We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #35 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Booked via their webside. All standard, no special deal.

Checkin and out: Very friendly. It was more of welcoming a friend of friend.

Room: Very nice. Good views around the city. Good bed. Quiet. Good sleep. Nice bathroom. Very fast and reliable wifi.

Location: Nearly perfect for Sydney.

Overall: Good value for what you get. Definitively one of the places you can stay in Sydney. I'll come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear TMG001

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are naturally delighted to read about your enjoyable experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 3,364 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

WestIn is a WestIn right. So overall it is a good hotel with a great location. But not sure I would say it is a 'Great' hotel. At 365$ a night, I would expect more - such as free wifi (come on.... this is 2014 - every guesthouse in the world has free wifi but not WestIn?), complementary bottle of water in the rooms, power plus close to the bed for charging your phone over night, etc. Details? not for this price. Also, if I pay 42$ for a breakfast... I would expect table service and/or at least... coffee not from a machine...?

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L0tusBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear L0tusBlue

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative of your comments and naturally regret you were not totally satisfied with your experience on this occasion.

Thank you for your comments regarding our internet offering and as you may be aware it is currently our practice to allow our guests the option to purchase this service if they wish. We do also offer complimentary wireless internet access in the Lobby, Mosaic Restaurant and The Bar. We sincerely regret if this service did not meet your expectations.

We are proud to be committed to making green choices to sustain our environment. In line with this initiative we have removed complimentary bottled water from the majority of our guest rooms in order to avoid thousands of plastic bottles and emissions being released into the environment each year. The Australian Government has strict guidelines for water purity and testing and we are therefore fortunate in Sydney to enjoy 100% safe potable water and we provide each guest room with glassware. As you may be aware bottled water is available for purchase in the Refreshment Centre for guests who prefer to purchase bottled water.

We appreciate your observations regarding the power points we currently offer in our accommodation rooms and we regret if your breakfast experience did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for posting your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We really loved the Westin Sydney. The location was fantastic, walking distance to everything and near public transit options. We were upgraded to a high floor tower room because we are SPG members, and the view was great. The room was really lovely with a spectacular bathroom with huge tub. We didn't eat in the restaurant but found lots of yummy options nearby that were less expensive and very convenient. We love Sydney and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank bsawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear bsawg

We are very much appreciative of your review and thrilled to read your wonderful comments. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We enjoyed a marvelous 3-night stay with our two small-ish children (ages 9 and 6). Early check-in was not a problem, and they offered us late check-out without us even asking. Didn't see a whole lot of other families around while we were there--definitely mostly business folk and conference attendees, but it was still family-friendly. One observation, not a criticism, is that the bathrooms did not seem to have an exhaust fan in them, leaving the bathroom still feeling a bit muggy after a shower or bath; a very small thing that didn't infringe on our enjoyment of the stay. It's a lovely, comfortable hotel in the perfect location. Will definitely return on our next Sydney visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ameraussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Ameraussie

We are pleased to read your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and delighted we could assist in making your stay with us comfortable. Thank you also for your observations regarding our bathrooms and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here a year ago and were impressed. The rooms were clean and large and staff were efficient.

Breakfast was good with a lot of choice. A lovely building to stay in within a good central location. We felt it provided good value for money.

Felt like a very business orientated hotel but still friendly for couples like ourselves.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lou_pro85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear lou_pro85

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are naturally delighted you were comfortable in our care and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I was debating between the starwood properties and in the end chose this based on reviews, location and room configuration. Was not disappointed. Arriving from the States early was not sure we would have our room available, upon checkin were told it would be about 30min-1 hr, not bad considering it was 8am. we decided to have breakfast in the restaurant, afterwards our room was ready. Room was spacious and comfortable. Bath was spacious, modern and comfortable, I love a spacious bathroom! We were upgraded to tower room on high floor due to being starwood members. Staff were all helpful and like I said, location was perfect. few doors down was a coles express to pickup essentials, lots of cafes and restos and of course westfield shopping mall across the street with a great food court. train station 2blks away.
My only complaint and this is minor, we had breakfast 4 days in a row at the hotel and it did not differ at all. day 5 we decided to eat out. however those 1st few days breakfast was great, fresh juices, made to order eggs etc. they were offering a reduce price so inquire at checkin if you wish to avail this. Concierge was also very helpful. oh of course no free wifi but you get 1hr free in lobby...how generous!!!

Room Tip: high floor, tower side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank thetravelling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear dbabaran

We are pleased to read your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney and delighted we could assist in making your stay with us comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

When we travel for business and leisure trip, we make sure that we are put up at decent hotel in strategic loation and we chose Westin for our 5 nights trip to Sydney. The hotel lives up to its reputation by being strategically located in the heart of Sydney CBD with easy access to all the attractions by public transport or even on foot.

The service is superb and the room is clean, we wish we were put up at a higher floor to get a better view of this enchanting city. We slept so well in the signature Westin heavenly bed and so tempted to bring it home, if we have the moola.

As a certified yoga instructor, I have the habit of checking out the gym where I stay, if time permits. I was very impressed by the quality of gym and was literally there every day to swim, run and even participate in two yoga classes.

Even though it's a little tricky to access to the gym from the hotel, once you get there, it's a world on its own. If I were to work in CBD Sydney, I will probably sign up with a gym membership to unwind and work out.


Tips:
1. Look out for in-house promotion as it may be cheaper to book for the room directly through the hotel than from other third party websites.

2. If you check in before the stated check in time, you are required to pay for the night before (apparently, it's a standard practice in Australia), adjust your flight accordingly to avoid additional charges

Room Tip: Inform the receptionist prior to your departure to negotiate for a room with good view facing the CB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank YvonneWoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear YvonneWoi

We are delighted to read your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased you could take advantage of the privately operated Goodlife Health Club. Our aim is to ensure our guests depart feeling better than when they arrive and we are also pleased to learn you took comfort in our signature Westin Heavenly Beds®. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 181 in Sydney
4,703 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,147 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $174 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing