  • Liked — Breakfast, comfortable room, location
  • Disliked — Noise from the street, lack of intimacy in public areas (lobby, restaurants etc)
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room on a higher level, be prepared to pay - for valet, for internet, for everything 'extra'
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Melb_is_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

Westin Sydney is a wonderful hotel in a perfect location. Upon our early arrival the front desk staff was very kind and understanding of our 15 hour flight from the US. We were given a room immediatley. The room was spacious and modern. There was a floor to ceiling window with an amazing view. We were lucky enough to have a room on the 27th floor. The bathroom was also perfect. The rain shower was my personal favorite. The concierge was also very helpful. We had many great dinners in Sydney thanks to his knowledge and expertise. We only ate breakfast at the hotel. A bit pricy but good. The Westin will always be our hotel of choice when traveling to Sydney. Thank you for enhancing an already amazing experience.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing, I loved everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Higher floor is a must
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

We stayed at the Westin for the first 4 nights of our Sydney Trip. We are platinum SPG members and were treated like loyalty. Got an upgrade to a corner suite. We also stayed using corporate rate, so we had a great deal. Here are the pros and cons.

PROS:
a. Very clean and modern hotel. Supervisor checks the room after maid/cleaning service has done its job and make sure its up to Westin's standards.
b. Plenty of closet space to hang clothes and lots drawers, if you are here for extended stay.
c. Close to popular shopping areas
d. Staffs are young, but very friendly.
e. Parking is expensive but very easy. Valet service is flawless and always on top of their service.
f. Hotel is secure & safe. Elevator access by key card only.
g. Recognizes SPG Gold and Platinum members.
h. Club lounge has plenty of seats, space, and great service.
i. Taxi service is always available.
j. Bed was always made, bathroom cleaned well, extra towels always provided.
k. Great floor to window view!

CONS:
a. Far away from popular restaurants and dining options (such as the wharf and the harbour). Walkiing distance about 1.5 to 2 miles.
b. Very business like hotel, does not feel cozy or resort like. This is definitely a business hotel.
c. The staff are very young (mostly under 30), may not be able to recommend or fulfill requests or questions more geared towards older clients.
d. Internet acess very expensive... I think about 20USD per day.
e. Club lounge has good breakfast, but lacks hot food (eggs, pancakes, bacon, etc).
f. Dining options are expensive and very limited within the hotel.
g. Most stores and restaurants around the neighborhood close down around 7pm, very little night life.

Overrall: I think this is a great BUSINESS hotel, it is not very romantic or family oriented. If you are travelling to SYD for pleasure, stay somewhere else. But the service was great, staff friendly, and prices are good.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,656 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing