We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,574)
Filter reviews
3,574 results
Traveler rating
1,984
1,050
308
125
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,984
1,050
308
125
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartin placeclock towerheavenly bedheritage roommosaic restaurantold post officegpo buildingtower roomsrain showerspg membercircular quayhealth clubbusiness hotelbeautiful hotelthe executive loungeroom servicestar hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,234 - 3,239 of 3,574 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2009

This was a wonderful "naughty" weekend.....with 3 kids!! With adjoining rooms, we had the privacy, the kids loved the independence, and the way the adjoining worked was very clever and convenient. The hotel arranged a great bottle of champagne, dessert, and delicate chocolate decoratons to say happy anniversary which was a great touch.

The rooms were very spacious, fresh, and with a fantastic bathroom which had a huge bath (I am 6ft 2in and could hardly touch the end!!) with a glass wall so I could watch tv from the tub.

Breakfast at Mosaics was very good. All you could want, plus some more! In fact there was so many nice things that I just could'nt fit in everything I would have liked to have!

Positioning is unbeatable, being in the heart of the city and perfectly positioned for leisure, shopping, business or conferencing.

Service was good but not excelent. It took until after 3pm to get the key to the second room, no kids packs were presented at check in as promised in the hotel promotional material and the fine 5 star attentiveness was not quite there. Don't get me wrong. It was efficient, but not exceptional.

Other than these little glitches though, it was a fine, relaxing and indulgent weekend. I would certainly recommend this hotel to any discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Have been staying at this hotel at least 3 times a year for the last 5 years and have to say it feels a bit like coming home. We always stay in the executive club and as such are totally pampered and always welcomed back by the team. The staff in the club have watched our kids grow up and have always spoilt us. We have had Christmas with Family here, celebrated birthdays and anniversaries and the staff have always gone out of their way to make these times both memorable and enjoyable. Since joining tripadvisor I seem to only feel compelled to write a review if the service is to rave about or we have had a bad experience. This rave review is long overdue!

The club in the last year or so have changed the rules on kids in the club for evening drink time. This is understandable as I guess they want to ensure all guests have a quiet and relaxing time. The staff went out of it's way to ensure we could still enjoy drinks/canapes in our suite and the butler delivered a trolley each night. This is the type of service that keeps us returning. The club also serves Breakfast and coffee/tea and softdrinks all day long. Good after a shopping spree in the Pitt Street Mall.

The rooms are lovely and spacious. The hotel is smoke free. The kids are welcomed. We usually have a two bedroom suite which means we can entertain friends and family and the kids have their own space to play or watch television. The beds are heavenly as they advertise the bath is large for those bubble baths and the whole place feels luxurious and comfortable.

Looking for the best Sydney hotel The Westin is it...

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed in the Westin for one night in April. The location of the hotel can't be beaten, but it is a bit hard to find the entrance to the hotel as the web site says the entrance is on another street. The rooms were large and well equiped and the bathroom is one of the largest we have seen for a while. We didn't eat in the hotel, as we chose to eat from one of the many cafes that are in the surrounding streets.

There are only two downsides - 1. parking if you park your car yourself be ready for a long windy walk but up to the hotel lobby.
2. Make sure you allow plenty of time when you return to the hotel if you have left your luggage with them. The majority of the luggage is stored in the foyer next to the concierge desk and it is not only not secure but looks ugly when you enter the hotel. We left our bag and headed out for the day when we returned it took them 30mins to find our bag as someone had taken it up the the room that we just checked out of!

Next time I'll stay at the raddisson. Its the same price but a much better hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-A-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night, so our fellow guests tended to be of a more leisurely nature, rather than the norm (this hotel is primarily a business hotel). It oozes business everywhere, from the relatively moderate sized rooms (built for 1 in comfort), high prices to charge to the corporate card ($AUD42 for breakfast), smack-bang in the middle of the CBD location and the incredibly large selection of alcohol (hotel sized of course) awaiting in each room ala mini bar (again with prices reserved for the corporate card – if corporates still allow it these days).

Not to say the room is small, but for the price you would expect something a little bigger. It is just enough room for 1 standard king sized bed, desk, single arm chair, ample storage space and bathroom – without bumping into someone if it’s a room for 2. Of course the LCD/Plasma screen on the wall helps reduce clutter as well, don’t even think about a rollaway bed or 2 queen sized beds. The room features Westin Heavenly Bed, a cabinet just filled with mini-bar stocks, a great Bose alarm clock where you can connect your iPod, floor to ceiling windows, and enough lights to create whatever mood you need.

Bathroom size is much better though. It is larger than standard, and glass (or laminated coloured glass) seems to be the theme. Shower includes both rainfall and hand-held shower outlets, a bathtub which is barely big enough for 2, full length mirror and magnifying mirror with light. A neat feature is the wall between the bedroom and bathroom is a glass wall (the bathroom has an electric blind to block the view if need be). But I was impressed that I could watch the TV (and the remote worked!) while in the bathtub, while there is plenty of shelving space within reach above your head to store tissues, iPod, and even a cup of tea so you don’t even have to get up!

TV has cable channels, as well as pay movies (standard hotel stuff) and DVD player but no connectivity to a laptop (like some of the newer hotels these days) which is a shame since all of the features and furnishings of this hotel seem to be first class. Noise seemed to travel quite a bit (our room being first near the lifts), however we didn’t really notice it that much as there are only a hand full of rooms on 1 floor, so traffic is minimal.
Service was great – at 10pm we called housekeeping to come and make the bed (turndown the room), they were there within 2 minutes of the call on our way out. Very efficient and friendly!

Wish I could say the same about service in the restaurant. Only had breakfast here as it was included in our rate. Normally it would cost a crazy $AUD42! I’ve had cheaper breakfasts with much more choice in other Starwood hotels in Asia and they’ve never been anywhere near $AUD42. The design is long and quite narrow, so it doesn’t give a very spacious feel. It seemed ever-crowded, even though you couldn’t see most of the other guests. I have to say though, most hotels do not have a clue how to cook hash browns. These were the best I’ve had! Just the right amount of salt and the lack of excessive oil meant I could actually taste the potato, at the right temperature. They also have some interesting energy shots (I tried something with beetroot and it was surprisingly not terrible). They also had smoothies like mango flavoured, in addition to just the normal juice. Other items included lots of breads, pastries, 4 variations of cooked egg, cereals, miso soup, smoked salmon and waffles.

The Westin is at 1 Martin Place – a historical building dating back to the 1800’s. Martin Place is almost the focal point of Sydney’s CBD. At one end is the State Parliament, library and Macquarie Street (all of the courts seem to be here), all along Martin Place are corporate offices with some higher-end fashion stores. Toward one end is Pitt Street Mall, THE shopping mall in Sydney for anything you could want. There is a Coles Supermarket on the same block. Martin Place train station is 50 metres away. 5 to 10 minutes walk away is practically any CBD office building in Sydney, as well as Circular Quay in the northern direction; home to the Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge, and China town and the George Street cinemas in the Southern direction. George street itself has plenty of buses toward the South of the city. It is literally one of the best located hotels in this city.

With location and 5 star luxury, it is no wonder this hotel is constantly at the upper end in terms of rates, particularly week days due to high demand of business clients. Although given the current economic conditions, Starwood is releasing continuously lower rates either by payment or through SPG. Only issue really is that it is not a Harbour view hotel – and given its central location, what else could one expect apart from a view of other buildings? But overall, definitely one of the better hotels in Sydney – give it a go next time!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pungpui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Just a quick review here to say we stayed at the Westin when in Sydney for a wedding in January. We stayed in a spa room in the tower and we loved it!
The room was small but well clean and laid out with a gorgeous bathroom and bath that looked out onto the room.

The bed was heavenly and the view was great we looked down at the clock tower and across to the lower north shore.

The service was great, although were shocked at the room service surcharge of $18!

The deal included buffet breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed and the location is second to none. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews