We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel at a Grand Location”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel's location felt very unique, being integrated with the old Post Office and part of the lively Martin Place. In the heart of the city, the location makes it easy to get around via walking, cab or public transport. The room was modern and clean and reasonably spacious for a city hotel. Seems more of a business hotel than a place to stay on vacation. Good food/drink options on-site and being a guest gives you access to an excellent gym/club connected to the property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear William W

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted to learn of your enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,615 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this Westin property for three nights. Everything that you would expect from a Westin property. This hotel is centrally located in a historic building. The rooms were good size and very nice and clean. we didn't feel cramped. The hotel staff were all nice and friendly. They also have a great gym free of charge for guest.

We were able to walk to the harbor and there are plenty of shops up and down George street, a major retail district.

The cab fare to the airport is approximately $55.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrodriguez2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear RRodriguez1

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience and you were comfortable in our care. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What i like about this hotel from the go was it's location. I normally book hotels based on it being very central to all the places I need to be and that it is close to public transportation. This one is at Martin's Place. So it's about 15 minutes walk to Darling Habour, 15 minutes to Circular Quay, and about 5-10 minutes to the shopping side of Pitt Street. It's just near the Apple Store, there's a Coles grocery store in the building next door, and the food bar in the hotel itself is excellent.

Public transportation can be boarded on both sides of the hotel (bus) and the Martin Place train service is nearby.

Rooms: Standard Westin.

Service: Standard Westin.

Views: We took the high floors, so had a pretty good view of the GPO clock.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuiTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear JuiHong

Thank you for posting your review online following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of our central location and you could experience the stunning architecture of the former General Post Office building and Clock Tower. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a lovely physical plant with fantastic rooms high above down town Sydney. Since my last visit, however, they have cheapened the experience. They have now eliminated turndown service and complimentary bottles of water. There was also no mention of an upgrade although we did have access to the club with complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: They are quietly refurbishing rooms. ask for one of the new ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Steven W

We are appreciative of you review and regret your recent experience at The Westin Sydney did not meet your expectations. We are proud to be committed to making green choices to sustain our environment. In line with this initiative we have removed complimentary bottled water from the majority of our guest rooms in order to avoid thousands of plastic bottles and emissions being released into the environment each year. The Australian Government has strict guidelines for water purity and testing and we are therefore fortunate in Sydney to enjoy 100% safe potable water and we provide each guest room with glassware. As you may be aware bottled water is available for purchase in the Refreshment Centre for guests who prefer to purchase bottled water. We regret if this practice was not appropriately explained to you and if it has caused you any discomfort during your stay.

Thank you for your further comments in regards to our Turn Down service. Over time this service has received mixed feedback. Most commonly, guests advise that whilst it is a lovely gesture, they are disturbed by turndown and it is more of a hindrance than an added benefit. Due to this feedback we offer turndown service upon request only. Please do indicate your preference upon checking in for your next stay.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our services and welcome you back to The Westin Sydney

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

When we were newly weds 11 years ago, the Westin Sydney was our little regular cheeky getaway. Later on when we had our first child, we would ask grandma to stay with her for the night and we would have a romantic night, order a bottle of Champagne a plate of strawberries and get to sleep in the next morning in our heavenly beds. We stayed at least 4 or 5 times per year.

We left Australia and just returned after 6 years abroad and thought what better way to start our new life back here than to book our family of 5 into the Westin for a week while we house hunt.

What a terrible mistake!

Surly and indifferent staff, overpriced food menu, room cards constantly not working, ludicrous room service delivery fee and rollaway bed surcharge, tired looking rooms and wifi charge in this day and age! We felt like they would charge for toilet paper if they could, as everything seemed to have an extra surcharge attached to it.

The hotel has definitely lost its shine and took away the fun and romance of staying in a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the clock. Our room looked into a tunnel between two build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Tombi

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are grateful for your loyalty and regret to learn that your recent experience has tarnished your opinion of the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies if you did not find our associates as friendly and accommodating and if your key cards were not functioning properly as we can certainly appreciate the inconvenience this may has caused you and your family.

We further regret if our pricing offering related to our In Room Dinning menu as well as our rollaway beds did not meet your expectations. We do regularly review our offerings and upon next doing so will certainly do with your feedback in mind.

Thank also you for your comments regarding our internet. We understand that some hotels build this ancillary service into their pricing structure. As you may be aware it is currently our practice to allow our guests the option to purchase this service if they wish. We do also offer complimentary wireless internet access in the Lobby, Mosaic Restaurant and The Bar. We sincerely regret if this service did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our services and welcome you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here on business earlier this month. The location is great and the hotel facilities / decor etc are all as you would expect of a city hotel in this price range. The key system to operate the lefts is somewhat temperamental though and many is the time I got into a lift to find someone cursing the fact the lift would not move.

Would I stay there again - probably. I would look to try another business hotel when next in Sydney though as there was nothing to make this one stand out from the crowd..

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank acr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear acr7

We are appreciative of you review and regret you experienced some difficulties with our key system in our lifts. Please rest assured we have taken the liberty to share your comments with our Chief Engineer so that he may inspect the lifts as well as our key system today. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon at The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Up until just recently I considered a stay at a Westin property as a special treat. Our family owns a Westin time share property in Hawaii and the service has always been excellent. What on earth has happened????
We stayed at the Sydney Westin 2 weeks ago and the entire experience was a complete debacle with no offer of compensation to ease the pain. Our check/in was bungled after a lengthy wait. Our room wasn't ready, do we entertained ourselves around Sydney, being assured that our room would be ready and our luggage sent up & waiting for us. Upon our return we found our luggage still in the lobby as we waited in line again to try and pick up our room key. It took the receptionist a solid 15 minutes to find our reservation, and then we ended up offering to pay a security worker to deliver our bags! We ended up arriving late to our function as a result.
When we went to check out, there was no invoice under our door, and none available for us to review because the systems "were down". We were assured it would be emailed to us, which it was. But instead of being charged for incidentals and our room being paid for with SPG star points, we were charged for a neighboring room instead. After several conversations I was told I would be transmitted the charge by direct deposit. I emailed my account details in their entirety.

The refund was transmitted to the wrong account name....2 weeks later I'm still waiting to be reimbursed for someone else's room.

Highly unprofessional? Most certainly. Disappointing? Definitely. Would I recommend this property or venture to stay here again? Never.

Come on, Westin, get your act together. You are supposed to be much better than this.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Puddin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Puddin65

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience. We are naturally concerned you were disappointed with your experience and that we have fallen short of the very standards we set for ourselves. Please accept my apology and rest assured I will be personally addressing your concerns with the relevant managers to further investigate the service failures you encountered. We would be pleased to further investigate on your refund and if you could please contact our team on westin.sydney@westin.com with your booking details. Thank you for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our service.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4,605 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
2,044 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $170 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing