We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service, amenities with an unbeatable location in the CBD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
450 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Superb service, amenities with an unbeatable location in the CBD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a superb hotel in the heart of Sydney. The architecture is a beautiful combination of the original 19th century GPO and a modern high rise.

The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The various restaurant and bar option are excellent with very professional service. The concierge are fantastic. Their knowledge and recommendations really make a difference.

The well equipped gym is in the old section of the hotel and is also open to the public. It is not the usual 24 hour one but this is a minor issue.

If you are in Sydney, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Ian B

Thank you for posting your review online following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of our central location and you could experience the stunning architecture of the former General Post Office building and Clock Tower. Thank you also for acknowledging our Concierge associates, we will be sure to pass along your recognition to the wider team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    918
    262
    108
    88
See reviews for
484
1,071
231
880
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at the Westin Sydney while on a business trip. You will not be able to find a better hotel that is a real 5 star in the CBD. The room are large and tastefully furnished. The staff were profession and very helpful. The concierge was great in recommending restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel during my 4 night stay.
I would strongly recommend this Starwood property if you need a hotel in the Sydney CBD

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Melong88

We are appreciative of your review following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and our accommodation rooms were to your liking. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I liked this hotel for the location, the atmospheric building and great food options. The rooms are fine but a little clinical / characterless. But they are totally functional and clean. The restaurant options are great, the breakfast is superb and overall service is very good indeed. Id appreciate complimentary wifi - always annoying when hotels charge you extra for that.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kapasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear kapasun

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location and enjoyed our SuperFoodsRX buffet breakfast in Mosaic restaurant. Thank you for your suggestions and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I booked a 2 night stay on points and was upgraded to an Executive floor room on the 29th floor. I found the service to be very nice all around. Really nothing to complain about. It is interesting the way the have combined the old and new buildings around the lobby, but for me, I do prefer a more quiet intimate lobby with a bit less noice and hectic activity.

While sufficient, the Executive lounge didn't have an Asian style spead but far better than North America with attentive service.

I'd go back especially with points.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Chuckus1

Thank you for posting your feedback online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and you could take advantage of a complimentary upgrade in one of our Executive rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fabulous and professional staff, generously sized rooms, overly comfortable beds, huge bath tub, Bose music dock. Our 4 night stay here was nothing short of excellent. Location location location.. in the heart of Sydney. Will definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindytusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear cindytusa

We are thrilled to read your comments about your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our short stay. The room is very nice, spacious and modern. Excellent hotel service. Hotel location is great. Hyde Park, Cathedral and shopping is nearby. A subway station (Wynyard) is behind the hotel which gives you good access to the rest of the city. We will definitely consider this hotel in our next visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cfbjbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear cfbjbb

We are delighted to read your comments about your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Recently spent 4 nights at this hotel and was impressed. I had been booked into an executive level room and was given access to the executive lounge.
The room was very elegant and the view over Martin Place was good although it was almost impossible to see the harbour even from the 31st floor.
Check-in was handled swiftly and I was in my room in no time. The amenities were good and it provided a very comfortable sleep.
The lounge was pleasant and staff quite attentive. Drinks were available from 6pm but for those with dinner plans outside the hotel it did not leave any real time for a pre-dinner chat and drink. The breakfast buffet was basic but well prepared and tasty.
Only real negative was that given the rate paid I would have expected to get complimentary internet access but instead had to pay $20 per day. There were bundles available for stays beyond 24 hours but they weren't really suitable given the limited time I spent in the room itself.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_C_C_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear David_C_C_1

We are pleased to read your review following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and you could take advantage of our Executive Club located on the 28th floor of the tower building. We however regret our internet offering did not meet your expectations and we are also pleased to confirm that we provide complimentary wireless internet within the Executive Club. Thank you for your observations and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing