We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Amenities”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location and Amenities”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

LOVED this hotel, the location was great and walkable to Sydney Harbour and everything else we wanted to see. Public transportation is also close by as well as a good little grocery store. The restaurants in the lower floor are tasty and good for grabbing a quick bite before going about your day.

Since we had status, we also had access to the upstairs lounge where drinks and snacks were served all day. It was a wonderful break and became our home away from home during our stay.

Can't say enough good things about this property!

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to have nicer rooms since they are for Starwood Preferred guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear pinkfedora

We are pleased to read The Westin Sydney has become your home away from home following an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    955
    273
    116
    90
See reviews for
513
1,115
236
917
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our family of 3 adults and 2 children took the airport train and got to 1 Martin Place, a beautiful historic building, and saw no sign of the hotel. Literally, the hotel had no signage on that side, we had to ask and still coming in from the 1 Martin Place entrance you needed to walk a bit before spotting the reception. This is the official address on their website but the most practical entrance to the reception is from 3 Pitt St, which is not a problem if you are traveling by taxi but confusing if you are on foot. Check in was quick, we stayed in the tower facing George Street and the rooms were fabulous. Modern decor, quiet rooms and luxurious bathrooms. The mini bar and room service have over the top prices even for a hotel with $7 bottled water. The building itself is beautiful and you can appreciate the old and new architecture in the bridge connecting the old side facing Martin Place with the new tower. Had a great and pricey meal at their restaurant. The service at the restaurant was superb and the meal was divine. The hotel is right next to shops, restaurants and walking distance to the ferries at Circular Quay, Art Galleries and Opera House. There is also a handy Coles supermarket in the same block. A quirk of this hotel is the pool, they have an agreement with a co-located gym to allow guests to use the facilities. So you need to follow a labyrinthian series of corridors and signs to get to the pool. Felt like being in the Amazing Race and expected to get a prize for finding it, it was fun little challenge. Overall, service was great and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoquiKIwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear CoquiKIwi

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are naturally delighted you were comfortable in our care, however regret to learn about the difficulties you experienced finding the hotel and the pool at GoodLife Health Club. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My Husband and I stayed there for 5 nights for Business and then a few days of pleasure. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and check in was all very smooth starting from the concierge and then reception. We stayed in a beautiful spacious room on the 11th floor with a nice view facing onto the gorgeous town clock. I was a bit worried about the noise from the clock chiming but we didn't hear it at all, as I think the chimes get turned off over night... The property is so close to all the shopping i.e.: the mall, Westfield etc. We caught a taxis to The Rocks, but then realized it was quicker and easier to walk as it was very close and a lovely walk. We didn't realize until our second last day that there were great restaurants and Bars on the ground floor off Martin Place, so that was a bonus. I would suggest that on check in the staff could promote that to guests checking in, but apart from that we had a wonderful experience and cant wait to get to Sydney again and will definitely be staying there!

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DearneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear DearneP

It was a pleasure reading your review and we are delighted we exceeded your expectations. We are pleased you took advantage of our central location and took comfort in our accommodation rooms. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I had booked a two night stay even though i was technically only sleeping for 1 ntg (coming in on a redeye flight - wanted to make sure my room was ready). Things started to go wrong:
1. Took the front desk forever to check me in (new system apparently)
2. I was given a handicap room (since I was staying only 1 ntg and had to head out for mtg right away i decided it was no big deal). Came back from mtg only to find a note that the room shower was actually broken. I was dead tired so just said as long as I could still shower I was fine.
3. Had a mild allergy reaction asked if they had any OTC meds in house - they didn't, calling for the hotel doctor would be hours (I was leaving in a few hours) - kept offering me a panadol/painkiller (i wasn't in pain, I am having an allergic reaction!?!)
4. No complimentary bottled water ("it's the environment we are trying to save so we removed all the plastic bottles" but we are happy to sell you $7 bottle of water also bottled in plastic in the bathroom).
I couldn't wait to get out of the hotel. This is my second stay at the hotel - the first time was ok and pleasant although I didn't love it either.

Needless to say - I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerLXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear lgxtrip_boston

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. Service is certainly an integral element of any experience and we are disappointed we have failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

We sincerely regret to learn of your arrival experience and we are sorry if you were not served in timely manner. We also apologise for the broken shower in your accommodation room. We do have procedures in place to ensure all aspects of our guest rooms are properly maintained and we are disappointed this was not effectively completed prior to your arrival. We further regret if our policy related to providing medication as well as complimentary bottled water did not meet your expectations.

Although we understand it is not your intention to return to The Westin Sydney, we do hope that one of our sister properties, Sheraton on the Park or Four Points Darling Harbour, may have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a heritage room over Saturday evening facing Martin place. Upon arrival found toilet overflow valve to be leaking (they did fix this pretty quickly though).

Not Westin's fault, but three floors up, 'heritage' windows aren't sufficient to block the noise from the nearby Ivy bar, especially at 3am when the patrons at leaving. Keep this in mind.

Prices for Mosaic, the restaurant on the 1st floor have recently risen significantly so the whole experience is rather on the 'expensive for what you get' side.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Jonh H

We are sorry to learn your accommodation room in the heritage building was subject to noise levels which disrupted your experience. When next booking at The Westin Sydney we would recommend reserving one of our Tower rooms located between level 3 and 31 overlooking the atrium and the city which may be better suited to your preferences. We further regret if your experience at Mosaic restaurant did not meet your expectations. We do regularly review our services and upon next doing so will certainly do with your feedback in mind.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

As a lifetime platinum member, upgraded to suite. beautiful view of sydney opera house, harbor. breakfast buffet was well done .... concierge helped us set up city tour and directed us to restaurants and how to take ferry to the zoo. I recommend

Room Tip: use suite night awards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Randy W

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you took comfort in one of our Executive Suites and our Concierge associates could assist in making your stay in Sydney enjoyable. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great hotel in a great location in the centre of the CBD, partially built in the old Sydney general Post Office. You can stay in Heritage rooms built within the old Post Office which have high ceilings and period features, or in one of the more contemporary rooms in the Tower. I prefer the Tower Rooms, particularly those higher up which have a view over St Martin's Place and the city skyline. The rooms are well appointed and maintained. The gym is excellent, run by an outside gym company. There are a number of good restaurants and bars within the hotel on the ground floor and basement of the covered square (in between the hotel Tower lobby and the three sides of the the post office). Overall, it's well worth a stay for both business and leisure.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 6 in the Tower are quieter as they are above the covered square (which contains th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear SkiinHK

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are naturally delighted you were comfortable in our care and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing