We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Heavenly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

This really is a gorgeous place to stay - top notch professional staff willing and able; divine bathrooms, thoughtful layout and furniture to make you feel like you are at home and in comfort. It's great when a hotel room makes you feel so relaxed and you don't want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    917
    262
    109
    88
See reviews for
483
1,071
231
880
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed in the Westin for a night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and could not have asked for anything better. Checking in was fuss-free and very welcoming - I liked it how the lady at the desk took the effort to come over to our side of the desk to hand over the keys and point out where the lifts were. More importantly she did so with genuine warmth and smiles, something I find to be lacking in many five star hotels today (which can often be polite but cold and sterile). I had put in a request for a high floor but did not expect to get it, considering how we had an extremely good deal ($225 including breakfast) from the website, but once again we were astounded to find ourselves on the 21st floor with a fantastic view of the clocktower right in front of our window. The decor was very impressive and modern, and the Bose speakers a very nice touch. The room was quite a bit smaller than at the Sheraton on the Park, but it was done up so nicely that it didn't really matter after all. We had a massage at Endota spa which was just average (but technically not part of the Westin) - next time I will perhaps consider having one of those in-room massages advertised on their website instead. The next morning, we were also very pleasantly surprised with a congratulatory note, followed by a bottle of champers and a plate of beautiful pastries. Buffet breakkie was fantastic with a generous range of hot dishes, fresh fruits, and some very interesting juice shots. I will definitely be back again and will consider staying at other Westin hotels interstate/internationally when travelling.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

All the previous reviews are spot on. This is a fantastic hotel and highly recommend it to anyone needing to stay in Sydney. On a whim, we canceled our reservations at the Swissotel due to a few recent lackluster reviews.....and we were thrilled we had!

Our deluxe tower room was spacious and the bathroom one of the best we've ever enjoyed. The GPO restaurants on the lower ground level was convenient and a really viable option. We ate at the seafood restaurant below and at Intermezzo on the main floor.

The hotel is also a 3 minute walk to the Martin Place train stop, which will get you to Darlinghurst (Kings Cross) in one stop and to Bondi Beach in 3 stops (12 minutes total).

We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bayareatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

We spent 3 lovely nights and days at the Westin last weekend. We booked a package that included breakfast for $260 per night. On arrival, we were upgraded to a lovely room with a view on the 24th floor of the Tower Wing. From the moment we arrived until we left, the service was impeccable.

The Westin in Martin Place is in a great position, handy for walking to Circular Quay, the Rocks, Opera House, Botanical Gardens etc. The other way it is close to the shops, Hyde Park and Darling Harbour.

There are restaurants on the lower ground floor which are separate to the hotel. We had a lovely meal at the Spanish restaurant - Postales - on Saturday night. On Sunday night we had an excellent meal at the hotel's Mosaic Cafe. On Monday we caught the ferry to Watson's Bay and had lunch at Doyles, something we do every time we visit Sydney.

The breakfast was superb. Lovely fresh fruits and berries, juices, cereals, loads of hot dishes plus eggs cooked to order, salmon, cheeses and the crustiest of sour dough breads which you can cut to order, pastries and a coffee machine that makes quite a good cappuccino or latte as well as the normal coffee and tea.

The bed was just so comfortable and the pillows were great. It was extremely hard to wake up each morning. The bath also is a good size and just the right shape.

All in all it was a wonderful 3 day break which we enjoyed immensely and we will return again to this lovely hotel.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

You really can't fault the Westin Hotel in Sydney. It is the 3rd time I have visited and the staff are exceptional, the hotel is spotless, the food is delicious and the location is superb.

Parking at AUD49 a night seems a bit pricey but suppose that is the price you pay for the middle of the city.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights over New Year. It was expensive (but so is everywhere at New Year in Sydney) but we got a decent deal on Expedia. The room was good, great bed and decent bathroom, overlooking the clock and the Xmas tree.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Internet access is an additional cost in the room but free WiFi is available in the lobby.

We can recommend spending New Years Eve on a boat. We were on the James Craig - we had a fabulous time and wonderful view of the fireworks.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
408 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

I recently stayed at the Westin Sydney with my partner, over New Years Eve 2009, and we enjoyed every minute of it.
As a SPG Platinum guest I received an email shortly before the stay apologizing that they would not be able to upgrade me this time due to high demand over New Years Eve, but that I would receive all other amenities as usual - understandably and fair.

The Tower room was nice, clean and spacious. Very nice touch to have a large glass-wall between the bathroom and the bedroom with a view. We have seen one of the suites and I am happy we did not get upgraded, the rooms are so much nicer.

The executive lounge was very nice, though constantly overrun during this busy time (it was just too small to deal with the amount of people that stayed at the hotel this time of year). The staff was wonderful, very attentive and remembered what we drank after the first day. Every day they served some delicious little appetizers and offered a cheese buffet in the evening and a complete breakfast in the morning.

We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and very much enjoyed the food, especially the fish dishes. The service could have been a bit more attentive, but overall it was a nice experience.

The gym is not your typical hotel gym as it is run by an outside company and accessible for hotel guests. It comes fully equipped with all the machines one needs and a lap pool - great!

Overall, we enjoyed our five nights at the Westin and would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFLeonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing