We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, overpriced ammenities”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #35 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2006

The Sydney Westin is a beautiful hotel in a price CBD location. However, they overcharge for just about everything you touch. The most egregious example of this is the gym --- there isn't one. If you wish to use the 'health club' (which is barely larger than a typical hotel gym) you get charged $20 PER VISIT. In addition, upon checking in (despite being a Starwood Preferred Gold member) I was given a 4th floor room with a view of a wall. Remember, this is a $295/night hotel.

Some other charges you should know about...
Call from hotel phone to local landline: $1/minute
Call from hotel phone to local cell phone: $4/minute!!!
Bottled Water: $6
Internet Access/day: $24.95

This is a nice hotel, no doubt about it. However watch out for being nickle and dimed to death if you aren't on an expense account (and even then your manager may have a few words with you).

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank QantasFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,151 - 3,157 of 3,363 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2006

There's no point staying at the shangir-la or four seasons in Sydney -- those institutions simply don't reach the profund levels of service they do at their flagship locations in Asia, Europe, etc. It's a waste of your money.

The location of the Westin is perfect - it's where locals (not tourists) would think is the coolest location in town (as opposed to being "near the opera house" a couple blocks away -- which is corny.)

You're steps from the good shopping, eg. famous local jewellers J. Farren Price, as well as the usual Chanel, etc etc. You'll enjoy the hustle and bustle of "city" Sydney. and the parks, etc.

The Westin is in possibly the most beautiful old colonial bldg in Sydney - the old post office.

Be SURE to get a suite in the "old" section of the building - ask them clearly.

There are no particular views - if you want Harbour Views, go for one of the hotels on the harbour (i.e., a few blocks away).

Run over to woollahra to Bistro Moncur for dinner, or what about inner-city cool Longrain (ask the concierge) or go to Iceberg's (overlooking Bondi beach) and time your dinner with the sunset. For "village" strolling/shopping, go to Double Bay or woollahra, in both cases a few minutes ($A10) in a taxi.

The staff are all perfectly friendly and OK, like any hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2006

We stayed here last week for four nights. Very comfortable stylish hotel with superb beds and fabulous staff. Breakfasts were great in the Club Lounge. We had Executive King roms in the tower block and thought they were good. Wouldn't have wanted a much smaller room. Hotel is in a great location. Can't commend the staff highly enough - all helpful, relaxed and professional.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bridey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2006

As a tourist location, it is good. If you are looking for something closer to the opera house and ferries, try the sydney harbour marriott.

Westin had good service, helpful staff with tourist question (very knowledge) and nice rooms. will not go wrong. Seems to be more business clients. Fun times.

Stayed: March 2006
5  Thank dc_chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2006

An impressive, modern hotel, carved out of (or in to) the Victorian General Post Office building. Check-in was efficient and no-nonsense. Room on 25th floor of the new tower was modern, clean, spacious, with a particularly bright and modern bathroom, one wall of which is entirely glass, allowing you to sit in the tub, look into the bedroom area and TV, or straight through to the buildings outside (yes, there are blinds that separate off the bathroom if you wish!). Separate, and large, walk-in shower. Small irritation – found in so many similar hotels – of tea and coffee tray stored away at almost floor-level, no nearby socket for kettle, and having set everything up on the first day, the room attendants then go and pack it all away each time, so you have to start again! Very comfortable “Heavenly” bed (the Starwood trade-mark offering) and good central lighting control (for once, the master switch really does seem to turn off all, not just most, of the lights). At the end of my stay I had my computer bag stolen in a bar on The Rocks, containing lap-top, wallet, mobile phone, etc (luckily passport, keys, etc, were in the room safe). The two young-ish duty managers handled the situation reasonably well, although one seemed more concerned about how I was going to settle my bill there and then (my Amex card had been taken) than actually helping with my own problems (eg took a lot of negotiation to get them to agree to make any cash advance at all and add it to my bill)! In the end they got an Amex authorisation by phone and provided me with a free taxi-voucher back to the airport, free calls to my company head office in New York, and had also offered to provide lunch – overall good service, after just a tiny bit of encouragement.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gemakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2006

I stayed at the Westin Sydney on a business trip, but also had a bit of time for sightseeing. My room was in the Heritage section, facing the inner courtyard, so the view was nothing to look at but it was absolutely quiet. Although this is the old section of the hotel, it has been beautifully redone and the rooms are immaculate, with modern furnishings and spacious new bathrooms (no picture window from the bath, however). The Heavenly Bed is wonderful, and there was an actual walk-in closet with tons of space and an iron & board included.

I arrived about 9 am on a weekday, and my room was not yet ready, slightly disappointing, but it only took about an hour and they provided the opportunity to freshen up in the health club while I waited. They were great about late checkout on the other end. The hotel is reasonably close to Circular Quay, although it's several minutes' walk. A couple blocks in the other direction is the Queen Victoria Building, and from there it's just a few blocks to Darling Harbour. Starbucks is just across the courtyard, and it's a short walk (about one long block) to the train station, making airport connections quite easy.

I didn't spend much time at the hotel, but would definitely consider it on a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2006

We stayed at the Westin for Christmas and would thoroughly recommend the hotel to others. The service level was excellent - in fact the front desk staff could not do enough to help us. Our flight arrived at 0630 so we did not expect to be able to check-in until at least midday. However, we were allocated rooms immediately and in fact were upgraded so that this could happen.

The room was a good size, not huge but there was plenty of room and tons of storage. The decor was unusual for a international hotel in that it was fresh, modern and bright. The 'Heavenly Bed' was very comfortable and the floor to ceiling windows provided a fantastic view of Martin Place.

The bathroom was another novelty, with glass shelves and modern cermaic basins and best of all, a glass wall between it and the bedroom. You could sit in the bath and watch TV through the glass - perfect! The shower was another big plus point. It was a separate cubicle with a rain shower head so you really did get a good soaking.

When deciding on hotel rooms in Sydney you invariably have to decide between harbour view rooms or rooms that provide good value. I have stayed at the Four Seasons in a Grand Harbour View room and it was spectacular. The room however was very small in comaparison to the Westin - and at least £80 per night more expensive! I would recommend the Westin for value and style and spend the savings you make on a nice meal down by the harbour!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GDP747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 181 in Sydney
4,703 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,146 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $174 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing