We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week around New Years and was satisfied with the hotel service. The hotel was wonderfully decorated and I loved how spacious the lobby felt. The room they gave us was huge and the glass bathroom was amazing! Also, the beds were soft, and pillows were fluffy! The Westin is perfectly located in between George and Pitt street, which made it easy for us to shop, especially during boxing day. It is also walking distance from Wynyard train station, so getting around Sydney was not difficult at all. Great place to stay, I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Kay T

We are appreciative of your review following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted our accommodation rooms were to your liking and you could take comfort in our Westin Heavenly Beds®. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,680
    926
    263
    113
    89
See reviews for
490
1,079
232
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Having paid a lot of money for this hotel (some 330 euros the night!) I did expect much more. The room was nice, it was spacious, the bathroom was beautiful. The room had however no view…even though it was a room called tower something.
The rate did not include breakfast nor internet…Staff did not really make you feel very welcome, quite the opposite actually, they had a rather very specific attitude.
It’s not a hotel which makes you feel homey or welcome. Even though the rooms are nice etc, I will chose a different hotel next time as I was quite disappointed in this Westin hotel, especially for the price they charge you. Tasty room service and perfect location though!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear papeetee

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent vist at The Westin Sydney and we are disappointed to learn you were not totally satisfied with your experience. We are appreciative of your feedback regarding our pricing offering and regret the level of service you experienced throughought your stay did not meet your expectations. We are pleased to confirm that we do offer different room types throughout the hotel and we recommend you book one of our Tower Deluxe or Tower Premium King rooms upon your next stay which have elevated city outlooks.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our services and welcome you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Westin Sydney is always a safe choice. Location is great, rooms are clean and spacious. The glass bathroom is just beautiful! Buffet breakfast had a great selection, was fresh and the chef cooking omelettes was lovely. The bar had a great selection of cocktail and offered something to nibble on. We had a sharing plate and loved it. Service is good as usual. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAndEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear LouisEmerich

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are grateful for your loyalty and delighted your second experience with us met your expectations. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We met relatives arriving by a cruise ship into Sydney. After a small cabin for a long voyage they really enjoyed the large bedroom & 'enormous' bathroom!
As always, the staff were very good, the restaurant excellent & our stay for a few days was very enjoyable

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear john a

We are delighted to learn of your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney. Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is very well located in the CBD with an modern tower that is connected to a beautifully restored building. The latter has numerous restaurants and shops of which some are by the hotel and others are independently run.

I'll admittedly state that I had a an extremely good rate (under 200 AUD) a night and therefore could not complain about my accommodation. However, if I was paying full price, I would be unhappy. I was allocated a room on the 6th floor that had an interior facing view of the courtyard. There was natural light as the renovated building does have a glass roof.

The room was not functional with no outlets near the bed and the inability to rotate the TV in a direction other than your bed.

Separately the bathroom was okay and there were issues with the rain shower, which despite asking for it to be fixed was not (not a huge issue).

Only other major issue, which is not unique to the Westin is that they charge for WiFi. A number of hotels no longer charge for WiFi in Sydney including the Shangri-La, Four Seasons and Intercontinental.

I would stay here for work but not for pleasure - there are better hotels in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USHKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear USHKTraveler

We are appreciative for the time you took in conveying your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We do endeavour to accommodate the many varying requests of our guests and we regret your expectations in regards to your accommodation rooms were not met on this occasion. When next booking at The Westin Sydney we would recommend reserving our Tower Deluxe Rooms (level 9 to 13) as these all face towards Martin Place and the GPO clock tower taking full advantage of the city views and natural lighting which may be better suited to your preferences.

We further regret to learn about the faulty shower in your bathroom and please accept our sincerely apologies if no repair was provided although you reported the issue.

Thank you for your additional feedback regarding our internet offering. We understand that some hotels build this ancillary service into their pricing structure; it is currently our practice to allow our guests the option to purchase this service if they wish. We do also offer complimentary wireless internet access in the lobby, Mosaic Restaurant and in our Business Centre.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Really really enjoyed the stay. The room is beautiful. Bathroom especially.
Great location close to EVERYTHING. It's just so enjoyable to stay in. Love every bit of it. If you have time, walk the whole hotel.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous31081980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Patty831

We are thrilled to read your comments about your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the Westin recently while in town on business. The location was perfect for me - 5 mins walk to my company's office and all of my other meetings.

The Hotel itself is a very elegant old building and has a great feel about it. As soon as I entered I was greeted warmly with a handshake by the concierge, was given excellent service by reception (and an unexpected room upgrade) and then greeted very warmly again in the lift by another member of staff.

The room itself was big and bright and had heaps of space. It was very clean also.

Like many others, I also find the cost for Internet to be a bit steep. I also felt that the room service menu was expensive as well, and also limited in choice. Would expect a bit more variety from a 5 star hotel.

Other than that I was very happy with my stay and will definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easy_Farva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Easy_Farva

We are appreciative of your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and you could experience the stunning architecture of the former General Post Office building and Clock Tower. Thank you for your suggestions and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing